We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zeta Tours reviews The Nest”
Review of The Nest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Nest Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is an old fashioned resort hotel beautifully located close to the Drakensberg Mountains. Virtually all country pursuits available: walking, mountaineering, horseriding; plus tennis, and three excellent bowling greens. Indeed the Resort specialises in bowling tours and has being doing so for many years. Some of the rooms have been refurbished and these are the ones to go to. Food is wholesome and plenty, country cooking. Owner and staff very friendly and hospitable. Sociable atmosphere. Good for holidays and excellent for groups. Very good value.

Room Tip: Go for one of the newly refurbished rooms with a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zetat0urs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Wow, another excellent stay at The Nest Hotel. This hotel continues to please its guests. We were booked into standard rooms, but on arrival we upgraded at no charge to their superb mountain facing rooms. The rooms are newly decorated and renovated bathrooms with good facilities. The food served in the dining room was again the best part of our stay! The food is cooked home-style, it's incredibly tasty and fresh with most vegetables freshly picked from the hotels own vegetable garden. The food is seriously unbeatable! Congratulations to the owner, Mr. Willie Germon and his team for yet again providing us with an excellent experience in this paradise of the Drakensberg.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GusBehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Nest Hotel this past December. The rooms were nicely furnished and comfortable; the staff were soo warm, friendly and helpful and the food was FANTASTIC!! There is so much to do and the surroundings are beautiful. Every inch of the gardens and facilities is extremely well maintained. It is clear that Mr Germann senior is back and he is keeping his finger on the pulse of this well loved family resort. We visit different Drakensberg resorts almost every year and the Nest is one of the few that has retained its warmth and old world feel whilst maintaining high standards of service. What a pleasure to stay here!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funfoodfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This family hotel situated in the central Drakensberg offers unbeatable value for money. It exudes an 'old world charm', but has all the modern facilities which we've become reliant upon. The service is excellent. The staff are friendly and accommodating in all respects. The food is the best home-style cooked food that you could wish for, it's always fresh and it's healthy with great portions. The hotel is a great place to relax and forget about the pressures of day-to-life.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GusBehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I stayed the first time in this lovely family hotel some 10 years ago. We loved it then and enjoyed again our 2 night stay last weekend.

I believe there was a drop in standard some time ago when the owner's son managed the hotel. But Mr Germann senior is back and he ensures the high standard is maintained.

It is good value for money, and the location is superb. The home-cooked meals are tasty and generous. My son and his family stayed here in April 2013, they also loved it. It is ideal for kids. Apart from hiking in the mountains there are plenty other activities to be enjoyed.

Don't take the few negative reviews seriously, I dont know what these people were smoking!

One gripe: my wife is a coffee drinker, the brew presented was lousy, she stuck to the offered instant coffee!

Room Tip: Choose a room with mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We recently stayed at The Nest at the end of a fantastic trip to South Africa. We were driving from Richard's Bay to Johannesburg and thought this looked like the perfect place to stay.

When we arrived we were met by a less-than-welcoming guard, we then made our way to the reception to check in. We enquired if we could have lunch, as we'd had a long morning's drive and thought as it was just after 2.30pm we could at least get something. Unfortunately they had closed the kitchen, but were offering tea and cake later in the afternoon.

The rooms we were given were the Drakensberg Mountain Facing Accommodation, 65-67. The rooms were very dated and tired looking, they were relatively clean but overall they were not up to the standard we were expecting. The "under carpet heating" consisted of a warm patch just next to the bed and the private secluded balcony had people wandering past and had another building in front. Also the sheets were branded with the name of the hotel, which is not a good look. When looking back at the website it seems the photos are very old and show it in its prime, not now.

Later in the afternoon we went to get the much needed tea and cake. This turned out to be tea and a hand full of shortbread biscuits. Not very sustaining so had some of that and headed indoors for drinks and had to get a few bags of nuts and crisps to calm the rumbling stomachs. One of the managers came round at one point but was more interested in selling his Buttered Rum than asking about our stay so far. The public areas were not the cleanest and like the rooms were severely dated. The place felt like a retirement home not a hotel.

Eventually it was dinner time and we were certain that this would cure our hunger. The menu was a 6 course offering but when we were ordering it seemed more like 1 starter, choice of 4 mains and 1 pudding, the waiters didn't help us figure it out at all. We had spinach soup to start then 4 of us had lamb casserole and rice and the other had roast beef in mustard sauce and for pudding pineapple upside down. The pamphlet that came with the menu described, in somewhat broken English, that this restaurant served "Traditional South African tasty country cooking...best ingredients...wholesome meals which are becoming less and less available." The soup was decent, and that was as good as it got. The lamb casserole had more bone and gristle than meat and even that wasn't great, the vegetables served alongside were overcooked, bland and watery. My father, who had the beef, which only came well-done, it was just edible but at least it had no bones. The pudding was burnt on one side and the cream had a weird tang. It reminded us all of badly cooked school dinners. For the price they charged we were expecting a lot more, and had previously gotten a lot more at other restaurants on the trip. I'm glad we didn't have the full 6 courses as i'm sure we would have been disappointed further.

The pamphlet also described the restaurant as being one of the last places to serve cuisine a la table d'hote, which I think was meant to meant Haut Cuisine. It wasn't and this place needs to catch up with the rest of the country which is producing fantastic meals.

In the morning we left without having breakfast, instead we ate more at a Wimpy down the road than we received the previous night.

Overall we were very disappointed with the hotel, it put a downer on the last night of what had been a fantastic holiday. I would not recommend this place until it has a major re-vamp.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travellingfishfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stay at the Nest Resort every year for a weekend with Expro which is an organisation of ex soccer players here in South Africa. they do excellent work helping out sports people who need help. The Nest hotel accommodates everyone and puts on excellent meals and loads of fun activities. The staff are fantastic, always willing to help with a smile. Around the resort there are many attractions to visit, one being a wild bird sanctuary which is well worth a visit, they have eagles, vultures and many wild birds. Also lots of walks into the mountains from Monks Cowl camping grounds. there is a golf course nearby for golfers and for those who want there is a great bakery making delicious goods. All in all the Nest is fantastic value for money and a great place to spend time.

Room Tip: try for mountain facing otherwise all the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItalyfanDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
6.9 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
974 reviews
4.8 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
1,018 reviews
17.4 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
66 reviews
19.3 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
3.3 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#6 of 18 in Winterton
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nest Hotel

Address: 600 On the R road | Cathkin Park, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range: £90 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite views over the Ukhahlamba Drakensberg World Heritage Site, an area rich in history and adventure, makes The Nest Hotel a unique and much loved destination for so many tourists and families from far flung places. ESCAPE FROM THE HUSTLE AND BUSTLE Set in acres of beautiful park-like gardens, our rooms offer a peaceful escape from busy city life. All rooms are neatly appointed and comfy, with bath/shower and toilet en suite, radio, telephone, coffee/tea making facility. HEARTY COUNTRY CUISINE One of the few Resort Hotels offering a sumptuous Table d’Hote included in your tariff. Wholesome six-course traditional dinners, full hearty breakfasts, light country-style lunches and morning and afternoon teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nest - Drakensburg Mountain Hotel Winterton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing