We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Champagne Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Champagne Castle Hotel for 2 nights with our 9 month old child. It was wonderful. The view from our room was of Champagne Castle. The hotel made it easy to stay with a baby, including providing us with a cot and a mini-fridge for his food. I also am a vegetarian and found that I had many different options. We did a number of hikes throughout the day and were able to use the maps they provided us with to guide us. We would definitely return. One of the best places we have visited in SA.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    231
    51
    13
    9
See reviews for
297
355
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for a weekend with 16 of our staff members.
Friendly service! Great meals, wonderful setting in the mountains!
The rooms were very luxury and everyone had to much sleep because of the comfy rooms!
Great spa treatments although the wellness centre can be upgraded a bit and sound proofed !
Overall we had a wonderful yearend function and would highly recommend this resort!
Just a tip : go hungry because you are going to overeat yourself on the big buffets !!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudovh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had the suites that were at the far end of the complex. The suites were huge, and had a great view of the mountains overlooking the complex.

The complex offers some fun activities, like sunset horse-back riding, which is a must and beginner friendly.

The food however, was awful. Breakfast as OK, but it's hard to screw that up. Dinner was a major letdown, dry lamb/steak, horribly screwed up merengue for dessert and forgetful wait staff.

We decided to barbecue on our last night here and that was definitely the right decision

Room Tip: Grab the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjuna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

If your looking for peace and tranquility you won't go wrong here it's the perfect retreat, set in the heart of the Drakensburg mountain range,it's a well maintained sight with friendly helpfull staff.
We stayed in one of the self catering units it was spacious very clean with all the comforts of home, there's plenty to do for those that like the outdoor life or if you want you can just relax by the pool and soak up the views, just be carefully about the monkeys they will take any opportunity to steal food from you if you are doing the self catering thing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guillemot1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Enjoyed a week here and wished we could have stayed longer! Had a deluxe room which was really comfortable! World class chef preparing delicious buffet style meals catering to all tastes with an excellent wine list featuring great South African wines. When in need of a bit of exercise, Wonderboy will guide you to the Sphinx, Fern Forrest, Nandi Falls or Bushman Paintings in the magnificent World Heritage Site. Enjoy afternoon tea whilst gazing at Sterkhorn and Cathkin Peak. Antics of the wild baboons are sure to entertain you in the mornings. Staff well trained and courteous. Excellent value for money for international and well as local tourist.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

The location was outstanding with a wonderful view of Cathederal Peak and Champagne Castle in the background. The walks from both the hotel and Monks Cowl are scenic and the proximity to the Royal National Park with views of the ampitheatre are approximately 1 hours drive away.

The staff were both helpful and attentive and the room was of a high standard.

The food, although buffet style the evening meals were varied daily and was excellent and varied. The breafasts were such as to appeal to all tastes

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasolburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

we have stayed in this hotel for a conference in a nearly venue. The hotel displays a 4 star logo but I am sure it is comparative to the best 5 star hotels I have stayed in.

The location is absolutely incredible as it is situated in the shadows of the the famous Drakensberg mountain.

We stayed in a suite that was more of a luxury apartment than a suite, with two large rooms, both with luxury on suite bathrooms. The bathrooms are both fitted with a massage bath and a massive big shower. The underfloor heating in living areas and kitchen was a bonus but the same luxury in the bathrooms was a treat second to none.

The view from the room and deck is unsurpassed in natural beauty. The fireplace in the room (with a constant supply of fire wood) creates a very comfortable and unique setting while you are sipping your complimentary carafe of port.

There are free wireless internet in the lounge and reception areas, I hope more hotels learn from this. Having to pay a ridicules amount at the end of your stay for getting your smartphone to work is just not on in the time we are living, Thanks to Champagne Castle Hotel for setting this standard!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boschenvaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
2.9 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
14.6 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
18.9 mi away
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
7.0 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Winterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champagne Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champagne Castle Hotel

Property: Champagne Castle Hotel
Address: Route R600 | Champagne Valley, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Champagne Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Champagne Castle Hotel is nestled below the second highest peak in South Africa, Champagne Castle (3377m), part of the main escarpment within the uKhahlamba-Drakensberg mountain range, the highest mountain range in South Africa. Due to its diversity of plant, bird and insect life and the richest collection of San rock paintings in Africa, it has been declared a Mixed World Heritage Site. For visual impact, recreational variety and luxurious splendour, Champagne Castle Hotel is pretty close to being an ultimate experience. Your stay will be characterised by the proximity you gain to the most dramatic and immediate views of the Drakensberg Escarpment and the 'Barrier of Spears'. Whether you walk or hike, trout fish or horse ride, play golf or tennis, swim or bowl, everything here has been configured to embrace this unparalleled setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Champagne Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing