We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Champagne Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$266
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Nest Hotel(Cathkin Park)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Inkungu Lodge(Drakensberg Region)
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cathedral Peak Hotel(Giants Castle Game Reserve)
US$270
US$264
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$318
US$304
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$96
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$417
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,022)
Filter reviews
1,022 results
Traveller rating
626
305
65
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
305
65
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswellness centrelunch and dinnermorning and afternoon teasconesanimal farmbuffet styledeluxe mountain viewdrakensberg mountainsdeluxe roomhorse ridingself cateringdining roompublic areasguided walkexcellent foodunderfloor heatingstunning views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
833 - 838 of 1,022 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I would like to thank Mr Geoff Slabbert the Deputy Manager and his excellent staff for the most enjoyable 3 day stay in this excellent hotel, nothing was too much effort for Geoff and his fine team, The location, rooms, facilities, and definitely not forgetting the food and excellent wine list were all superb. There is so much to do with walks of all level of effort, or even just sit on your veranda and soak in the incredible views, wonderful hotel, wonderful place, enhanced by Geoff and his wonderful staff.

Room Tip: The mountain View rooms are excellent, The Chalets also looked magnificent, our choice for our next visit
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

we stayed at champagne castle with my 3 children (aged 9,7 and 4) and my parents in law. we had a lovely 3 night stay. We went on the guided walk with my 2 older girls and the guide was very knowledgable and helpful. We also went on a horse ride which was also very good and my youngest daughter went on the pony rides every day. The food was also excellent - especially the omelettes for breakfast. There are also lots of places in the area to visit with kids - reptile centre and bird of prey sanctuary are very close. we didn't get there - too much to do at the hotel! Its a very relaxing place and not too many rooms so it doesn't feel too crowded.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We spent two nights at this lovely hotel and wished we could have stayed longer despite an afternoon of torrential rain, spectacular lightning and thunder that seemed to reverberate round and round the mountains for hours. Initially on arrival there was a problem with our room; the electricity had been off and so there was no hot water available. This was dealt with smoothly and efficiently by the lovely reception staff who offered us a choice of alternative rooms including upgrades and organised moving our bags. This hotel initially looks a bit expensive but bearing in mind that it offers full board it is actually very good value. The standard of the food was excellent and there was plenty of choice. I was particularly impressed that as we had arrived late on our first day we were offered a packed lunch on our departure day. The packed lunch for two would have easily fed four. The accommodation was excellent and there was plenty of bedding and even hot water bottles to combat the all pervading damp of the mountains. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and the pool well kept and clean. We were there as a couple to walk and relax but there was also plenty to entertain children not least the families of baboons on the back lawns. They were very entertaining but did not approach people. The hotel offers guided walks to see surrounding beauty spots each morning but these are also easily reached on your own with the aid of the maps you can pick up at Reception. A suggestion would be a few extra signposts on the road in to Champagne Castle; the signposts seem to peter out and we were left wondering if we had lost our way. We hadn't it is just further along the road than you think. One thing that was a bit disappointing was the quality of the wine by the glass. This was a shame as the wine list was good. Perhaps they could consider extending their by the glass list. We really enjoyed our stay, this well run hotel is an ideal spot for exploring the central region of Drakensberg.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julied59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Despite the weather, we relaxed in our two bedroomed, two beautiful bathroomed luxurious self-catering suite with the family and went 'into neutral'. The accommodation was glorious - incredibly spacious and comfortable. The linens were crisp and fresh and made for a wonderful night's sleep. The balcony off the lounge area was such a bonus as it provided the most stunning views of the magical mountains whilst offering relaxing comfy couches and privacy. We ventured into the hotel's large dining room on one of the evenings and the buffet on offer was very generous, with a wonderful selection of delicious food. There is so much on offer for the children with the pony rides and animals being a real favourite.
We would love to return one day for another memorable stay.

Room Tip: Self-catering suites are wonderful for families.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglishAnne11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Champagne Castle will always hold the most precious memories for me as this is where my now-husband proposed to me after a hike to a gorgeous waterfall in 2009! The scenery is amazing, we had such a great time here! We loved that they had free guided hikes that started from the grounds of the hotel. The guide was friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms were lovely and there are many activities on offer. An ideal location for a romantic escape.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saiyuri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews