We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location, lovely staff.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nueva Valencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Puerta Al Paraizo Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nueva Valencia
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning location, lovely staff.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Lovely few days, would recommend to friends.

PROS
-great location (just wow!)
-good food
-good value
-fantastic staff

CONS
-slightly isolated (best to stick to the resort, not that that was a problem for us)

My girlfriend and I went to La Puerta for 3 nights. Getting there is easy but slow! A P500 trike from Jordan on mostly paved roads bar the last km.

Once there the staff were fantastic, cheerful and welcoming they couldn't do enough.

The room was very clean and comfortable, we chose to save money and just have a fan not aircon so I can't comment on that, but the fan was quiet and all that was needed.

Beach and surrounding Islands are beautiful, with island hopping on the resort bangka through the mangroves well recommended.

A little piece of paradise on the fantastic island of Guimaras!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thomass70imp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    28
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was my first trip to La Puerta and I certainly plan on returning. We stayed for 3 nights which was probably a good amount, any longer and we may have run out of things to do. The owners David and Helen were extremely great hosts and took an effort to get to know the guests and ensure our stay was everything we had planned. The travel time from Jordan Port is quite lengthy but we took the transfer option offered by La Puerta which was fine, although the last bit of the trip is on unsurfaced road, after travelling and living overseas it wasn't an inconvenience, merely just added to the remoteness of where we were headed.

Once at the resort we spent our days lying on the private beach, island hopping and eating the amazing food prepared at the resorts own restaurant. The food tasted very fresh and had so much flavour, obviously using local produce. I would recommend the chicken curry and chilli crabs! The island hopping tour offered was a great way to see the landscape of the island, we spent 4 hours on the boat visiting nearby islands, the marine sanctuary and tower which had spectacular views and lastly passed through a small mangrove forest. The tour can be customised to suit your needs/time and was a very personalised experience.

The only downside is there is no pool (well functional) so if you're after one it's probably best to try elsewhere. Although check before going as it may be in order.

Room Tip: We stayed in the mountain view room which was separated from the rest of the villas and had a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kamloops,B.C.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is our second visit at this resort and it is even better than two years ago, if that is possible. David and Helen, the owners, are very hospitable and they bend over backwards to please and made our stay stress free and enjoyable.
The cabins are spotlessly clean as are the ensuite bathrooms with high end fixtures and hot water showers. This is one rare occasion in a filipino establishment where you will find all the necessary garment hooks, shelves and other bathroom accessories conveniently located as in a first class hotel.
The bed and pillows were comfortable, as was the ventilation with fan.
This place gives you total serenity. The beach has white sand, but the water is rather shallow this time of year. I was told that the ocean level comes up higher later in the year.
Two bankas (outrigger motor boats) are available for island hopping which is highly recommended.
Once you arrive at the Guimaras Boat Terminal, you have two choices...to take a van or tricycle. The trip to the resort takes about 45 minutes by van and over one hour by tricycle.
If you want comfort, take the van. If you are the adventurous type you may want an unforgettable experience because there is a stretch of road that rivals a Five Flags amusement park ride, take the tricycle. Once you have reached the gate, you will travel on a private and smooth road to the resort.
The restaurant is open air and spacious which serves good food and this time on our stay, was not out of anything we ordered. Good job David!
In closing, this is a resort for people who want to get away from it all, and enjoy the serenity of this little paradise. Ideal for honeymooners.
We would like to thank David, Helen and all the staff for their excellent service.
See you again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank clubmed63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rialto, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

when my family and I got picked up form the loading station, i had no idea what to expect. The driver picked us up in a van and we drove abut 40 minutes, which were mainly dirt roads. At this point, i was already telling myself that this place has to be worth it. once we arrived on the resort, we were greeted by their very friendly staff, whom were eager to pick up our bags and escort us to our rooms.
Once we got our rooms situated, my wife and i looked from our porch to the beautiful and secluded beach. with just fifteen steeps down, we had warm sand between our toes. We layed down a beach towel and my wife and i enjoyed the sun rays coming down on our bodies. at 5ish, it was dinner time, so a staff member came down the beach with an menu and asked us what we would like to it have for dinner. we were so surprised and delighted by the wonderful service.

The next morning we woke up early and had breakfast. while trying to figure out something to do, a waitress overheard and suggested island hopping. since the price was reasonable, and everyone was up for it, we made an appointment around 11. when the time came around to get on the pump boat, we all put on life jackets and hopped on. The whole experience was about 2-3hrs. We got to ride in the boat and see Colorful and exotic plants. After a bit of cruising we hopped on some interesting islands. by the time we came back , we were greeted by the man who own the resort. I believe his name was Dave, he was very friendly man. the whole experience at this resort was amazing. I highly recommend.Were looking forward of coming back.the worst part about this trip was packing up and leaving. R.Clavel Montes

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Choco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

A perfect bonding with your family. You can see the beach and some neighboring islands from the room equipped with hot & cold showers. You can also transact a bangka (motorized boat) to do island hopping. Outside foods are not allowed so you could enjoy the Filipino cuisine, they also serve American breakfast. I suggest you bring snorkels to add more fun! How to get there is easy. Go to Jordan Pumpboat Terminal which is located in Ortiz, Iloilo City (there is an ongoing construction of Guimaras-Iloilo Ferry Terminal which is located at Parola city proper, this is for future reference only). The fare is 14 pesos each. When you arrive at the Jordan wharf, you'll pass by the tourist center to register. Then they will transact a ride for you, one way or roundtrip to La Puerta (more or less 2500-3000 pesos r/t). Knowing somebody from Iloilo or Guimaras is a plus. Enjoy!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kamloops,B.C.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This review is late because we stayed at this resort earlier this year so, forgive me for that. How we heard about El Paraiso; we met the host, David and his Business partner at SM in IloIlo and since we were thinking about spending some time on Guimaras Island, we ended up at this resort.We are two couples and we all enjoyed our stay of four days.
The place is very isolated and quiet and that is what we like....clean room, yes it is small, so what? It was very clean. We did not use the aircon because we prefer the fan. The beach is wonderful and private since you only see other guests of which were few. The first couple of days we actually had the resort to ourselves! I forgot my swimming trunks, and David lent me one of his which was much appreciated. There are also two pump boats which you can rent for island hopping which we took advantage of and recommend...this gives you the opportunity to see the surrounding landscape. For filipino standards, it is a little pricey but well worth it. The one thing that could be improved upon is the restaurant. My friend ordered something and it turned out not to be available. He then ordered something else, also not available. Later, he ordered hot chocolate...sorry, out of that too! I can see them being out of fresh products such as a certain type of fish or fruits due to the distance from markets, but hot chocolate, which comes from a dry package should never be out of stock since it can be stored indefinately.
All in all we had a good time here and we shall return. Thank you David.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank clubmed63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The resort is difficult to reach, has weak mobile phone signals and no Internet connection. In short, a perfect hideaway. The rooms are great and the cottage on top of the hill has the perfect view of the ocean. The beach is quiet small but pristine and perfect for couples or families. When we were there, the pool was filled with seawater because of low water pressure. It would be great its filled with fresh water. The food is a bit expensive but servings are big. The road is very rough to reach the place. An alternative is to take an hour-long motorboat ride. But it's definitely worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NestorB05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nueva Valencia
19.3 mi away
Costa Aguada Island Resort
Costa Aguada Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Inampulagan Island
25 reviews
17.7 mi away
Circle Inn - Iloilo City Center
18.0 mi away
Urban Sands Iloilo
Urban Sands Iloilo
#1 of 31 in Iloilo City
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
The Clara Beach
The Clara Beach
#1 of 22 in Guimaras Island
27 reviews
12.4 mi away
Zemkamps Chalet
Zemkamps Chalet
#1 of 5 in Jordan
54 reviews
11.4 mi away
Valle Verde Mountain Resort
Valle Verde Mountain Resort
#6 of 19 in Guimaras Island
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Puerta Al Paraizo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Puerta Al Paraizo Beach Resort

Property: La Puerta Al Paraizo Beach Resort
Address: San Roque, Nueva Valencia 5046, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Guimaras Island > Nueva Valencia
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nueva Valencia
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a private type resort. The privacy of the guests is our main purpose. Relaxing and quiteness of nature is much appreciated here. If you long to relax and embrace nature, this is the place you've longed for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Puerta El Paraiso Hotel Guimaras Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing