We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good,very tired.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vista Mar Apartments
Ranked #33 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not good,very tired.”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

First of all I will deal with the good points, the cleaner Maria did a good job and came in nearly every day, we had clean towels, although the bedding was only changed at the end of the first week.
Our fridge had seen better days, very old and missing the door to the ice box, but we managed ok.
The receptionist was really nice and tried to be as helpful as possible with any issues we had.
The Spar supermarket is handy just behind the apartments. A ten minute or so walk to the strip and beach is downhill, a lot longer coming back! the return road is nick named cardiac hill and not for nothing, not for people with walking difficulties .
The worst things about these apartments is they are very tired although they are refurbishing some of them while you try to enjoy your holiday and put up with hammering and drilling noise, relaxing is very difficult! no matresses on the sunbeds ,no umbrellas round the pool and very little shade, a pool that is only any good for swimmers, too deep for non swimmers!
We asked the guy who was the boss or the owner about matresses and umbrellas and got a sharp no! quite rude! we felt like he did not want people to stay around the pool, luckily we had a bit of shade on our terrace because in the afternoon there was none anywhere else, no sunbeds or umbrellas on the beach because of a dispute between the government and the company that supplies them about unpaid tax, so the government made them take them all away, very few people on the beach too hot at the end of june with no shade.
We had a ground floor apartment 5 cockroaches in total when we came back at night, had to leave all the plugs in the sink and bath and stuff paper in the sink and bath overflow and also block the gap under the door with a towel and spray roach killer every night, the last three nights it worked blocking all entrys we did not see any more, our friends were on th 3rd floor and did not get any.
Also if you book with Cosmos like us dont expect to see a rep, not even an envelope with a phone number in case of emergency and no reference to any tour company in reception, quite strange, was just given a number for the bus company for return transfer at the information desk at the airport.

Room Tip: High floor, less chance of cockroachs getting in your room,but only if you can climb stairs .no lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank everon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    53
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
96
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Just returned home from a two week holiday at Vista Mar. I would reccomend these apartments to anyone who is looking for a quiet and relaxed break either themselves, as a couple or small group. The apartments were very well maintained throughout our stay with friendly cleaners who came in most days to provide fresh towels etc. The only issue we had , which was very minor, was the lack of clean bedding, which was changed after the 11th day. The receptionist, who we presumed may also own the apartments was also very pleasant with everyone. As I mentioned before, I would reccomend Vista Mar to anyone looking for a cheap escape. The location is situated very close to shops with a very cheap spar within 30 seconds walking distance. I have read reviews about Vista Mar and cannot understand why people have said the noise from the main road is a problem; as of course the hotel is close to ammenities and not located at the top of an extinct volcano. We also did not see any cochroaches either. The only comment I will stress from staying here is that the swimming pool was very deep. Being 6feet 2inches tall and unable to touch the bottom, a shallow end would have been more appealing, especially as my girlfriend is a non-swimmer. For this reason, I would not reccomend apartments for adults with children as they may be disapointed. On the whole, very relaxed place, very close to shops, very close to the beach (10 min walk) and very clean. 8/10

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DS141236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We arrived at the Vista Mar and was given room 34 and to say it was overdue a refurb is an understatement.The kitchen area was old and grubby.The furniture was also in a poor condition and the sofa was dirty and had cigarette burns in it.The bathroom however topped the lot.The bath had been painted pink because the enamel was so badly damaged and even the paint was peeling off.The washbasin was hanging off the wall and was cracked in 3 places.The towel rail and all the fittings were also hanging off the wall and even the sockets were loose.
As for the cleaning it was the bare minimum,quick sweep round,quick wipe round the bathroom and a mop of the floors.The cleanleness left a lot to be desired.The stairs to all the apartments were never cleaned in the time we were there.
On the plus side the pool was clean but as stated by others it is small and 6 foot deep.There are sunbeds and the pool area is kept clean. Another plus is Ageda the receptionist she was always friendly and helpful and does her best to make most of some poor conditions.
In summary if you would like to take a chance and get one of the few rooms that have been refurbed and cleaned up (26,36,16 are 3) then go for it but be careful you may get room 34 or similar.

Room Tip: As stated 26 is good ,36 is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moransaintjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Bad time to go, they were refurbishing the very 70's rooms so the noise was horrendous. Don't go if you have walking difficulties, Spar is uphill and new and old towns have very steep inclines. We used taxis when we were out and the price ranged from 1.7 Euros to 5 Euros, same firm. Reception really helpful and understanding, cleaner did a really good job. Would not return because of location and walking difficulty but for someone in good health this would not be a problem. I must admit that the refurbished room I saw was very 21st Century although the cooking facilities were not exactly up to date.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Just come back from the Vista Mar it is the second time we have been to these apartments and will be back shortly.The pool is not very big but is big enough for this very friendly complex "No shallow end for the none swimmers". No bar but you can go next door to the Las Vista Bar where Danny the owner will be there to give you a very good welcome. Really good location for old and new town "You get used to the hill after a few days leading to the stip".But I would not like to push a wheelchair up that hill, and the wheelchair would probably run away with you going down the hill. Agueda on reception is a lovely lady she makes you very welcome as so do all the members of staff. Keep up the good work Vista Mar and see you all soon . Regards for now Angie and Ian .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie260448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The wife and I spent a week in the vista mar, the room was great (24) . Close to the harbour (5 mins walk) or to the strip (7). Great place to stay for couples, very clean and tidy. Pool is great for adults (6 feet deep). We real did enjoy will be back soon!

Room Tip: Room 26 has a bigger balcony but there is plenty of room on them all. Spar shop is a 1 min walk away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at the Vista Mar Apartments in September 2012. I was glad I had read the reviews so that we weren't too horified when the keys to the room were stuck to the post box next to reception. The location of the apartments is good -there is a spar shop just behind the hotel to buy provisions and the main bus stop is just down the road near the shopping centre. The old town and new towns were equal distance to reach but we preferred the old town at night.The staff were very good - the lady at reception was very helpful and we did not see a cleaner even though they had been in every day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calvic65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#32 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
#46 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luz y Mar Apartments
Luz y Mar Apartments
#49 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#26 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
921 reviews
0.9 mi away
Corona Mar Apartments
Corona Mar Apartments
#35 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Mar Apartments

Property: Vista Mar Apartments
Address: Calle Majadas 4 | Tias, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Vista Mar Apartments 1.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vista Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Mar Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Vista Mar Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing