We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apartamentos Guacimeta Lanzarote
Nearby Hotels
Apartamentos Barcarola Club(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel THB Flora(Puerto Del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Seaside Los Jameos Playa(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Montana Club(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Floresta(Puerto Del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
VIK Hotel San Antonio(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hipotels La Geria(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
BelleVue Aquarius(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Costa Sal Villas and Suites(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$113
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveller rating
169
191
99
40
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
191
99
40
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthese apartmentsself cateringcommercial centrecoffee machineclose to the airportlick of paintminute walkpool areabars and restaurantsshopping complexevery other daybar closessmall complexcleaned regularlyground floorfirst floorgreat holiday
Filter
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 549 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Stayed here for a week in January,lovely complex in a quiet area,very close to airport only 5mins,the rooms are a little small but clean and well equiped,get a first floor one for better view and privacy if you can,there is a shop on site but they only sell water,wine and a few sweets n stuff,the main centre is 10 mins walk,here you will find loads of restaurants,chinese,japanese,italian,mexican,spanish,indian and great irish pubs that do great food too,the auld triangle and sam maguires are the best,theres also english bars too and supermarkets,shops,etc all in the one centre,walk down a bit further to another strip along the coast and then on to the main strip of playa del carmen,takes about an hour,you can always jump in a cab back about 5euro,matagorda is definitely a quieter option and was just what we wanted,you have to try the saturday night barbeque at the apartments its only 10euro for all you can eat(3 courses),the food is excellent and the chef is great we ate there 3 nights and you can get lovely pizzas to bring back to your room if too lazy to go out,the staff are all friendly and the lovely Katia in the restaurant will look after you,just a note there was no air con in the rooms,not that we needed it in january as it was nippy at night but in summer months this could be a problem for people,all in all i enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: get a first floor one at the front of complex
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GerryRitadublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

Guacimeta apartments

The complex consists of two rows of apartments with a pool in the middle. There's a reception building to one side of the pool and a bar/restaurant to the far side.

The apartment itself is compact but has everything you need.
On entering our ground floor apartment there's a living area with a breakfast bar separating the kitchen.
The living area has a tv, a sofa which pulls out as a bed if needed and a dresser cabinet.

The kitchen contains a 2ring hob, sink, fridge, cupboards and a drying rack over the sink.
Pots, pans, utensils, plates, cutlery, toaster, kettle and coffee machine are all supplied.
Somebody mentioned in a previous review that there was no oven but not everyone needs it but they bring a valid point which I'll get to later.

From the kitchen there's a door into the back of the apartment where the bedroom is. Very basic bedroom; two single beds pushed together or pulled apart (whatever you wish), bedside lockers and wall mounted lamps to the headboard. There's a large built in wardrobe which has selves inside and three drawers and lots of hanging space. There's a safe inside which we never used. You can get a key from reception.

The bathroom; fully tiled bathroom with a large shower at one end which spans the width of the room. The pressure from the shower is powerful.
The sink is recessed into a marble counter and theres a socket to the wall if you want to plug in your electric shaver or electric toothbrush. A hair dryer is also spurred to the wall.

The apartment is cleaned 5 days of the week with towels changed and beds made each day. The cleaning staff are very nice and friendly and we seemed to have had the same lady everyday. We had left computers, iPads, cigarette and other valuables lying around and none of it was touched.

The reception area: a small building to the left of the pool. It has a computer/Internet station for public use and a printer. There's a charge for using this but I'm not sure how much as we just use our own computers hooked up to the free wifi.
There are loads of information leaflets in reception for tours and things to do on the island and they can book them for you.
Theres a little library unit in reception full of books for you to borrow during your stay. These are mainly books donated by other guests after theyve finished with them and it's a great idea. So do add to the collection if you've got some books you're finished with.

At the end of the reception building there's a small 'supermarket'. It's basically a room selling the essentials like large bottles of water (don't drink the tap water), snacks, toiletries and souvenirs etc.

The restaurant is open for breakfast until 9pm at night and does everything from full English fry to fresh pan fried sole etc. The staff are great.
Saturday from about 7.30pm they do their weekly BBQ. €10 a head all you can eat! You can have steak, pork steak, chicken, chorizo sausages and a selection of salads. This proves to be very popular with people coming in from outside the complex to eat here. It's the only time I've seen the place full. Normally it's just like a typical poolside bar with a few people coming in and out.

Which brings me to the pool... It's not heated! Not a problem if you're a kid as they don't seem to mind or if you're use to swimming in cold conditions! 
If having a heated pool is a main priority I suggest you book somewhere else and pay more money.
To be honest nobody really went into the pool and there was only one or two kids in the complex during our stay. It seems to attract an older crowd.

The people of the complex are mostly retired couples and there's a great feeling of community amongst everyone. People say hello to you and some have returned annually so theres a very friendly atmosphere in the complex.

In the winter months there are many guests who stay there for about 3months to escape the cold weather in their own country. These guests are essentially using it as their home so they cook and eat in most of the time. This is where having an oven might be handy for them but anyone on holiday will normally eat out.

Laundry: There are no irons or ironing boards in the apartments. I don't know if they supply them as we never ironed!! There's an airing rack mounted to the wall of each balcony/alcove if you want to dry your clothes.
Beside the restaurant there's an area with a washing machine and separate dryer. You buy tokens at reception for €4 and €3. Each machine takes about 45min to finish. Buy your own washing powder in the supermarket.

The location: The complex is very close to the airport. It takes about 7mins in a taxi and you should expect to pay about €9 for the journey.
You can walk down to the beach and to the end of the runway it's that close. The planes literally fly over you as they land when down at the beach. Fascinating to watch!
The beach is a 5min walk. Walk straight out of the complex and continue straight and you come to the beach. If you turn right you come to the shopping centre or turn left for the airport runway.

The shopping centre has the following from what I can remember: Spar supermarket, gift shops, hairdressers, beauticians, dive centre, arcade in the middle, car rental, bike rental, restaurants and bars.
I'd recommend the Soporro Japanese and also the Mexican!
Bike rental is €10 a day for a standard bike but you can pay more if you want fancier road bikes etc. 
If you're a keen road cyclist the island would be a dream for you to cycle. The roads are smooth, windy, hilly and the scenery is stunning!
Car rental is about €20 a day depending which company you get it from. Bear in mind that most companies had all their cars booked out. We ended up getting a car from the apartment reception which cost €25 a day.
If you've a smartphone download the navfree Spain app as it works off the GPS and will get you around the island.

Other places of interest: we drove all around the island and went through some beautiful old unspoilt villages. Drive up north to Orzola and just before it there's a secluded beach area that's great to sunbath and chill for a few hours.
We came across Peurto de calero which is very posh!! The harbour is full of designer shops and it's lined with fancy restaurants. The harbour is full of yachts.

Peurto del carmen seems to be a busy spot with loads of shops and a large shopping centre. It's very commercial. 

I hope this helps some of you. All opinions are my own. If you have any questions send me a message. I'd be more than happy to help.
I was apprenhensive about going to lanzarote at first fearing it'd be commercial and tacky and some parts were but I'm very surprised by the beauty of the island. I'll definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Reviewer_of_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Good place, Spent five nights with family, 2 adults and 16 months old. Quite, Clean, Nice staff, Safe,
Not many -ves, Swimming pool can be made warmer so that more people use it and get more comminity feeling.

Bottom line : very good value for money, just cant complain. Staff deserve a bonus from management.

Agree moslty with reviewer below C200 : "Excelent".

Room Tip: If you dont have young children take first fllor apartmentsm they get more sunshine.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

recently had 2weeks in these aptartments was there for christmas ,Very clean and friendly .Ate at the restaurant a few times whilst there, good value for money.The full breakfast 5 Euro was excellent.No shortage of clean towels and nothing too much trouble for them.Loved the area as it wasnt rowdy but plenty to do in the commercial centre lots of bars etc.the hong kong chinese was exeptional well recommended.Will deffo go back hopefully for a month next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blucky_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Stayed at Guacimeta in November for a week. The apartment was very clean, comfortable and had everything you could need, including a hair dryer! The television had Sky News, ITV and CBS drama. Staff were friendly and helpful. The apartment was cleaned several times during our stay and towels were changed twice. The apartments are in a quiet location but only five minutes walk to the beach, shops, bars and restaurants. Puerto del Carmen is five minutes away in a taxi or is a nice walk if you are feeling energetic. The only fault I could find with Guacimeta was that the pool is freezing, however, this is something I have found in a couple of other places so I wouldn't hold it against them!

The bar serves very good food at very good prices and is worth giving it a try. Also the all you can eat BBQ on Saturday nights for €10 is excellent value.

For excellent food and friendly service, go to Paradise Beach in the Commercial Centre.

The gate to the apartments is locked from about 9 pm so I felt perfectly safe here and was surprised at what some other reviewers were saying.

I can't wait to go back to Matagorda and I would definitely go back to Guacimeta.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews