We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home for Us”
Review of La Cumbre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Cumbre
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We go to La Cumbre every year and this year we were pleased to see the planted areas looking so much better with new plants and an array of color, also the repainting of the outside of the apartments which really made the whole complex look more up to date.

All the team on the complex work really hard and it was again spotless in all areas and any problems whilst there are always sorted out quickly and efficiently. Fanny on reception is great there is nothing to much trouble for her, to help and advise travelers who may not have visited the island before. Also Anne is on hand to help and advise you to get the best out of your holiday and to enjoy your time at La Cumbre.

If you like a smaller complex then give La Cumbre a try its location is close to the old town with a small beach 10 minutes walk, the main strip with the 6 k beach is again about 10-15 min walk with a bit of a hill walking back from both of these but a slow stroll soon has you back at base, and the best bit for shopping the Biosphera a 2 min walk across the road from the complex with a Spar supermarket for all your needs and the best bit the fresh hot bread sticks and rolls made several times a day. 1 tip take coffee & T bags with you as quite expensive on island.

Having read some of the reviews The Bar is and always has been a POOL BAR offering a good range of snacks to light lunches and BBQ evenings as well as meal deals Stephen coped very well considering Caroline was in hospital in the UK and was very amenable and helpful to all the visitors choices of food and even delivered lunches to the apartments.

Do NOT expect it to be a 5 star restaurant there are plenty of choices on the strip and on the old harbor overlooking the sea. For a great breakfast try the Cantina on the strip for "2.50 Euro" Large full breakfast including chips toast marmalade orange juice and tea or coffee this place has kept its price for the last few years is always popular and opens at 10.30 and so a great brunch that sets you up till tea time well worth the money.

Take plenty of sun creams as they are pricey on the Island good ones are P20 or Calypso both are once a day application & waterproof even after a swim giving all day protection even on cloudy windy days YOU WILL still burn.

Trips Teguise sunday market is great remember to haggle and at a bargain price of 4 Euro on coach Playa Blanca Marina market also a great day out.
Use the water taxi from the harbor for the Puerta Calero Market small but worth a visit. All details can be obtained from reception.

Room Tip: A block over reception & the Bar area B block is pool side with great views C block is partial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank opal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

Can't believe Munki's Report. Bar looks great. Run by Stephen and Caroline - Stephen seems to be the lead Caroline a bit reserved. Run as a pool bar which I am told it was always supposed to be. Definitely wasn't dirty and nice new furniture and umbrellas. Good enough for snacks whilst staying on resort. Whilst I did miss Janette I didn't miss Dick crooning - got a bit boring after a while. Apartments are great. Nice helpful lady called Ann now working on resort.

Room Tip: Want peace and quiet away from bar rent in block C. No sea view but no noise from bar in evenings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lanzalova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

As some of you may be aware Wendy's bar is no longer.Another couple have taken it over and sadly nothing like Janette and Dick. The food is not up to Janette's cooking, also they need to give the restaurant a good clean. They leave the table clothes on the tables over night and all the time we were there they were not cleaned.La Cumbre is still spotless and clean and Fanny goes out of her way to help you. The housekeeping department work very hard and the rooms are immaculate. I am not being negative, just giving an honest opinion.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet as right nest door is the Guardia Civil so you are safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Munki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Brilliant location behind the biosfera between the old and new town. The apartment had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with a large living area with kitchen, dining area and 2 sofas with tv and DVD player.
The swimming pool isn't the biggest but is heated and needed in some of the hot days. There is a bar on site that serves snacks and breakfast, the prices are good and the food is also good.
The maid service is excellent and the receptionist very helpful.
Overall I think you will not get better for your money.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theboyblackham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

wendy and dick 2
of the wonderfulest people
in the world the bbq night is fab
a must when in lanzarote
the entertainment is first class the beer is icecold the desserts are yummy its one of those places you can stay at for ever

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scaniamandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We have just returned from a week's holiday at these apartments. First time to these apartments and must say the one we stayed in was very comfortable. We went with our two grandchildren aged 13 and 10 and they loved it. Opposite the back entrance of the Biosfera shopping centre, the girls could go and have a wander around knowing that we were only across the road. The apartment itself was lovely; OK the view was rubbish, but you could see the sea!. Our apartment overlooked Wendy's bar and although it was not as private as I would have liked, it was still lovely to sit outside. The bar itself was excellent. Cannot fault it at all. We had breakfast there on a couple of occasions and it was lovely. The prices are very good and on the day we were leaving to come home, Jannette made us sandwiches to take to the airport. They were delicious. She will also do you a picnic type lunch to take to the beach or wherever.

The location of these apartments are excellent. Close to both the old town and the strip, so for us it was just great. I have been many many times to Lanzarote and usually stay in the old town but this time we decided to use these apartments. We had two lovely bedrooms with single beds in both, lots of wardrobe space as well as drawers. There were two toilets, one with sink, shower and bidet plus a good hairdryter, and the other toilet had sink, bath with shower over it and this also had a good hairdryer. There was also an ironing board and iron should you wish to use these. The kitchen was kitted out to a high standard. The dining table was set ready to use and looked lovely when we walked in. There was an electric kettle, fabulous toaster and plenty of cooking utensils and pots etc. The usual cooker (4 ring ceramic hob), oven, microwave and fridge/freezer. There was a bottle of water and milk in the fridge when we arrived.

The swimming pool was very quiet and the girls loved it. However, it was not until the day before we were due to leave that I realised that there was a sun bathing area. I thought it was for the people who were in the ground floor apartments!! in the bar area there is a small bookcase with books to swap, along with spare sun tan cream etc that people left behind. This was great for us as I had brought very high factor sun cream and grandchild no.1 wanted a tan so she managed to borrow some of the creams that had been left. We also left some sun tan lotion. If you buy a lilo and don't want to take it home, then leave it here for others to use. Great idea that. The down side for us was that we had to vacate the apartment by 10:00am and our flight was not until 7:30pm (long day to hang around) but we lazed by the pool and the bar where Jannette did lunch for us. Later we found out where the showers were. I also found out that the little room behind reception where your cases are kept had a huge library!!

This place is ideal for all ages. I can recommend it highly. Jannette was kindness itself. The girls were moaning a bit about not seeing X-factor (!) and Jannette lent us her stick and video recorder for them to watch it. (Video in the apartment did not take a stick hence her offer to lend hers) The girls thought they were in heaven as not only did they get to see X-factor, they also had a McDonalds (across in the Biosfera) takeout. Bliss for them - indulging grandparents that we are!! I forgot to mention that in the living room there were two comfy sofas (not your standard apartment wooden things) and also a large flat screen TV and videorecorder. Videos could be hired from the reception if required.

This place is ideal for a base or if you just want to chill. No need to cook anything as you can eat very well at Wendy's bar and in the varous restaurants within walking distance

If you go with kids I can thoroughly recommend Rancho Texas. Brilliant day out for all. This can be sorted out in the reception, along with other trips if required. The girl on reception was very helpful too.

If you go here, I hope you enjoy it as much as we did. Taking into account the position of these apartments and even the not so good view, we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MedsecStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The complex was not asbusy as it was last year.Yhe apartments were spotless and the bedding and towels were changed every twodays.Upon arrival you have to leave £50.00 deposit toany breakables. Also you have toleave 20 euro's topay for theelectric. Don't take beach towels as they can be hires from reception. they will alsoprovideyou a packed lunch for you to take outwithyou.
There is a restaurant on site and the Wendy'burgers are the best I have tasted.We went to the barbecue on both Monday evenings and these were goodvalue.Also it is a very quiet coplex and aftermid night you donot hear any noise. Ihopethat Jannette makes a go with the restaurant and will go out ofheerwaytohelpyou.

Room Tip: Our room was 2B which was on the grand floor and we were notfrightened to leave ourroom door open.Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Munki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
2.7 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,871 reviews
2.9 mi away
Nautilus Lanzarote
Nautilus Lanzarote
#5 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
896 reviews
1.2 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
627 reviews
1.5 mi away
Club del Carmen
Club del Carmen
#6 of 71 in Puerto Del Carmen
390 reviews
0.4 mi away
BelleVue Aquarius
BelleVue Aquarius
#77 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cumbre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cumbre

Address: Avenida Playas 1, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Del Carmen
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cumbre 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your La Cumbre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cumbre Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing