We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ENJOYABLE - EXCEPT............”
Review of Club del Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We booked this to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary after reading good reviews, and overall had a great week except:

1. The resort had not taken into account any requests such as a high floor (we were on the ground floor),
2. On our first day we reposted that the apartment smelled on cat urine. "Sorry" was said quite a lot, and a promise to deep clean the room. They actually cleaned the wrong apartment, and then apologised again and cleaned our room for 10 minutes - it still smelled awful. We we moved 2 days after arriving, by which time I was convinced all or clothes smelled of cat!
3. A male at the reception (who I took to be the Resort Manage) asked if we were owners at the resort and when I said "no", he shrugged and turned away.
4. The Sun beds cushions were simply filthy, and smelled dreadful.

The restaurant food and staff were superb, as was the lady delivering the activity programme.

Pity, but did not allow the poor reaction to issues to spoil our anniversary. will not return to this resort.

Room Tip: Request a high floor, unless you do not mind the sound of other guests bathroom activities. Inspect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Club del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

We do regret to read that your holiday experience was somewhat spoiled by issues with your apartment. We will of course address this with the housekeeping, although we would like to assure you that no cats should have access to the guest accommodation and we will most certainly investigate this issue. We hope that you had an otherwise pleasant stay and thank you for your kind words referring to our team. We truly regret that you do not intend to visit us again and wish you all the best on your future travels.

Marcos Domato
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Loved our 10 day stay at this resort, staff very friendly and helpful, excellent location, 5 minutes to beach, good bar and food on site plus great restaurants nearby. An excellent resort for all ages, the apartments are very clean and we'll equipped

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Steve_and_Jacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Club del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

It is lovely to know that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, thank you for sharing your impressions. Please do come back soon!

Marcos Domato
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Really is a lovely place. The staff are all so friendly and helpful. It is a fairly small complex which made it good. Not overcrowded. The pool area has adequate sunbeds however there are not so many umbrellas. The restaurant was excellent, the food and the staff. There is a supermarket just round the corner, the main area of Puerto del Carmen is about a 15 minute walk or the old town which we liked is a 5 euro taxi ride away. Perfect holiday.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Deefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, General Manager at Club del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

We are grateful to you for your kind words, especially referring to our team. We are pleased to know that we managed to contribute to making your stay a relaxing one. We hope to see you again soon!

Marcos Domato
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just returned from 18 days spent at the club, the staff are excellent and cant do enough for you, the restaraunt/bar staff are very helpful and friendly, food and drinks are very good value, the rooms are kept very clean and towels and bed linen is changed regularly, there are many good restaraunts and bars within easy walking distance, if you go during the school holidays then be aware its a favourite place for families and there will be lots of children, this year there was a new animation rep, 'Lucy' who kept all the children and quite a few adults entertained with sports and games. We will be back again but in a quieter time!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sonnyRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Club del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely compliments, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope the we will get to see you again in the future. All the best!

Marcos Domato
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Loved this holiday. Lovely staff very clean! Big shout out to Lucy for entertaining Thomas and Hollie (daddy James too). Even the life guards were friendly. Great location not too noisy, shop on your door step. Car hire place next door also good and cheap
Defiantly be returning next year :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a refurb room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheNewHalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Club del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

It’s great to know that you had such a lovely stay and enjoyed our visit to Lanzarote! Thank you for your comments, please come back soon!

Marcos Domato
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just returned from a lovely 10 night break with the kids!

Lucy the entertainer got all the kids going (as well as the big kids) with plenty of games etc 6 days a week. The staff were all great and helpful- couldn't do enough.

As per the below review yes it is quite noisy round the pool- it's the 6 weeks holidays and it's a little thing called "fun"?. No rowdyness just kids age 4-8 laughing, having fun and enjoying their stay.

Only reason this isn't a 5 rating as not much going on evening wise in the hotel- enjoyed the cinema night (pool open) and kids loved karaoke

Hopefully back next year

Toms mum and dad, Tom and Hollie

Room Tip: Ask for a refurb room- we stayed in 2e
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Club del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words, we are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time here with us and were not inconvenienced by our younger guests, as after all we are a family friendly destination. We hope to see you coming back soon!

Marcos Domato
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

a small fgacility operated by timeshare company Diamond Resorts. Clean and well maintained and located ideally opposite a large beach and appx 200mtrs from the bars and restaurants. On site bar and restaurant operated a a franchise of "Little Italy" who have locations throughout the canaries. Prices are a little higher than the average in Carmen. All staff here are very friendly and helpful and the apartments are well appointed, clean and have good fixtures as well as comfortable beds, linen and accessories. The downside, and I cant stress this enough is the practice of the daily race to the sunbeds at appx 09.00h sometimes even before the staff have finished cleaning the pool area. All apartments have notices telling guests that unoccupied sunbeds will have towels and other items removed after 1 hour but this is never the case. After about 9.30am forget the pool area. Lots of beds stacked up but no space for them. If you like to be by the pool, join the race at 09.00h or forget it. Not too good for older folks or those that like to be a bit more laid back. I would also strongly recommend that unless you are travelling with kids, dont bother with this resort. The resort is small and the pool area is very noisy with children so if you want a relaxed stay, make it outside of the school holidays. We thought we had by a week or so but the kids that were there more than made up for any coming later. No luck by the pool and very noisy at times if you stay on your balcony. Been before and had a great relaxing time, this time we spent more time at the beach but at €12 for 2 beds and a parasol it starts to become costly.

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd floor as this is quieter and generally gets a sunny balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acdmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Club del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay at Club Del Carmen. We are pleased that your stay here was a generally enjoyable one, although we’re sorry to read of your disappointment with the sunbed policy here. Guests are not permitted to reserve sunbeds that they aren’t using, and our staff make every effort to enforce this policy – we’re sorry that this doesn’t seem to have been your experience on this occasion, and we regret any frustration caused to you as a result.

We want all our guests to have a relaxing time while they are staying with us, and we’re sorry to read that your stay was marred by disturbance from other guests at the resort. This resort is very popular with families, and we regret that this had a negative impact on your stay.

We hope you’ll give Club Del Carman another chance in the future, and we feel sure that if you do return here, your experiences will be more favourable – we’d love to see you again!

Marcos Domato
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.2 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#20 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#26 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,922 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club del Carmen

Address: Urb. Los Pocillos Calle Noruega 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £92 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club del Carmen is situated in Puerto del Carmen, within walking distance of the Playa Grande and Playa Chica beaches. It features a heated outdoor pool, children's pool and whirlpool. The well-furnished apartments include a fully equipped kitchen with oven, microwave, toaster, kettle and coffee maker. Each apartment has a private bathroom with bath or shower and balcony or terrace. Satellite TV, a DVD player and iHome alarm clock are also provided. The on-site bar and restaurant offers an extensive menu of international dishes. Wi-Fi access is available throughout the property, at an additional cost. The property is a short walk from the shops, bars and restaurants on the Paseo Marítimo. Lanzarote Airport is less than 4 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Club del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Del Carmen Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Club Del Carmen Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing