We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Instruction ( Small Groups & Competitively Priced)”

Lava Flow Surf Lanzarote
Ranked #7 of 38 Tours in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn to surf with Lavaflow Surf & SUP School. Lavaflow surf have taught people to surf in Lanzarote since 2001. We ensure you will have loads of fun on the way to surfing your first wave. Perfect for a family day out! 1 Day surf course: (11:00-15:00) Transport from your accommodation,equipment,tuition & lunch Visit our website for full details and booking All of our instructors holds ISA surf qualifications and are RLSS Beach lifeguards. Hope to have you surfing with us soon!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Instruction ( Small Groups & Competitively Priced)”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My son and I had a wonderful day with Lava Flow surf school from the moment they picked us up at Club Oceano to when they dropped us back in the evening. This day surfing was the best part of our Lanzarote holiday. I had shortlisted Lava Flow before we left Ireland and I am glad we did. It was my 12 year old's second time surfing and my first. Before we went into the water they gave very easy to follow instructions. In the water they always came over and gave further advice. Most importantly they had a whistle and sign system to keep kids and adults alike safe. I would highly recommend the guys at Lava Surf school. There are two instructors in the water and they never take more than 8 students in total. That is the best student/teacher ratio that I saw in Famara. With younger kids this is essential for safety. Above all the guys are good humored and take great care to ensure you have a wonderful experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing time, first class”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Booked in for 3 days (me 52 & daughter 11). Paul & Phil are great and nothing is too much trouble for them. Very friendly and helpful, a true double act. None of the groups are big which is a bonus as its almost one to one tuition. Never surfed before and on day two we were both up on the boards doing the surfing thing. Great location as well although the local toilet is a sand dune !
Paul & Phil pick you up from your location, supply all the gear, give you hot tea, food and teach you as well. Highly recommended.
Thanks for a great time gents.
Rich & Alana

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
““Best place to expierence your inner surfer””
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had a great time at our first time on a surfboard, learning how to catch a wave from the best.
Lava Flow Surf has become our number one surf school with a great and friendly staff. Paul was a nice teacher to work with. He unleashed our inner surfer just in one day. Our stay in Lanzarote was beyond imagination, such nice views an places to discover. Famara beach is a remote 3-km-long stretch of sand and dunes. It borders with Caleta de Famara on one side, and with the Risco mountain on the other, making for a beautiful and unique landscape. It is a perfect playground for joggers, bathers, surfers, windsurfers and kitesurfers, and provides enough space for all to enjoy the beach peacefully, all year-round.
The beach’s numerous peaks can accommodate surfers of all levels.
Future holidays have to include surfing after this great surfing adventure.
Wanna Surf ?! Lava Flow Surf School !!

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Hendrikmasterchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excellent, small group surfing lessons”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

It was my first time surfing. Phil and Paul are great instructors with lots of knowledge and insight. If you want to learn surfing, i recommend lavaflow.
I had a great time!!! Hope to meet them again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DennisdeGroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Lava Flow makes you feel at home ;-)”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Returned to Lanzarote for some more surfing practice with Phil who effortlessly taught us to surf last year. We enjoyed three awesome surfing days on new surf boards and had the most beatiful and relaxing surf on Famara with cool waves and sunshine under Paul's attentive coaching. Phil&Paul surprised us when they prepared and served us tea right on the beach! These guys are true experts who love their coaching job and they make surfing seem so easy... readily sharing their knowledge and friendship with us. Thank you guys, we'll come back soon!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JanetheTraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lava Flow Surf Lanzarote also viewed

Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Caleta de Famara, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Caleta de Famara, Lanzarote
 

Been to Lava Flow Surf Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing