We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a second visit”
Review of El Arao

El Arao
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Marple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Worth a second visit”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We ate here twice in a week, the food was varied and good quality. The staff were very friendly and met our needs with a smile. It is a small restaurant so the food can't be rushed but well worth the wait.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarpleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    37
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem 'The Plough'”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We visited twice during a 2 week visit to Puerto Del Carmen and the welcome is second to none. The restaurant is a small family run affair so you have to be patient. Your patience will be rewarded though as the fish is thoroughly amazing and the steaks are cooked to perfection with truly unique sauces. I'm sure if you come here early enough in your holiday you will return before you go home.

Helpful?
Thank 4ndy_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“not impressed would not return”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

only tried this place because of the reviews of TA, but was disappointed :( we arrived before our reservation time and the waiter didn't seem happy about that! I order house white and waiter came and just started to pour RED! we was reading our menus and looked up and said we wanted white! he looked at us as if it was our fault! my husband ordered steak, and the waiter didn't even ask how he would like it :( my husband had to tell him, steak hadn't been rested as there was blood all over the plate :( waiter never gave us any eye contact and never brought the oil n vinegar over :( wont be returning and would not recommend

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michelleclare89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Authentic & homely”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

As is usually the case if you are prepared to look one or two streets back from the bustling front of any resort you are likely to find eateries the locals and the well informed visit. The El Arao is one of these such places.
My wife had a simple garlic bread whilst I chose an onion soup both if which were very good.
My wife's main course of spaghetti carbonara was both plentiful and of high quality. My sea food salad was fresh fresh fresh! And a simple delight.
With 2 glasses of wine the total bill was £29 A STEAL!
Very polite and attentive staff, this felt like a restaurant abroad should feel like. I found it to be in pretentious and proud.
We happened to arrive just after 2 large groups of diners and everyone coped very well with no adverse effect on service.
We will certainly be calling again before we return home

Helpful?
Thank YorkshireStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Restaurant visit”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

In the past we have always visited this restaurant whilst on holiday,,but it has since changed hands and it was no way near as good as before!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Arao also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to El Arao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing