We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish restaurant!”

Restaurante El Golfo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great fish restaurant!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We ate here on 22nd April 14 and thought it was excellent. We shared mussels to start then my husband had halibut stew which was fab and I had tuna, which was cooked just the way I like it! Both meals were delicious and the service was great too - very friendly. Very reasonably priced. Just a small restaurant the you would probably walk by but thanks to trip adviser it is one we are glad we discovered - well worth a visit!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShilCuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    95
    36
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly welcoming restaurant”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Went based on good reviews on Tripadviser and looks wise not a restaurant we would have usually chosen but so glad we tried. Really friendly helpful staff happy to advise or leave you to your own devices. My husband enjoyed his steak cooked as he liked with fantastic fresh onion rings I had to sample too. I opted for King Prawns with 4 sauces which was nice, if not hugely exciting. Prawns themselves delicious but could have eaten so many more, 4 just not enough for me but suppose that's life! Served with only 2 Canarien potatoes and a very small side salad didn't really make much of a meal so wish had ordered a side order but luckily for me was eating with my 3 wasteful children so filled up on there leftovers or I may have been hungry.
Particuarly pleased with lack of Pizzas on menu so pizza mad son finally forced to sample some different food from menu.
Generally really enjoyed meal and would highly recommend

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RASO14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food, initial good service which tailed off quickly”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were really looking forward to going here as we had read the good reviews.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the older Spanish chap, and exchanged some basic espanol.

The menus came quickly and we ordered pimientos de padron as a starter, beautiful, and a rationes size ( more than tapas) ideal to share. I had a t bone steak, my wife had stroganoff. They were both really nice, garnished with chips fried onions and some veg.

We cleared our plates, and thanked them for the food, very nice.

Sadly, that was the end of the service. There was no more conversation, there was no offer of more wine and disappointingly no dessert menu. We waited patiently but still nothing. They were more concerned with setting more tables.

In the end I went up to the bar to pay the bill as my patience had ran out.

They wouldn't take a credit card, and the bill contained €1 for bread which we said we didn't want and didn't actually have!

And that was that.

Up until main course time, this was a five star job, now sadly only a three due to poor customer care.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EyeAndJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect steak”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Had a steak and chips on Tuesday asked for medium/rare cooked perfectly family run restaurant gets busy only wish you got more chips than the typical veg but steak was worth the visit

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annnmarie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

First time we had visited this restaurant but will certainly go back. Had paella which was cooked to order. Delicious. House appetisers offered to start off our meal were also very good. The owners were very friendly

Helpful?
Thank ann_24_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante El Golfo also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to Restaurante El Golfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing