We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Great Location and views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VIK Hotel San Antonio
Ranked #24 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Great Location and views”
Reviewed 9 August 2008

Stayed at this hotel for a week at the end of July.

The rooms are on the small side and could do with a bit of modernisation but they are clean and have everything you need, the tv´s are even flat screen and have channel 4/5 and sky sports 1. The views from our room were fantastic we had a room that was on a corner so we had great views of Los Pollicios??? and views of the sea.

The pool areas are great and even though the hotel was very busy you never had to reserve a sunbed infact people just didn´t do this as there was no need, there are 2 big pool areas with plenty of sunbeds, there was also a seperate childrens pool area and childrens play park, the pool bar was very cheap and the food was good, if you are on half board then you can swop your evening meal for lunch which we found was great, as it meant we went out for a few evening meals but didn´t feel like it was a waste as we had paid for it. The evening meals were good, there was plently of choice along with the theme nights as well.

Inside the hotel there is a hairdressers, and a couple of other shops, there is a bus stop and taxi rank outside the hotel and a taxi to the harbour late at night costs approx 4 euros.

Would definatley visit this hotel again, the location is great right on the beach, and it meant there was a lovely breeze off the sea which meant is wasn´t too hot when you were sunbathing.

Also found a great new restaurant / chill out bar if you head into town then it´s called Cafe Del Carment just above the spar, the food here is excellent not just your usually boring steak , the do things that are a bit different, they have a dj playing at night, with sofas and all the tables have sea views, the staff are really friendly and you can tell that it makes them happy that you really enjoyed the food.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank tangy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    762
    303
    83
    46
See reviews for
417
1,027
66
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

In all we found this an excellent hotel with all the staff very friendly; the young male reception staff in particular were very helpful and made a point of speaking to you throughout your holiday. My request to have my room safe repaired and a request for an extra pillow were dealt with in minutes.
The bedroom was comfortably furnished with adequate wardrobe space and a large flat screen TV with some good English speaking channels for news, sport and films. The room however was on the small side; however as you tend not to spend much time in your room on holiday this is not really a problem.
The restaurant food was superb as was the waiter service with the staff making a real effort to help you enjoy your meal, each evening a theme night was available with such as Chinese, Indian, and Italian, Spanish and even a Japanese selection as a supplement to the wide selection from the buffet along with the carvery and selection of fish and meats which can be cooked to order. I really find it incredible that holiday makers have posted complaints in reviews regarding the food from the San Antonia Hotel.
Entertainment at night in the hotel was of good quality, however the prices of drinks was high as were some of the bars in the town, spoke to a number of bar owners who were charging a reasonable rate and they are worried about on the high costs that some others are charging (some bars have put up prices over 100% in the last six months). This was the main talking point and Puerto Del Carmen may find that the average holiday maker (especially those with children) can no longer afford to holiday in this resort.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff and excellent food
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank imminent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

That is a late reviev coz I stayed there last year but mabey someone will be interested. Hotel is very big but very quiet. No problems with getting good spot at swimming pool, on beach they charge you for everything. Food very good, nothing to complain here. I loved the beach, the biggest i have seen so far, and loved little forts that are made from rocks to protect from wind ( very strong wind). Animations poor during day but good at night. Big issue about this hotel is that there is loads of older people. I will be cruel but it is not a place if you count to see lot of young people and make new friends:I To do that you have to go do town and few discos:)
So apart from beautiful beaches and rich night life Lanzarote is very very very boring place. Nothing to see, no extra atractions to enjoy your stay ( and if ther are any it is just to expensive). Vilages are charming but that is all. So if you cant decide Tenerife or Lanzarote go to Tenerife it is much more beautiful and has much more to offer.
I also didnt like that there was to many Irish and English people working there.... i almost didnt met any real Canarian or Spanish!!!! Loads of Chines, or black seling chinese suwenires! Horible! And the landing airplanes all day long !!! Big minus for that. We took trip to see volcano, but that is about all you can do on that island. Good luck:)

  • Liked — pools and beach just outside door
  • Disliked — seiling in our bathroom was leeking all stay
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank magsirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Reading some of the comments here I am wondering if we stayed at the same hotel. My wife and I were under the impression that this hotel was supposed to be a Thomson Gold hotel where no children under 16 were admitted but this was not the case, also the food was always cold whether it was breakfast or dinner unless you got something that was being cooked there and then. Also, there was a kids pool especially for kids, so why did they have activities for kids in the main pool with a woman incessantly blowing a whistle?
The rooms are small by any standards and why have they installed a bidet in an already tiny bathroom ?
I also read a comment that all rooms have a sea view? I can say that ours definately didn't have a sea view on the ground floor.
Sorry if this seems negative but I did expect more from a 4 star hotel.
We will visit Lanzarote again as we do eveyr year but will not stay here again.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank Freelander007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield Yorks
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

Spent an enjoyable week here in May. We found the hotel was in an excellent position in a quiet spot well away from any noise but in easy walking distance of bars and restaurants. When we were there the hotel had mainly older guets staying there.
We agree with some of the other reviewers that some of the rooms have very little sea view. However who wants to sit on plastic chairs on the balcony when there are much pleasanter places to sit around the hotel and garden.
We found the staff very helpful and courteous at all times. Our room was well maintained and furnished in a more traditional style.I/t was on the ground floor overlooking the garden. We had sun in the morning but it was quite dark in the afternoon. The balcony overlooked a small garden. Bathroom was a decent size and toiletries replaced regularly. If we went again we would request a room on a higher floor.
You have to pay to hire the fridge/minibar in the room. You can pay and have coffee/tea facilities as well. If you want to use it as a minibar you have to buy at least 24euros of drinks from a list. you are then given a key to open the fridge. We didn't like this.
There was a large variety of food at both breakfast and dinner. In the evening as well as the normal buffet there was a separate area where the chef cooked a different international dish each evening e.g. Chinese, Indian, Italian,Spanish........
We normally go in an apartment in Lanzarote and eat out. This was a late half board package deal so we went with the intention of dining out. but after trying the food on our first evening we only went out once.
When we were there the road was completely up and being repaired from just past the hotel all the way down the front of Playa de los Pocillos to Matagorda. Looks like it will go on for weeks. However it is still possible to walk in that direction as it is all beautifully landscaped at the side of Pocillos beach.
We did not use the bar but there was entertainment each evening.It seemed very popular as it was always full.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — Having to pay to open minibar/fridge
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank penstemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2008

My husband and I have just spent a week at the San Antonio Hotel It is situated in a good location away from all the hustle and bustle of Del Carmen, walk to the right when you come out of the hotel the beaches and walks are peaceful and clean we enjoyed that. The Hotel rooms need to be refurbished our bathroom had an horrid smell of urine the carpet was not clean the patio door would not lock, the pillows on the bed smelt of sweat but the sheets were clean.We had to pay extra for the fridge.We also payed extra for a sea view the view was exellent but we never at any time of the day had any sun on the balcony, you had the stand up to see over the balcony when you sat down on the white plastic chairs you could see nothing but reinforced dirty looking glass,So we had no pleasure sitting in the sun looking out to sea with a nice glass of wine in our hands. There was a good selection of food in the restaurant,but check it before you eat it, the second day I was there I found a cockroach in my salad ,I called the waiter she took it from me and said go and get another one, then came the head waiter and he just apologized and walked away, needless to say I was put off the food for the rest of the week .I am pleased we only went for one week,We will not be going back to this hotel I feel sick thinking about

  • Liked — its on the beach
  • Disliked — the rooms and food
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2008

We have just returned from the Hotel San Antonio where we spent an enjoyable two weeks. The only thing we did not like about the hotel was small bathroom and the bedroom too was a bit small for a 4 Star Hotel. By the way contrary to the previous review, not all rooms have a sea vies. We had a room overlooking the garden, with a very tiny corner glimpse of the sea through the trees. They described this room as having “partial sea view” – so partial that you almost missed it.

We found all the staff, reception, dining room, bars, maids, etc. to be very friendly and pleasant. The prices in the bar and snack bar were a bit expensive especially with the poor Euro exchange rates. We found cheaper cafes and bars a short walk from the hotel.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone, it is close enough to the busy Puerto del Carmen, whilst being in a quiet location.

  • Liked — Quiet location
  • Disliked — Size of bedroom and bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mirandamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.4 mi away
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
#15 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,062 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#19 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
576 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Hotel San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Hotel San Antonio

Property: VIK Hotel San Antonio
Address: Avenida de las Playas 84, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Hotel San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your VIK Hotel San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Lanzarote
Antonio Hotel Lanzarote San
San Antonio Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel San Antonio Lanzarote
VIK Hotel San Antonio Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing