We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VIK Hotel San Antonio
Ranked #26 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed 24 October 2009

restaurant spoilt this hotel. Everything was fine apart from restaurant. Cold Plates Cold Food . Same menu each evening. Microwave to heat up your food!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fresmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,511 - 1,517 of 1,923 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2009

Have just arrived home from san antonio (should be called san patrickio due to amount of irish staying there) We did have a good time bit were outnumbered by irish who took over the hotel, we didnt really have a problem with this but, it did feel like we were in ireland! Food was ok same thing every night just a different special eg. chinese, indian etc. rooms ok need a refurbish though! Staff we found were great they could'nt do enough for us, we were checked in quickly and efficiently and suitcases taken to our rooms for us. We had a great view to the sea. Towels changed whenever you needed them changing beds changed every other day. Shame there are no tea and coffee trays in rooms though and the safe is 11EUROS a week very expensive! same for the fridge! These should be free in a 4 star hotel! You can hire beach towels 5 euros deposit each. We will return, we made many new friends and the hotel is in a fab position on the beach

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feeBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Returned from San Antonio hotel in early August 2009, i had read reviews and there seemed like there were a few bad reviews, firstly i have stayed at many a 4* hotel and found this one as good as they get!
The check in was quick with a porter bringing our luggage down to our room, the room we had was a family room on the lower floor facing the tennis courts, the room itself was clean althought was a bit dated, with a good sized bathroom.the hotel is ideally situated at the end of Puerto Del Carmem/ Playa Los Picillos and has direct access to the beach. The beach in front of the hotel is rocky but to the left is a fantastic beach that streches for a least 2 miles towards the airport . The food in the hotel consisted of buffet breakfast & evening meal there was always something there for everyone with themed food nights each evening ie Chinnese /spannish /italian and the kids found what they liked so everyone was happy .entertainment was excellent with acts each evening and they were of good standard .drink prices in the hotel were still cheaper that at home in dublin ( pint €3.50. Bottle bud €3.60 Baileys large measure €4.25. a deposit of €5 per towel was needed if you required for your sun bed which was totally refundable great ideal & there was always plenty of sunbeds around so no getting up early to run down to put your towel down. I would have no problems returning to the San Antonio Hotel.

Philthedub

Dublin

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank philthedub58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Booked this hotel as it was recommended to me by by Mum who has stayed here several times. Great location right on the beach. Staff very helpful and polite, rooms cleaned to a high standard evey day, ample food with a "special" on every night (indian, chinese, japanese, etc). I did have to heat my food up a couple of nights but nothing a minute in the microwave that was available didnt solve.
The drinks menu in the main bar /entertainemnt lounge were quite expensive but as we didnt want to sit in there of an evening we were happy to buy our own from the Spar just up the road and sit on our balcony and relax looking out to fab views of the beach and sea. There is a snack bar by the pool area but we found the menu very limited, so we use to walk up to a restaurant called La Traviata (turn left out of hotel, 5 mins walk next to the spar supermarket). Good value and excellent menu.
Plenty of sunbeds to go round and even if you didnt go down to the pool until late morning/early afternoon you would still get one.
I would advise taking your own hairdryer (there is one in the bathroom but not very powerful). Also a travel kettle as they do charge to hire one. We hired the minbar empty so we could put our own drinks/water in etc and worked out a couple of euros a day.
Yes we will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Blackscampi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We have just returned from a week stay at this hotel, infact it was our honey moon and we had a ball!!!!!! I had read some reveiws before we went and was queit worried we had made a wrong choice, but upon arrival i was pleasently suprised. The staff were so nice and helpful, we were also given champaign on arrival as we were honeymooners. The food was great and entire place was spotless. Didnt see one creepy crawly entire stay. Lots of sunbeds so no mad dass in the morning, some mornings we didnt get to pool until 12 and always had a nice bed. One peice of advice there is a restueraunt in the old town called Puorto Bahia that is a must, Ill definatily be returning to this hotel and the fab Puorto Bahia. So take on board what other reveiws say but dont be put off, go and see for yourself you wont be dissappointed.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lucy3Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

This is my 4th visit to the San Antonio. My last visit in 2007 was not a great success so I returned feeling a bit nervous. For people who have not been in this hotel before, the location is excellent - situated between Matagorda and the busy strip. Hotel is on the beach though if you want to swim, its better to walk over to the public area - you can exit the hotel through the gardens and return using your room key - this is a very short cut. If you like walking, its a good place to stay as when you come out of the hotel and turn right you can walk for miles on a lovely flat promendade and you have the sea all the way. Alternatively, you can walk into the Old Town - about 20 mins or so and if you keep on the left you are not accosted by many people trying to tempt you into their pubs etc.
Hotel was spotless everywhere. There were loads of sunbeds. Towels are supplied at reception for €5 per week and you can change them daily. When you return the towel when leaving you get your €5 back. This is a brilliant service.
Reception staff were excellent. Our first room was given in error ( double bed)and they quickly switched us to another room with the required twin beds . Rooms are quite small but when you really are only in them to sleep you cannot fault it. Bathroom had sachets of shower gels, soaps, comb etc and plenty towels. We also had robes which was a first. Balcony had 2 chairs and a table. Linen and towels changed a few times in the week. Restaurant was not as busy as previous times. We found the food to have improved greatly. Some things may be not as hot as you would like but there was a microwave available. Selection was excellent and it would be hard to see how anyone could complain. There was always lots of salads breads etc and you would have maybe steak, roast pork and white fish and then there would be lasanagne etc. Veg were not great and we were suprised that there were no canarian potatoes served. There was always a theme menu - chinese , japenese, italian etc. its a great way to try different cuisines.Desserts were typical of spanish hotel and were fine. There was always ice cream, fresh fruit and cheese and crackers. Breakfast was excellent too and you would have to admire the egg Chef who was so busy frying eggs in the different styles and also making omlettes. He also was in charge of the waffe pan so he was busy. Tables were cleared quickly and the staff were very plesant. Entertainment in the hotel was varied - there was the usual stufff in the daytime - darts, french boules etc and a lot of people seemed to enjoy it. There was some excellent shows in the bar at night - some better than others but this would be a personal thing. Found the bar staff to be poor - slow to get served and not very friendly!
It was a good experience and we will return soon.
On a seperate note, there has been a lot of changes in the roads etc. You now cannot get the bus down town as its one way and ditto for the taxi. The detour seems massive - you seem to have to go out miles to get back into Old Town. Taxi is then more expensive and some of the drivers were NOT NICE!! One guy who took me into old town on Sunday morning - fare was 5.35 - I gave him €10 and he only gave me back €4. I would have given it myself but he decided he was having in anyway. He noticed my displeasure and he took off at speed . I was sorry I did not have his number. Buses are great value though. It was a great holiday and we are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mayo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Have just returned from a relaxing hol at san antonio. Hotel made the holiday. service and facilites excellent - didnt feel we had to leave the hotel during the day as daytime actitivies aplenty with the wonderful sabrina including archery, rifle shooting, boules, ping pong and particularly enjoyed the aqua gym each day. Pool area spacious and friendly (no difficulty with getting sunbeds) and right next to the beach. difficult to access sea from the beach due to the rocks but only a very short walk to get easier access and sunbeds with parasols. Evening entertainment varied and not always to our taste so just pick your nights in the evening lounge selectively to what you like but beware the drinks are very expensive. 15 -12 mins walk to get to the main part of strip but some good sports/english/irish bars close by. Food good and varied and rooms comfortable. Would recommend this hotel for a totally relaxing holiday and cant wait to go back. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellfish7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
773 reviews
1.4 mi away
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
#14 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#20 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,592 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Hotel San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Hotel San Antonio

Address: Avenida de las Playas 84, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £120 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Hotel San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIK Hotel San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Lanzarote
Antonio Hotel Lanzarote San
San Antonio Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel San Antonio Lanzarote
VIK Hotel San Antonio Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing