We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A moving experience.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Flamingo Apartamentos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Arrived at Fayna to check in at around 1.00pm, as you have to for Flamingo. Despite having booked a two bedroom apartment in Flamingo in March 2013 for January 2014, and sending a confirmation to an email request from the owner two days before arrival, we were informed by her that we had to have a one bedroom apartment for the first night and be moved to a two bedroom apartment the next day. Naturally we were distinctly unimpressed with this news but resolved not to let it spoil the holiday; also she offered a small discount for the inconvenience. I then paid in full for the duration, and we were taken to the one bedroom apartment. She informed us that the two bedroom apartment was next door. The one bedroom (111) was dark and dingy as no sunlight reaches it. It was only then I realised we were not in Flamingo but in Fayna! So, we went back to reception which was closed until the evening. Returning in the evening, we spoke to a young man on duty, explained the situation but the computer was down, and we had to go back yet again at 9.00pm. This time the computer was running and he found us a two bedroom in Flamingo, but it wasn't available until the day after next. He told us that we still had to confirm with the owner in the morning. We duly saw the owner the next morning, and she offered to move us to the two bedroom apartment next door (112), still no sun and still in the Fayna. We refused this option as we had no desire to move twice in two days, I asked her "Do you think we're gypsies?". There was no further discount and certainly no apology. In fact she blithely informed us that we were lucky that we weren't being moved 8km away as she had done to other guests, it was all legal in Spain as long as it was to the same standard booked or higher and that was that! She initially was very bullish in her attitude and even refused to let us move after two days in Fayna to the Flamingo stating that there were no two bed apartments available which was patently untrue. After challenging her veracity and with much protestation, we finally were allowed, on the third day of our holiday, the apartment we had booked in the first place ten months previously. They actually moved our cases for us after we had to repack. When the situation was finally resolved she miraculously became cheerful and chummy towards us which she certainly hadn't been before. Damage already done!
When we finally arrived at the right apartment in Flamingo, room 222, it was spacious and we had a large balcony to boot which got the sun all day. Cleaners came every day, towels changed whenever we required, beds made, bedding changed regularly, so no complaints. However, the shower ran hot for 30-60 seconds before it went stone cold and the pressure was also variable so it was a lottery whether you could complete your ablutions in time. The building work mentioned on other reviews continues, was opposite our room and started at 7.30am every day except Sunday. It looks as if it may be a bar/restaurant being constructed which would impinge on the privacy of some guests.
Overall, if we had been allocated what we booked in the first place, then despite the shower we would have been happy with our lot. However, the start to a much anticipated holiday was ruined by the attitude of the owner who would greatly benefit from customer relations training. On an island whose economy is struggling, this poor customer service doesn't encourage repeat visits. Would not return as could not be confident of where my final destination lay!

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here with friends on a girly break away for a few days Oct 8th - 12th. Had a 2 bedroom apartment which was just excellent in size and plenty of storage. Room 211 which overlooked the kiddies pool but we did not see one child at the apartment block. The apartment had everything you need, microwave, hob, kettle, toaster and fridge freezer. Hair dryer in bathroom but it did not have ac. You can hire a fan from reception in the Fayna which is the sister hotel of the Flamingos. Just walk around the back of room 211 and it will take you to the reception. The apartments were extremely quite BUT!!!!!!!!!!!!! next door had renovations going on so the workers were out with their drills at 7 am sharp. Ok if you are in lanzorote to get up at that time but not if you are planning on a lie in. There are 2 pools which were extremely cold, but then again it was Oct. The apartment block seemed to have an older generation staying there. Almost everyone we spoke to were either retired or on their way to retirement so if it is a lively place you are looking for then this is not for you. It was perfect for the relaxing break that we wanted during the day. Plenty of sun beds etc. It is ideally located across from the casino. Out the gate and straight across to the beach. Very secure as you needed a key to open the main gate to gain access to this property. Just around the corner to the left you will get breakfast for approx €2 - €2.50. If you are looking for a nice restaurant for a good meal then go out the front gate and take a left and walk for about 5-10 mins until you come to a restaurant just before Pinochios called Royal. Absolutely the best restaurant i have ever had a meal in, in all my 12 years of going to Lanzorote. A fab meal for 4 with starters and main course and plenty of sangria for approx €20 pp. Ask for a baileys shot when they offer you a complimentary shot after your meal. Really nice. Would i return to the Flamingos again, yes. Def not for a lively holiday but to relax. Perfect also if you have young kids with other kids and you want a safe place for them then book the Flamingos. If you book these direct make sure you ask to be dropped at the Fayna as this is where you get your key. My advice is to be collected from there also. ENJOY.

Room Tip: all rooms face the pools so unless you have buggies or bad on your feet all apartments are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KerryCocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have stayed at these apartments many times over the years and will continue to do so, they are well situated and small and friendly and very clean.
The location is perfect'
I would also like to mention the bar just outside the Flamingo gates. El Kiosco this bar is perfect the drinks and snacks are priced very reasonably and the atmosphere is wonderful these two guys who run the bar really made our holiday special and would consider them and their family good friends as well now. If you turn right when you leave the bar and go a little further down you will find El Kiosco II which also serve delicious home made meals of English or Italian and really really good, so check that out as well.. We are already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms get the sun the longest and the best views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kath2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

these apartments are in a brilliant location right in the middle of the strip,lovely and clean .Antonio
is very helpful he will go out of his way to help you he is a top bloke.
i would recomend these apts and would love to return myself one day,having just returned
from these apts on 28/9/13 i would like to mention that there is building work going on next door at the las arcos with the noise of a drill going on all day and a banging hammer making it impossible for us to relax around the pool, it will also be goin on for some time.
there are also a lot of couples with small children here.
we are a couple in our fifties who just wanted time to relax without the added extras of babies crying and the workmen.

Room Tip: they all have side seaview except the two sraight at the back facing the sea ,the ground floor is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We are currently guests of the Flamingo. We have been here and week and check out tomorrow. It is has been a really nice stay. Can't complain about anything at all. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom located on the pool, and it has everything that you will need. They are located right off the strip, but its quiet and you don't feel as if you are on the strip. We can see the sea from our patio and there is a lovely little bar just outside the gates.
It is pretty clean and the maids come to change the towels and make the beds, so I guess what more could you really need.
Walking distance to the beach. Everything has been very nice and will come back again.
The only thing I would say is bring beach towels, or you can buy them on the strip for £5.00. Also if you have children, bring a laptop or DVD player because the television is only in Spanish. But can easily connect a DVD player to the tv.
Other then that, everything else is here that you need. Great cheap English breakfast all over the strip for £2.00 (2.50 Euro).
We never went to the pool bar at the sister hotel, but we have heard its nice to hang out at.
I would recommend Flamingo to friends and family.

Room Tip: They all seem to be very good. We have the 2 bedroom by the small pool and its perfect for morning s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

A family of 10 on a rare holiday stayed here in Summer 2011. As one of the younger members of the family, I was expecting an older person's paradise. However, I found everyone adequately catered for. Drinks were cheap, food was good. The pool was lovely and the staff (although not often on reception) were very friendly. The apartments are right on the strip, but far enough away to miss out the noise. Lovely holiday. I actually only stumbled upon this TA when researching a different hotel for myself and girlfriend this summer - now pricing up these apartments!

Room Tip: Poolside ground floor rooms were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alp1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The Flamingo apartments are in a complex along with the Fayna apartments and The Los Acros. They are in a great location just off the main Playa. Had booked into Flamingo but actually was accomodated in the Fayna(which would be a grade better).
The complex is small & intimate & has everything you need for a perfect holiday in the sun...

Room Tip: The pool bar at the Fayna part of the complex is cheaper & much more atmospheric(as it is situat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lalsod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Rocas Blancas Apartments
Rocas Blancas Apartments
#56 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
603 reviews
0.9 mi away
Morana Apartments
Morana Apartments
#46 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bungalows Velazquez
Bungalows Velazquez
#9 of 71 in Puerto Del Carmen
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Playamar Apartments
Playamar Apartments
#1 of 12 in Puerto Del Carmen
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabrera Apartments
Cabrera Apartments
#23 of 71 in Puerto Del Carmen
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Apartamentos

Address: Avenida de las Playas 51, 35572 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £54 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Flamingo Apartamentos 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Apartamentos Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing