We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Los Fariones Apartments”
Review of Los Fariones Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Fariones Hotel
Ranked #16 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Los Fariones Apartments”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed at the apartments for 9 nights at the end of January/beginning of February, having booked online, which are in a separate location to the hotel, but still very central to everything. The taxi fare was 14-15 euros from the airport and it took about 15-20 minutes.

We had a small separate bedroom with wardrobe, well equipped bathroom, an open plan sitting room which included the kitchen and a balcony leading off the sitting area. Flat screen TV with 20+ channels, dining table and chairs, plus sofa and coffee table, all quite modern and stylish. Everything was perfectly clean and the rooms are serviced daily. We ate in 3 or 4 evenings after buying seafood and pasta at the local supermarket.

Great location in between old town and The Strip, very convenient for buses all over the island, fabulous restaurants and shops all within walking distance. The nearest beach is about 5 minutes walk away, but if you carry on walking following the route of "The Strip" you can take in countless other beaches, all wonderful.

Breakfast was great, a huge buffet selection, but get there early to grab a table as space is limited! Probably the room layout is not ideal and I agree with Coleen10's review about the cutlery etc.

There's a swimming pool with surrounding sun loungers and also if you go up a few steps a higher level complete with open-air Jacuzzi and more seating for sunbathing.

There were not many kids around at that time, mostly adults, quite a few couples, lots of people from Ireland, Germany and Scandinavia, overall a good mix of nationalities.

I would have no hesitation in recommending the Fariones Apartments as a fantastic, good-value place to stay and we plan to go back there again soon.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at a high level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzanneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you very much for the detail to take your time and write this extensive and interesting review about your holidays in Fariones Apartments.
We are glad to hear that you enjoy your vacation.

On behalf of all the staff, we are looking forward to welcoming you soon!

Yours sincerely,
Bienvenido Saavedra
General Manager Fariones Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    339
    109
    35
    17
See reviews for
157
464
57
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

whilst on a trip to lanzerote recently,we changed hotels for the last 2 days as we felt we needed a more relaxing hotel---so we booked into the "hotel fariones",having stayed here approx 10/12 yrs ago,we decided to give it another try,were we glad!it is not the "ritz"!but has a very faithful clientale.
it honestly has the most lovely setting in puerto dal carmen,compact,nice pool,a lovely small cove and tiny harbor--both very easy to swim from.
vg beach towels,no fuss in optaining them from the reception area.
the fariones has seen very little change in many years but i think one accepts this for its position.
lunch by the pool was fine but the service was extremely slow and not exactly with a smile!!
Bedrooms=average,vg views but do need to be upgraded,beds v comfortable,towelling robes supplied in rooms though no mini bar.
i am not sure if i would bring children here because if there were a lot of them running around,the spaace might not besuitable.
piano entertainment at night-pleasant to listen to whilst sitting outside.
we did not find the quality of breakfast great,feel tables for breakfast should be set properly. ie
with cutlery,nothing worse then rattling around looking for everything.
would we go back?without a doubt,but hoping the rooms might be decorated in 2013/14.
we found the staff at reception helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: for a view of gardens,ask for over the pool,larger rooms in annex but view not a good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coleen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for choosing our establishment for spending your holiday. We appreciate the fact that you have taken your time to comment about your accommodation in Fariones. For us, it means that our guests really do like our establishment . We have taken note of your recommendations, only so we can improve our services.
We are very glad to hear that you liked your stay here so much and you will come back next season.
On behalf of all the Fariones team we are looking forward to your next visit.
Yours sincerely
Bienvenido Saavedra
General Manager
Fariones Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

A* Location - midway between The Old Town and The Strip.
Views - beach / sea views from private balcony.
Grounds - pristine, beauitifully lit at night.
Breakfast - (providing you eat before 9.30a.m. as often not replenished) Lots of fresh fruit
and a good variety for all tastes. Cava and caviar!
Maintainance man - friendly and good humoured. Replaced broken T.V. within minutes.
Management - free,surprise Birthday Cake delivered to room.

B+ Beach towels, free for duration of stay.
Large fridge in room.

D Hotel information - non on arrival. Trips down to reception to discover how to lock safe.
(15e +10e refundable key deposit for week) Where do we obtain beach towels? (Reception,no
deposit.) Information from Travel Company? (Book case in front and to left of Reception.)

E- Several reception / bar staff - courteous but unfriendly and moody. Given the hotel's 4*
rating,would expect friendlier / more helpful service from all.
Beds - hard, with uncomfortable, thick plastic mattress covers, suitable for infants, not
adults.
Weekend invaders - local children able to access pool area, obviously not for the first
time.
Computers - (1e / 10 mins) Don't even try!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333JaneT333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Client:

Thank you for taking your time to write this detailed and critical review.
We are thankful for all kind of opinions that we have into consideration. We understand that everybody has different preferences and we cannot please everybody at the highest. We are glad to hear that you have liked the staff, location and grounds.
We sincerely wish that you will visit us again. Maybe the next time you would see things through a different perspective.
Yours sincerely
Bienvenido Saavedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed at Los Fariones last week in Feb 2013.
I found the room small,scruffy ,dated,old fashioned .No air con .Definately no luxury .Room was cold,furniture scratched and bathroom facilities rather basic. Had to pay for 15.00 euro for use of safe in room, surely in a "4 star" this should be standard!Will not be returning or recommending this hotel.Location is of course ideal but that is the only positive thing I can say.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear client:

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting the Fariones Hotel.
As you can suppose, the vision of our clients is the evidence to complete guest-satisfaction. We are very thankful for the time you spent writing this review. This is the best way to achieve superiority and quality in our services. We took good note of your notes and we passed them to the responsible person in order to improve the standards.
We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please permit us to express our sincerest apologies.
We hope to may take the opportunity to serve you again and cause through our high quality service and the fulfillment of our hotel standards lasting impression.

Yours sincerely
Bienvenido Saavedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Ok, you might wonder why I gave it that title after I gave it the overall rating above and not the full monty but what I mean by a little slice of heaven is the location, it just can't be beat, not in Puerto Del Carmen anyway, IMHO. The hotel itself is like so many have said "getting a little tired" but I for one am half afraid that if they start renovating it that they will lose some of that old world charm that I just love. When you walk in the front door you can see straight through to the pool area and out to the sea with the palm trees blowing and the birds chirping. It's like a little bit of the bahamas only in a more "reachable" location. Not that I've been to the Bahamas but it's kind of like I imagined it.

I should have done this review when I came back which was at the start of October last year. It is now March so I'll do my best to give my opinion. There are some (minor in my opinion) litle things that could be improved. The no air con issue but this didn't really affect us as it was late September into October, there is no mini bar in the room or tea and coffee making facilities, there is a safe (no charge, automated) and overall the room was quite comfortable. All the rooms seem to have sea views and of course the higher up the better the view out to sea over the palm trees.

The breakfast was very good, both hot and cold breakfast, and sitting out on the dining-room veranda was fabulous every morning. If you book directly with the hotel the breakfast is included. The pool area does fill up very quickly in the morning. Most people were up at 6 or 7 to place their towels and all the ly-beds would be gone by ten even the area near the small beach. I imagine it would be even worse in the summer time. I absolutely loved the fact that you can walk just a few feet down to a very small private little cove which is just fab for swimming and snorkeling in.

We really had a most relaxing week in the 'Fariones. The food in the bar was lovely as well for a snack but the bar staff (I'm sorry to say) need to also be "renovated". Not the friendliest in the world. The reception staff however were quite pleasant and the cleaning staff were lovely. One tip - you can get towels for the pool from the reception however the yellow towels are much bigger than the blue ones so if you can get the yellow ones it's better.

The hotel itself in relation to the rest of the resort is right in the middle between the strip and the Old Town so there again it's location couldn't be better.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views, though the higher up you go I suppose the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loves2travelnearly40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear client:

We appreciate very much your commentaries and celebrate that you have enjoyed as you deserve and that you have felt well taken care in Fariones. For us it is very important to know the feelings of our clients, so we can continue to work daily on us.
As always, we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. From sunny Lanzarote
Kind regards

Bienvenido Saavedra
General Manager
Fariones Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Have just returned from a relaxing weeks break at Los Fariones. Very good hotel, yes a little outdated and corridor carpets could do with replacing but still an ideal spot to chill out. Food in the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner was delicious, beautifully cooked and a wealth of choice. Gardens were beautifully kept and the fact it has its own little beach cove an added bonus. Although set in the heart of Puerto del Carmen it is a tranquil spot to spend the day sunbathing. In the evenings no loud entertainment just a pianist on most nights and an occasional saxophonist. Feel it is worth upgrading to a mini suite for the extra space in the bedrooms. Would certainly return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a mini suite for extra space and a refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshiretraveller46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear client:
Our gratitude for having placed your trust in us and thanks a lot for your great commentaries.
We hope to welcome you again in Fariones hotel soon. Meanwhile, send you our best regards from sunny Lanzarote.
Yours sincerely,
Bienvenido Saavedra
General Manager Fariones Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This hotel is like a beautiful lady whom I've known and loved for almost two decades. I've visited her practically every year, spent all my savings on her, have had memorable holidays, restored my physical health and mental wellbeing and am always sad to leave. Looking forward to a return visit is a tonic that sustains over the winter and spring. I visited again recently. Her decline has been obvious for some time but one has been tolerant and understanding; after all I'm not getting any younger myself. If the hotel was a lady I'd be thinking anti-aging cleansers, moisturizers, anti-wrinkle treatment and fighting blemishes. Those recent reviews (JessKildare and wildebed et al ) have identified some of the main issues. It is inconceivable that hotel management do not know - better perhaps than we who spend only a couple of weeks a year there - what enormous modernisation is called for. I'd like to use this medium not just to sound off but to ask management what improvements are contemplated in the coming year. I want to go back again once or twice this year - there's no place quite like it - but why ask me to put up with standards of furniture and fittings that I wouldn't abide in my own home.
Last point, staff. I have to be careful on this one. Some people are the very personification of good customer service. There are one or two men on the reception desk who are worth their weight in gold. And there are a few whose frequent incorrect billing/change for meals and drinks conjured up images of low down bazaars.

Room Tip: Rooms above the lounges where entertainment takes place tend to be noisier. Prime location on each f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vernoil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear client:
We would like to give you our gratitude for your remarks. For us it is essential to know the impression of our guest relating to their accommodations; only so we can improve our services. We assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration.
Hope to see you again in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Bienvenido Saavedra
General Manager Fariones Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
#15 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
662 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
718 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,487 reviews
1.6 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#24 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Fariones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Fariones Hotel

Property: Los Fariones Hotel
Address: Calle Roque del Este 1, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Fariones Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located right on the beachfront and is set in wonderful gardens full of native plant species and also has direct access to the crystalline waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Los Fariones Hotel is in the best-known corner of Puerto del Carmen, the tourist area par excellence. Get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and come and stay at the Los Fariones Hotel where you can enjoy an excellent holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Los Fariones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fariones Lanzarote
Fariones Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel Los Fariones
Los Fariones Puerto Del Carmen
Los Fariones Hotel Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing