We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed the break”
Review of Los Fariones Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Fariones Hotel
Ranked #16 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2013

just returned from a four day break and enjoyed Hotel Fariones. Lovely views, gardens, pool area, beach etc. Breakfast more than adequate and i was pleased you could have a pot of coffee or tea and as much as you want; nothing worse than keep shouting for your cup to be filled up. The evening meal catered for everyone. The freshly cooked meat and fish was beautifully cooked to order by a very pleasant chef, however, whilst the waiters were fairly efficient and appear to have a lot of experience, most of them were very sullen and need to smile more. They made me feel uncomforable a times.
Our room was spacious, clean and had everything we wanted. Have read so many reviews about the furnishings and carpets needing replacing, and whilst an update could make the rooms plush, other aspects of the hotel and holiday made up for this. The location in particular allows you so many choices.The hotel was not too busy so I dont know if I would feel the same at the height of summer, from the point of view of no air conditioning and you can hear noise from the corridors so clearly. However, i would be very happy to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arizonaDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for choosing Fariones Group to spending your holidays and for your lovely words.
We celebrate that you enjoy your holidays with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon in our establishments. Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you have any enquire for your next holidays.

Yours sincerely,
Bienvenido Saavedra
General Manager Fariones Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
There are newer reviews for Los Fariones Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed at the apartments for 9 nights at the end of January/beginning of February, having booked online, which are in a separate location to the hotel, but still very central to everything. The taxi fare was 14-15 euros from the airport and it took about 15-20 minutes.

We had a small separate bedroom with wardrobe, well equipped bathroom, an open plan sitting room which included the kitchen and a balcony leading off the sitting area. Flat screen TV with 20+ channels, dining table and chairs, plus sofa and coffee table, all quite modern and stylish. Everything was perfectly clean and the rooms are serviced daily. We ate in 3 or 4 evenings after buying seafood and pasta at the local supermarket.

Great location in between old town and The Strip, very convenient for buses all over the island, fabulous restaurants and shops all within walking distance. The nearest beach is about 5 minutes walk away, but if you carry on walking following the route of "The Strip" you can take in countless other beaches, all wonderful.

Breakfast was great, a huge buffet selection, but get there early to grab a table as space is limited! Probably the room layout is not ideal and I agree with Coleen10's review about the cutlery etc.

There's a swimming pool with surrounding sun loungers and also if you go up a few steps a higher level complete with open-air Jacuzzi and more seating for sunbathing.

There were not many kids around at that time, mostly adults, quite a few couples, lots of people from Ireland, Germany and Scandinavia, overall a good mix of nationalities.

I would have no hesitation in recommending the Fariones Apartments as a fantastic, good-value place to stay and we plan to go back there again soon.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at a high level.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuzanneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you very much for the detail to take your time and write this extensive and interesting review about your holidays in Fariones Apartments.
We are glad to hear that you enjoy your vacation.

On behalf of all the staff, we are looking forward to welcoming you soon!

Yours sincerely,
Bienvenido Saavedra
General Manager Fariones Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

whilst on a trip to lanzerote recently,we changed hotels for the last 2 days as we felt we needed a more relaxing hotel---so we booked into the "hotel fariones",having stayed here approx 10/12 yrs ago,we decided to give it another try,were we glad!it is not the "ritz"!but has a very faithful clientale.
it honestly has the most lovely setting in puerto dal carmen,compact,nice pool,a lovely small cove and tiny harbor--both very easy to swim from.
vg beach towels,no fuss in optaining them from the reception area.
the fariones has seen very little change in many years but i think one accepts this for its position.
lunch by the pool was fine but the service was extremely slow and not exactly with a smile!!
Bedrooms=average,vg views but do need to be upgraded,beds v comfortable,towelling robes supplied in rooms though no mini bar.
i am not sure if i would bring children here because if there were a lot of them running around,the spaace might not besuitable.
piano entertainment at night-pleasant to listen to whilst sitting outside.
we did not find the quality of breakfast great,feel tables for breakfast should be set properly. ie
with cutlery,nothing worse then rattling around looking for everything.
would we go back?without a doubt,but hoping the rooms might be decorated in 2013/14.
we found the staff at reception helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: for a view of gardens,ask for over the pool,larger rooms in annex but view not a good
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coleen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear guest:
Thank you for choosing our establishment for spending your holiday. We appreciate the fact that you have taken your time to comment about your accommodation in Fariones. For us, it means that our guests really do like our establishment . We have taken note of your recommendations, only so we can improve our services.
We are very glad to hear that you liked your stay here so much and you will come back next season.
On behalf of all the Fariones team we are looking forward to your next visit.
Yours sincerely
Bienvenido Saavedra
General Manager
Fariones Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

A* Location - midway between The Old Town and The Strip.
Views - beach / sea views from private balcony.
Grounds - pristine, beauitifully lit at night.
Breakfast - (providing you eat before 9.30a.m. as often not replenished) Lots of fresh fruit
and a good variety for all tastes. Cava and caviar!
Maintainance man - friendly and good humoured. Replaced broken T.V. within minutes.
Management - free,surprise Birthday Cake delivered to room.

B+ Beach towels, free for duration of stay.
Large fridge in room.

D Hotel information - non on arrival. Trips down to reception to discover how to lock safe.
(15e +10e refundable key deposit for week) Where do we obtain beach towels? (Reception,no
deposit.) Information from Travel Company? (Book case in front and to left of Reception.)

E- Several reception / bar staff - courteous but unfriendly and moody. Given the hotel's 4*
rating,would expect friendlier / more helpful service from all.
Beds - hard, with uncomfortable, thick plastic mattress covers, suitable for infants, not
adults.
Weekend invaders - local children able to access pool area, obviously not for the first
time.
Computers - (1e / 10 mins) Don't even try!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 333JaneT333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Client:

Thank you for taking your time to write this detailed and critical review.
We are thankful for all kind of opinions that we have into consideration. We understand that everybody has different preferences and we cannot please everybody at the highest. We are glad to hear that you have liked the staff, location and grounds.
We sincerely wish that you will visit us again. Maybe the next time you would see things through a different perspective.
Yours sincerely
Bienvenido Saavedra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed at Los Fariones last week in Feb 2013.
I found the room small,scruffy ,dated,old fashioned .No air con .Definately no luxury .Room was cold,furniture scratched and bathroom facilities rather basic. Had to pay for 15.00 euro for use of safe in room, surely in a "4 star" this should be standard!Will not be returning or recommending this hotel.Location is of course ideal but that is the only positive thing I can say.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear client:

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting the Fariones Hotel.
As you can suppose, the vision of our clients is the evidence to complete guest-satisfaction. We are very thankful for the time you spent writing this review. This is the best way to achieve superiority and quality in our services. We took good note of your notes and we passed them to the responsible person in order to improve the standards.
We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please permit us to express our sincerest apologies.
We hope to may take the opportunity to serve you again and cause through our high quality service and the fulfillment of our hotel standards lasting impression.

Yours sincerely
Bienvenido Saavedra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Ok, you might wonder why I gave it that title after I gave it the overall rating above and not the full monty but what I mean by a little slice of heaven is the location, it just can't be beat, not in Puerto Del Carmen anyway, IMHO. The hotel itself is like so many have said "getting a little tired" but I for one am half afraid that if they start renovating it that they will lose some of that old world charm that I just love. When you walk in the front door you can see straight through to the pool area and out to the sea with the palm trees blowing and the birds chirping. It's like a little bit of the bahamas only in a more "reachable" location. Not that I've been to the Bahamas but it's kind of like I imagined it.

I should have done this review when I came back which was at the start of October last year. It is now March so I'll do my best to give my opinion. There are some (minor in my opinion) litle things that could be improved. The no air con issue but this didn't really affect us as it was late September into October, there is no mini bar in the room or tea and coffee making facilities, there is a safe (no charge, automated) and overall the room was quite comfortable. All the rooms seem to have sea views and of course the higher up the better the view out to sea over the palm trees.

The breakfast was very good, both hot and cold breakfast, and sitting out on the dining-room veranda was fabulous every morning. If you book directly with the hotel the breakfast is included. The pool area does fill up very quickly in the morning. Most people were up at 6 or 7 to place their towels and all the ly-beds would be gone by ten even the area near the small beach. I imagine it would be even worse in the summer time. I absolutely loved the fact that you can walk just a few feet down to a very small private little cove which is just fab for swimming and snorkeling in.

We really had a most relaxing week in the 'Fariones. The food in the bar was lovely as well for a snack but the bar staff (I'm sorry to say) need to also be "renovated". Not the friendliest in the world. The reception staff however were quite pleasant and the cleaning staff were lovely. One tip - you can get towels for the pool from the reception however the yellow towels are much bigger than the blue ones so if you can get the yellow ones it's better.

The hotel itself in relation to the rest of the resort is right in the middle between the strip and the Old Town so there again it's location couldn't be better.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views, though the higher up you go I suppose the better
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loves2travelnearly40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Dear client:

We appreciate very much your commentaries and celebrate that you have enjoyed as you deserve and that you have felt well taken care in Fariones. For us it is very important to know the feelings of our clients, so we can continue to work daily on us.
As always, we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. From sunny Lanzarote
Kind regards

Bienvenido Saavedra
General Manager
Fariones Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Have just returned from a relaxing weeks break at Los Fariones. Very good hotel, yes a little outdated and corridor carpets could do with replacing but still an ideal spot to chill out. Food in the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner was delicious, beautifully cooked and a wealth of choice. Gardens were beautifully kept and the fact it has its own little beach cove an added bonus. Although set in the heart of Puerto del Carmen it is a tranquil spot to spend the day sunbathing. In the evenings no loud entertainment just a pianist on most nights and an occasional saxophonist. Feel it is worth upgrading to a mini suite for the extra space in the bedrooms. Would certainly return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a mini suite for extra space and a refrigerator.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshiretraveller46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Dear client:
Our gratitude for having placed your trust in us and thanks a lot for your great commentaries.
We hope to welcome you again in Fariones hotel soon. Meanwhile, send you our best regards from sunny Lanzarote.
Yours sincerely,
Bienvenido Saavedra
General Manager Fariones Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
#14 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
697 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,666 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
458 reviews
1.6 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#26 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Fariones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Fariones Hotel

Address: Calle Roque del Este 1, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £419 - £543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Fariones Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located right on the beachfront and is set in wonderful gardens full of native plant species and also has direct access to the crystalline waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Los Fariones Hotel is in the best-known corner of Puerto del Carmen, the tourist area par excellence. Get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and come and stay at the Los Fariones Hotel where you can enjoy an excellent holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Los Fariones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fariones Lanzarote
Fariones Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel Los Fariones
Los Fariones Puerto Del Carmen
Los Fariones Hotel Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing