We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Mistake”
Review of Los Fariones Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Fariones Hotel
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Big Mistake”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed over the Christmas week , We have stayed at the Apartment Fariones in the past ( note the Apart,s are number 12 while the Hotel is 50 in customer ratings ) Only reason we stayed here is because the Apts where full .The one star is for the pool area and grounds , first impressions didn't promise much with the worn out out tatty rattan chairs along side the reception whilst checking in , Paid over £1100 for the room which resembled something from my first Costa holiday 1978 , dark worn out furniture ,dirty carpets dust everywhere , i am sure the sofa bed is one that was taken out of the Apartments up the road 3 years ago ! Question to the management why are the Apts cleaner ,superior furnished to this 4 star hotel ? There are replys here that the Hotel rooms are due to be renewed ? There was article in the Spanish newspaper El Sol back in January 2012 , £3000000 to be spent in Spring 2012 on renewing ,bring the hotel up to date , what happened ? First night in the room my wife said she was on her way to reception to complain the bath ,shower would not drain reason being attached to the plug hole where the strands ( different colours ) 16 inches long of large clumps of hair which the maid very kindly left for me to remove , along with the two dead mosquitoes on the wall some of the staff there do not want to work !The long bathroom is lit by a small approx, 18 inch florescent bulb which doesn't so a thing for the dark brown tiles ,so for the remainder of the 6 nights my wife took her make up bag and hair brush down two floors to the receptions clean ultra modern ladies toilets ,no coincidence these are used by the two female managers ! ( well if its good enough for you two ladies its good enough for the guests ) Breakfast area is fine inside and out good choice of food , Bar area is again like stepping back in time , worn out well past its sell by date ,we called in one night only, miserable staff felt they where dong you a favour by serving you ( 14 euros for two glasses of Pimms ) We have no problem with reception staff all who are curtious and friendly but the staff on the night bar and the lunch time cafe area need to attend a public relations course . We didn't want to go back to our room after a night out nor to spend any time there at all can only be summed up as Deary Dismal Depressing , Who wants to go to bed when you can here the man in the next room shouting and coughing in his sleep all night and then the constant toilet flushes through the thin walls .This Hotel plays on its location and the fact its the only one at that end of the strip they feel they don't have to change ,update , We will put it down to a bad experience and not return there are far better at the other end .of P.D.C

Room Tip: Asked to be moved to the Apartments instead ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Good4meLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear guest:
We regret not being able to satisfy your expectations. We apologize for all the inconveniences you find and do appreciate all your comments. Please be sure that we will bear them all in mind, giving the information to the respective departments and we will consider them in order to improve our standards of service.

Yours faithfully, Manager Fariones Hotels Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    339
    109
    35
    17
See reviews for
156
464
57
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ABERDEENSHIRE
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel dec 2013 to bring in new year we stayed in suite 102 it was a nice room though very dark at night not enough lights we had a lovely view of the sea and you can hear the waves crashing at night lovely! Hotel staff were polite we stayed b&b and breakfast was good if I was to go again I would ask for a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool as we did not get any sunshine on our balcony it was not a big deal as there are plenty of places to sit in the sun
There is not much in the way of entertainment but there are lots of bars about a five minute walk away and a ten minute walk to the lovely old town a really central hotel for everything and no hills

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest:
Thanks for choosing Fariones Hotel and for your confidence in our establishments. We are very pleased to know that you felt well care as you deserved. In Fariones we offer great facilities for relaxing holiday; our terraces and common areas are beautiful and comforting places and we are happy to see that you have enjoyed so much. We will pass your comments to our animation team as our principal aim is to improve daily. We are looking forward to your next visit here and we are hoping that it is going to be soon. Yours sincerely, Manager Fariones Hotels Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Public areas are excellent, however rooms are shabby and unkempt with inadequate cleaning. We were extremely disappointed having paid in excess of £1,200.00 for one week's stay commencing 27 December 2013. The hotel does not hold a candle to the Suite Hotel, which we had the opportunity to visit, which enjoyed not only pleasant public areas but also bright clean and modern living quarters.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 344RaymondN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear client:
First of all, thank you for your review here in TripAdvisor page. We are very sorry to receive your commentaries relating your accommodation in Fariones hotels. For us it is very important to know the impression of our guests and for your words you did not like your rooms as you deserve. We hope you can give us the opportunity to change your opinion in the future, we remain.
Yours sincerely, Management Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

my husband and myself have just returned from the hotel fariones where we stayed for christmas
and the new year It was our first visit to this lovely hotel and we were very impressed the staff were all very pleasant and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.our room was lovely
with a large wardrobe and overlooked the swimming pool,palm trees and the sea, in fact all the bedrooms have a sea view .we stayed half board and the food was excellent.and the gala dinners on Chrismas eve and New years eve really exceptional with a vast variety of food.The hotel is central for bars,shops and restaurants and also for catching buses for visits to other resorts.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good holiday in a pleasant location

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear clients:
Thanks a lot for your great comments in tripAdvisor and thank you so much for the time you take to express your feelings in Fariones Hotel. We celebrate that you feel well taken care in Fariones. Thank you as well for your commentaries relating to Christmas and New Year eve gala dinner; we are very happy to know that you have enjoyed our gastronomy and services. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future, we remain.
Yours sincerely, Management Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The hotel grounds are excellent but the rooms are very dated, my wife ran the taps for a bath and the water coming out was dark brown, black deposits were left in the bath when the water was turned off, maintenance came and said keep running the water for 50 minutes!eventually we were put in another part of the hotel were they knew the water was clear. However when you check round we found the curtains were badly stained, the standard lamp had no lamp in it and was very corroded, the wood skirting boards are all scratched, the wardrobes are dirty, also for an evening meal they wanted to charge us 25 euros each! For an hotel of this size the quality is very poor so avoid it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear client:
Thanks for your commentaries here, in tripAdvisor page. For us in very important to receive the feedback of our guests, only so we can continue work on us and improve our services. Sorry for the inconveniences caused due to the waters. We have informed our maintenance manager to solve the situation with the water pipes. We would like to inform you that we are planning to renew our rooms. Hope we can give the opportunity to welcome you in the near future, we remain.
Yours sincerely
Management Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

very nice hotel,nice private beach,close to the bars etc and airport not far away,and could book trips from the hotel,was a clean hotel,better to stay on higher floor do have great view the sea,good hotel to stay in

Room Tip: pick higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scalp0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Client,
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Fariones Hotel. For us is very important to know the impressions of our clients to improve day by day. Thank you very much for your lovely and detailed review. We look forward to welcoming you again in Fariones Hotels Group. Best regards,
Management Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Came here in summer 2012 and 2013. I absolutely love this hotel. They remembered us from our last visit and surprised my mum with a birthday cake on her birthday along with a beautiful rose. The staff are lovey and the buffet breakfast is amazing. The private beach and the pool are both lovely and they also have lovely gardens. We requested a fridge this year and it was no problem at all. When we first arrived in 2012 we had moved from a horrible apartment and needed a place to stay. I remember walking in and feeling like I was in heaven. We thought the price would be high because of this but it is actually very reasonable. We had no second thought about booking again for 2013 We hope to maybe return in summer 2014.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer2014woo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Director General at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear client:
It´s a pleasure to know that you have spent and enjoyed your vacation in Fariones establishment. Destiny has shown you the way to the Fariones and as you have seen, our hotel is an ideal holiday place for all ages, symbol of guaranty and excellence for everyone. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation so much and we will be very pleased to welcome you in next season.
From sunny Lanzarote Best regards.
Yours sincerely, General Management – Fariones Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
#15 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
646 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#27 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,403 reviews
1.6 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
706 reviews
1.6 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#24 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Fariones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Fariones Hotel

Property: Los Fariones Hotel
Address: Calle Roque del Este 1, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Fariones Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located right on the beachfront and is set in wonderful gardens full of native plant species and also has direct access to the crystalline waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Los Fariones Hotel is in the best-known corner of Puerto del Carmen, the tourist area par excellence. Get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and come and stay at the Los Fariones Hotel where you can enjoy an excellent holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Los Fariones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fariones Lanzarote
Fariones Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel Los Fariones
Los Fariones Puerto Del Carmen
Los Fariones Hotel Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing