We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms need to be brought into 21st century”
Review of Los Fariones Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Fariones Hotel
Ranked #20 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

You cant beat this hotel for its location, for its outdoor areas, gardens, pools, lounging areas and private beach - absolutely wonderful. I have always found the staff to be polite and efficient so no complaints there either but the rooms - Oh my goodness - 4 star?!!! Well, by whose rating and by what criteria - they are not even 2 star, they are "grim". A total revamp is required and the dark wood and rattan doors and fitted furniture is for the scrap heap - they are years past their sell-by date - likewise the seating in the indoor lounge areas - get rid guys or you are going to lose more business!!! The improvements to the seating and layout on the terrace since last year is wonderful, the service is great, the breakfasts (with the exception of the bacon, does anyone actually eat it?) are great, lots of variety and both indoor and outdoor dining seating areas. The wifi is practically non existent, kept disconnecting after a few moments, two English channels on the TV being Sky News and BBC World News though lots of Spanish and German channels, unfortunately I speak neither language to my chagrin, but a fortnight of the latest world news has me totally edified!!! Another whinge - having to pay €20 per week to hire the room safe - in a 4 star hotel???!!!!! And the request for €30 for a late check out time of 3 hours, in a hotel that was a long way from fully occupied, and for a room that was due to have its balcony painted that day and so was not going to be re-rented - a little wheedling and I didn't part with my €30 but, it niggled and was unacceptable given the actual circumstances and indeed, would have been mighty shortsighted as my €1500 in 2015 would definitely not have been going to the Fariones Hotel, or indeed, anywhere in the group - but, they redeemed themselves by not insisting, so, well, I shall consider, if the rooms have been revamped in the meantime. No AirCon or heating, no tea making facilities, no fridge, no English channels, no DVD player, no proper WiFi so, its important to bring plenty of reading matter and keep the fingers crossed that the weather is kind enough to allow you leave the room for the day. I found the maid service on the 7th floor excellent and a small problem with the shower was dealt with immediately by mantainence, so well done there - but, don't get hungry between 15.30 and dinnertime because there is no food, not even a sandwich available from the bar - I do think that perhaps the higher management should be treated to a few nights in an "actual" 4 star establishment I think someone at the top has got very comfortable in trading on "return business" and "location, location, location", and what about a loyalty system for returning patrons - all the best US hotel chains offer them, perhaps a little thinking outside the box is required somewhere within a managerial establishment that has apparently become a little complacent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Vivienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion Fario... D, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Vivienne G,:
We appreciate that you have forwarded your feedback about your stay that undoubtedly will help us improve. We have taken note of your comments about the bathroom and would like to inform you that the hotel has different action plans at the moment to improve it.

We reiterate our apologies for any inconvenience that might have and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards

Iñigo Martinez Berjano | Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 824 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here over Christmas and had a wonderful relaxing time. The grounds, garden and pool area really are so very pretty and comfortable and quiet. Breakfast (on the patio - we don't tolerate the interior canteen-style set-ups that typify all Lanzarote hotels) and lunch were excellent. I wouldn't bother with an evening meal here - there are too many good and proper restaurants (not canteens) nearby (Kristian's, Bozena's and don't pass by the French restaurant you will pass on a laneway as you walk towards the harbour & old town - El Marinero). Rather than slate anything, I'll just point out what needs fixing - more sockets in the room please, you have wifi but it's patchy and slow, staff in the bar/poolside restaurant could be frendlier and could serve the far extremes of the space equally. Finally can I especially recommend the masseur, my feet were crocked and he took on the challenge - what a gentleman, really knows his stuff and could not have been more helpful.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank MMLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so mucho for your commentaries in tripAdvisor page. We always support our clients to give their opinion about the hotel and services provided during their holidays, so the constructive critics are always welcome. We will do our best to top the client’s expectation and comfort. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed our gastronomy and atmosphere. We will take note of your suggestions as our principal aim is improve our establishments and facilities. Thanks as well for your comment to José. We know that he is an amazing and superb professional.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again in a near future!

Greetings from sunny Lanzarote!
Manager Fariones Hotels Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

very dissapointed, fab location but inside badly in need of renovation. reception very friendly however the bar men/waiters serving drinks very grumpy- doesent cost anything to smile :), the bar men need to go on customer relations course!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SunDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear guest:
Thank you for all your comments. We regret and apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay at this establishment and we are very sorry for not being able to satisfy your expectations. Please be sure that we will consider them in order to improve our standards of service. We are at your disposal for anything you may need.
Yours sincerely,
Fariones Hotels Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed over the Christmas week , We have stayed at the Apartment Fariones in the past ( note the Apart,s are number 12 while the Hotel is 50 in customer ratings ) Only reason we stayed here is because the Apts where full .The one star is for the pool area and grounds , first impressions didn't promise much with the worn out out tatty rattan chairs along side the reception whilst checking in , Paid over £1100 for the room which resembled something from my first Costa holiday 1978 , dark worn out furniture ,dirty carpets dust everywhere , i am sure the sofa bed is one that was taken out of the Apartments up the road 3 years ago ! Question to the management why are the Apts cleaner ,superior furnished to this 4 star hotel ? There are replys here that the Hotel rooms are due to be renewed ? There was article in the Spanish newspaper El Sol back in January 2012 , £3000000 to be spent in Spring 2012 on renewing ,bring the hotel up to date , what happened ? First night in the room my wife said she was on her way to reception to complain the bath ,shower would not drain reason being attached to the plug hole where the strands ( different colours ) 16 inches long of large clumps of hair which the maid very kindly left for me to remove , along with the two dead mosquitoes on the wall some of the staff there do not want to work !The long bathroom is lit by a small approx, 18 inch florescent bulb which doesn't so a thing for the dark brown tiles ,so for the remainder of the 6 nights my wife took her make up bag and hair brush down two floors to the receptions clean ultra modern ladies toilets ,no coincidence these are used by the two female managers ! ( well if its good enough for you two ladies its good enough for the guests ) Breakfast area is fine inside and out good choice of food , Bar area is again like stepping back in time , worn out well past its sell by date ,we called in one night only, miserable staff felt they where dong you a favour by serving you ( 14 euros for two glasses of Pimms ) We have no problem with reception staff all who are curtious and friendly but the staff on the night bar and the lunch time cafe area need to attend a public relations course . We didn't want to go back to our room after a night out nor to spend any time there at all can only be summed up as Deary Dismal Depressing , Who wants to go to bed when you can here the man in the next room shouting and coughing in his sleep all night and then the constant toilet flushes through the thin walls .This Hotel plays on its location and the fact its the only one at that end of the strip they feel they don't have to change ,update , We will put it down to a bad experience and not return there are far better at the other end .of P.D.C

Room Tip: Asked to be moved to the Apartments instead ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Good4meLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear guest:
We regret not being able to satisfy your expectations. We apologize for all the inconveniences you find and do appreciate all your comments. Please be sure that we will bear them all in mind, giving the information to the respective departments and we will consider them in order to improve our standards of service.

Yours faithfully, Manager Fariones Hotels Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel dec 2013 to bring in new year we stayed in suite 102 it was a nice room though very dark at night not enough lights we had a lovely view of the sea and you can hear the waves crashing at night lovely! Hotel staff were polite we stayed b&b and breakfast was good if I was to go again I would ask for a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool as we did not get any sunshine on our balcony it was not a big deal as there are plenty of places to sit in the sun
There is not much in the way of entertainment but there are lots of bars about a five minute walk away and a ten minute walk to the lovely old town a really central hotel for everything and no hills

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paddy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Guest:
Thanks for choosing Fariones Hotel and for your confidence in our establishments. We are very pleased to know that you felt well care as you deserved. In Fariones we offer great facilities for relaxing holiday; our terraces and common areas are beautiful and comforting places and we are happy to see that you have enjoyed so much. We will pass your comments to our animation team as our principal aim is to improve daily. We are looking forward to your next visit here and we are hoping that it is going to be soon. Yours sincerely, Manager Fariones Hotels Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Public areas are excellent, however rooms are shabby and unkempt with inadequate cleaning. We were extremely disappointed having paid in excess of £1,200.00 for one week's stay commencing 27 December 2013. The hotel does not hold a candle to the Suite Hotel, which we had the opportunity to visit, which enjoyed not only pleasant public areas but also bright clean and modern living quarters.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank 344RaymondN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear client:
First of all, thank you for your review here in TripAdvisor page. We are very sorry to receive your commentaries relating your accommodation in Fariones hotels. For us it is very important to know the impression of our guests and for your words you did not like your rooms as you deserve. We hope you can give us the opportunity to change your opinion in the future, we remain.
Yours sincerely, Management Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

my husband and myself have just returned from the hotel fariones where we stayed for christmas
and the new year It was our first visit to this lovely hotel and we were very impressed the staff were all very pleasant and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.our room was lovely
with a large wardrobe and overlooked the swimming pool,palm trees and the sea, in fact all the bedrooms have a sea view .we stayed half board and the food was excellent.and the gala dinners on Chrismas eve and New years eve really exceptional with a vast variety of food.The hotel is central for bars,shops and restaurants and also for catching buses for visits to other resorts.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good holiday in a pleasant location

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bienvenido s, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear clients:
Thanks a lot for your great comments in tripAdvisor and thank you so much for the time you take to express your feelings in Fariones Hotel. We celebrate that you feel well taken care in Fariones. Thank you as well for your commentaries relating to Christmas and New Year eve gala dinner; we are very happy to know that you have enjoyed our gastronomy and services. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future, we remain.
Yours sincerely, Management Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
#15 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
719 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#26 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,936 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
615 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Fariones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Fariones Hotel

Address: Calle Roque del Este 1, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £417 - £821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Fariones Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located right on the beachfront and is set in wonderful gardens full of native plant species and also has direct access to the crystalline waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Los Fariones Hotel is in the best-known corner of Puerto del Carmen, the tourist area par excellence. Get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and come and stay at the Los Fariones Hotel where you can enjoy an excellent holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Los Fariones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fariones Lanzarote
Fariones Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel Los Fariones
Los Fariones Puerto Del Carmen
Los Fariones Hotel Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing