We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely,lovely,lovely”
Review of Los Fariones Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Fariones Hotel
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

this is the second time we have stayed at the fariones and haveno issues. our room was large with a fridge and had a bottle of water and two chocolates on arrival. yes they may need updating but they are very clean and looked after plus we dont spend much time there anyway prefering to be out and about. a bonus was there was bbc and itv channels which i dont think was available last year if you wish to watch. we were half board and food was very good and plenty of choice for everyone. we loved to take our coffee outside after breakfast and relax on patio area. the restaurant manager was very hands on and friendly and we had no issue with other staff. yes some are more friendly than others, thats life, but no one was rude which cannot always be said for all guests .the staff, including the security guy were fine and if you had a query everyone was helpful.the location is ideal for old town on walking left out of hotel or to the right for a pleasant walk along prom with restaurants and shops. we were not leaving hotel til 6pm but had a curtesy room at our disposal when we needed it with no pressures. the whole hotel has a calm relaxing feel and we would revisit

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arizonaDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion Fario... D, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your positive review concerning your recent visit here at the Hotel Los Fariones.

With delight we read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us. This is exactly what we try to achieve with every single guest, as we know that holidays are a special time one keeps in fond memory.

With renewed thanks for taking the time to share your experience and recommending our hotel here on Tripadvisor; we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you again for your special comments.

Kind regards,

Iñigo Martinez Berjano | Manager | Fariones Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Probably the best beachfront position in Puerto Del Carmen.Reception staff were welcoming and very friendly .My room and bathroom had been recently refurbished and the sea views were superb.Room was comfortable although maybe a little fridge and kettlle wouldnt go wrong.The chambermaid was very friendly and kept the room spotlessly clean although I think at least one change of towels should be provided for a stay of one week.The gardens and grounds are fantastic and well maintained with the addition of your own little beach .Breakfast was buffet style The food was good and the choice was plentiful. and dining room staff again very friendly.Restaurants and bars are plentiful nearby if you dont want to eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mghisleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion Fario... D, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Mghisleo:
Thank you very much for your positive review concerning your recent visit here at the Hotel Los Fariones.
With delight we read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us. This is exactly what we try to achieve with every single guest, as we know that holidays are a special time one keeps in fond memory.
With renewed thanks for taking the time to share your experience and recommending our hotel here on Tripadvisor; we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Iñigo Martinez | Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

There are a number of negative reviews of this hotel but don't let that put you off as the positives far out weigh the negatives. Yes the bedrooms need upgrading as does the bathroom but both are very clean and are of average size. The room needs a fridge/mini bar, airconditioning,( it was always 21degrees) and a tea maker, but was comfortable with a flat screen TV. The balcony is large with cast iron furniture and all face south and overlook the gardens/pool to the sea. We had a room at the old town end of the hotel which also overlooked the beach, the view was great. The chambermaid dealing with room 553 not only did a good job but was very friendly and cheerful
The outstanding feature of the hotel is its position and the garden and private beach which is ideal for young children. The hotel grounds are totally private and cannot be overlooked by anyone not a guest. The gardens do not have any grass but have black volcanic ash which is swept daily by the 2 gardeners, and the grounds are as clean as the rooms
In addition to the pool area there are 2 other sun bathing areas with plenty of sunbeds, although those around the pool were fully utilised, possibly because this area provided some shelter from the strong wind
Breakfast is the usual hot and cold buffet with plenty of cava if you like that so early. We were on B&B basis so cannot comment upon dinner. There is a very comfortable terrace for drinks during the day and a good selection of snacks up to 15:30. There are 2 good restaurants within a 5 minute walk whilst a 15 minute walk takes you to the old town where there are lots of quality restaurants all serving excellent fish
There is only one lift but this never seemed to be a problem. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and provided assistance with luggage for those unable to deal with it themselves. You have to purchase a key for the safe and they provide poo towels which can only be changed every 2 days.
Evening entertainment is very low key, mostly just a pianist although there was a good duo providing latin american numbers and a jazz pianist who played some good Duke Ellington numbers. It was easy to get a drink from the bar staff without having to go to the bar

Room Tip: Ask for a room down the old town end of the hotel overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank briangBaildon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion Fario... D, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear BriangBaildon:

On behalf of the entire team of the Hotel Los Fariones, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Lanzarote.

We appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us because your coments teaches us how to enrich our services.

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and, once again, thank you for staying with us.

Best personal regards from Lanzarote

Iñigo Martinez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A great disappointment. Firstly the good....The location, the pool the terrace and the beach are perfect. The rooms are dismal and have fittings from the 60s ....this is classed as a 4 star hotel. There is no Porter service to help with luggage. There is no heating, no airconditioning no WiFi, the beds are very very uncomfortable, with one hard flat pillow. The walls are very thin and everything can be heard. There are no tea making facilities there is no fridge or minibar. No room service. 2 English stations only on tv, sky news and euro news. A small terrace. The average age of the clientele was around 80 and nobody intermingled with anyone else. The place is laughable and reminds me of a cross between 2 films, One flew over the Cuckoos nest and Shaun of the dead. I love the old folk, I nearly am one, but the atmosphere is more akin to a Care home. The staff can be confused with being miserable but we speakSpanish and we got on fine. Never again.I have no doubt the Manager will reply with the usual,"we have made note of ..bla bla bla" nothing will change, its tbe worst 4 star I have experienced, ever...If you want to stay in this location then use the Fariones Suites Hotel opposite. I have to say, all the Restaurants serving steaks etc are fantastic, they use either Argentinian, Brazilian or Uruguian

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
9  Thank montgorhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My parents stayed her over 30 years ago, when it was a superb hotel with an alacarte menu.
The problem that exists, here like most 4 and 5 star hotels in most Spanish resorts, is Buffet Buffet Buffet, clients are getting fed up with walking around hotel dining rooms with a plate along with 200 other people, if I go out for a meal in the uk, we don't expect a buffet meal, so why should we now expect it when we are spending allot of hard earned cash on a holiday.
The plus factor is book BB , and you will find some excellent restaurants, within 5mins walk.
The hotels location is great, right on the waterfront, comfortable loungers around the pool and really clean grounds.
Like others have mentioned the bedrooms lack, aircon, tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge, now run of the mill in 4 star hotels.
Always a long wait for drinks on the terrace and in the bar area, staff always stressed and had trouble providing a good service as there were never enough of them.
I think this hotel relies on regular repeat customers, as the age group is most definatly 65-85 age group during the winter months, at first we thought we had booked an old people's home!!

But it's excellent location, beachfront position and clean grounds would not stop me returning.
Hopefully the things mentioned will be improved on.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent sea views, ask for a 5th floor room and not above restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion Fario... D, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Ian G.:
Thank you for your review about Hotel Los Fariones and for giving us your feedback, which we really appreciate and take into account.

Please accept my most sincere apologies for all the inconveniences caused because of the buffet service. We would like to inform you that we have over check our services standar, to avoid the same inconvenience in the future and be able to provide an excellent stay to all our guests.

Thanking you again for your time and your comment, Yours sincerely,


Kindest regards,

Íñigo Martínez
Manager
Hotel Los Fariones
C/ Roque del Este, 1 • 35510 • Puerto del Carmen • Lanzarote

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

You could have a first rate hotel if only your waiting and bar staff took a leaf out of the maids book at this hotel. The ladies who cleaned the rooms were lovely, smiley and chatty. The waiting and bar staff were surly, made no eye contact and need a lesson in customer service. (The men particularly). I can appreciate they were very busy and can only presume they did not have enough staff and were overworked but please don't take it out on the holidaymakers. Everything else was very good. The food, the rooms but no tea/ coffee facilities lets you down and especially as I have special tea and was charged €1.80 for a cup of hot water and made to feel as if I was trying to cheat the system just about topped it. I will say again it could be a great hotel. But ........

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jersey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion Fario... D, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Jersey10:

Thank you very much for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services and staff of our Hotel during your recent stay with us.

At Hotel Los Fariones it is our aim to cover the expectations of our guests and it is most inspiring for all members of our team to accomplish it with success.

However, some aspects of our hotel, like the Bar Service, seems not to be as good as you expected.

We have taken note of your comments about that and would like to inform you that the hotel has an action plans at the moment to improve it.

Please accept my most sincere apologies for all the inconveniences caused

Thanking you again for your time and your comment, I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Yours sincerely,

Iñigo Martinez Berjano | Director | Hotel Los Fariones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to lanzorate for many years and always planned one day to stay in this hotel. To be honest we were very disappointed. Firstly the room was very basic and no better that a 3 star accommodation. The balcony was very tight and the angle of the exterior walls co fined our view. We never spent one night on the balcony which is very unusual. The breakfast was fairly basic but ok. Entertainment throughout the 7 nights was suitable for over 70's age group. After calling into the fariones plaza we wish we had of stayed there instead. Patrick

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Patrickbelfast32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion Fario... D, Gerente at Los Fariones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Patrick:

On behalf of the entire team of the Hotel Los Fariones, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Lanzarote.

We appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us because your coments teaches us how to enrich our services.

Thank you again for your special comments.

Kind regards,

Iñigo Martinez | Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
#14 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
706 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,729 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
471 reviews
1.6 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#27 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Fariones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Fariones Hotel

Address: Calle Roque del Este 1, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £406 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Fariones Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located right on the beachfront and is set in wonderful gardens full of native plant species and also has direct access to the crystalline waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Los Fariones Hotel is in the best-known corner of Puerto del Carmen, the tourist area par excellence. Get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and come and stay at the Los Fariones Hotel where you can enjoy an excellent holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Los Fariones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fariones Lanzarote
Fariones Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel Los Fariones
Los Fariones Puerto Del Carmen
Los Fariones Hotel Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing