We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Fantastic Cheap as Chips Holiday'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luz y Mar Apartments
Ranked #47 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed 6 March 2012

These apartments are basic but spotlessly clean. Reception has limited opening times but staff are very helpful. Apartment cleaned only once during our 7nt stay but the complex is only a 2 star. The apartment had sufficient utensils and a good lay out. Only negatives are slot tv approx 1hr for 1Euro, only two British channels and the beds are hard but the positives of the apartment complex out-weigh the negatives. The pool area is very pleasant with plenty of sunbeds. There is a pool bar which is very reasonable and well run. There are two supermarkets within 5 mins of the apts. Spar to the left and Hippo Dino to the right. Spar being the cheaper of the two. The Biosfera shopping complex is about 5 mins to the left of the apts with top stores such as Mango, Zara etc. Lots of souvenier shops close by also. 15 min walk leads you to the sea front with loads of restaraunts bars & shops. All prices are quite cheap a large beer 1.50 - 2 Euro and meals from as little as 5 Euro. The Harbour is possibly the same distance. Again the prices are low considering the beautiful view looking out to sea.
These apartments are good value for money but dont expect 4star for the price you pay or you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool but if you have walking difficulties or have young children I would suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mcg198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

This was our third visit to these apartments and we still love it. The are basic but just what we need for a quiet, cheap break. Olga, linda and Liam in the pool bar were, as usual brilliant and Are a font of knowledge on all things lanzarote. The food is good too and the sangria...best on the island. Make sure you visit blairs restaurant just across the road....great food, lovely people. The restaurant next does is also fantastic...quintins..a lot more expensive and a bit pretentious but food is fantastic...go on try both. I say this every time....make sure you take a hair dryer...the only thing lacking but a disaster if you don't have one . The whole feel of the place is restful and laid back....can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Ask for poolside...they're best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank junieclooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Have just returned from 2 weeks at the Luz Y Mar and can honestly say there was nothing to fault. Our key was taped to the reception door but a couple of simple precautions in the apartment before going to bed meant that we felt safe enough. Reception was open all week and half day Saturday and any problems were sorted out within a few minutes. Maybe because we stayed during the quiet period, our room was cleaned every three days and there was no problem with insects (apart from a couple of cockroaches one day). We had a lovely time, the apartment complex was fairly quiet, the pool was freezing tho. People at the pool bar lovely. Would certainly go back at the same time or slightly earlier

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebbieB732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The apartments got off to a slightly rocky start. When we arrived we discovered envelopes taped to the door of reception with the guests names and apartment numbers written on them. Not a good security measure, as one couple's envelope went missing. A map was inside with the apartment marked-it was clearly done, however if anyone was in difficulty there was no one there to speak to in person until the following morning. They do have contact numbers up in the apartments though. Do check the opening times in reception-the hours are quite limited. On saying that, when we booked trips and transfer confirmations the receptionist was very helpful and sorted everything out for us.

The apartments themselves are spacious and clean. Each has its own patio area with tables and chairs, perfect for sitting out and enjoying a jug of sangria in the evenings. There is a tv and plenty of items for cooking. The supermarket is a quick walk away and very well-stocked. The ladies an gentleman who run the pool bar are lovely and serve a gorgeous sangria! They do really good and cheap food and we ate there a lot during the week. Very convenient as you don't need to leave the complex. Do ask them for restaurant recommendations as their suggestions proved to be gems! The restaurant just at the entrance is a must-absolutely gorgeous food and the waiter is very entertaining. Make sure you bring an appetite as you won't want to leave anything on the plate!

The pool area is nice, its centrally located in the complex and has plenty of sun loungers on offer. The radio is normally on at the pool bar, but its not too loud and doesn't disturb the relaxing atmosphere-just background music. Its a very short walk to the shopping centre which is the main pick up place for excursions, and if you love shoes definitely go in!
Apart from the unusual method of providing the keys at the beginning, I couldn't really fault the place. Its relaxing, laid-back, and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Keep the windows closed at night to avoid bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sall3rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Myself and a friend recently stayed at the Luz y Mar for a week holiday. Our aim was simple: Relax! Apartments were clean, although don't leave the bathroom window open at night as this is an invitation for cockroaches (as is the case in most hotels in warmer climates.) Other than that there wasn't much problem with insects. The pool bar was such a blessing. I have some dietary constraints and everyone was so good about it when I ate there (practically every day because it was so handy). They even recommended a fabulous restaurant for us to go to. The pool was cleaned once in the week and the apartment once also. Which was enough as neither were particularly unclean and we weren't expecting the apartment to be cleaned at all.

The reception is somewhat lacking. We arrived on a Sunday to find out keys in envelopes cellotaped to the reception door. They could have easily gone missing, which is exactly what happened to one couple. When we went to reception the next day we weren't given much information by the receptionist but we found our way around with ease so didn't think too much of it. There is no reception on the weekends so make sure you book your return trips to the airport on the Friday.

The hotel is tucked behind some restaurants next to a larger hotel complex but you don't feel overlooked by it at all. It's positioned perfectly for sunshine, after all that's exactly what we were after! The first restaurant on the right when you come out of the apartments is absolutely gorgeous with the most friendly waiter in the world. Couldn't have asked for more!

Room Tip: Close the bathroom windows to avoid cockroaches getting in as the bars are very spaced out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Excellent position - small and friendly - the bar beside the pool was excellent for snacks and cold lagers etc. Some of the apartments in Luz y Mar are rented by locals who live there permanently but they were not staring at us by the pool and make us feel uncomfortable as you may have been lead to believe by a previous reviewer (as if they haven't got better things to do) - everyone was friendly.

I believe, although Luz y Mar is rather tired and in need of some love and attention it wasn't half as bad as I was expecting - I, too, think people have unnecessarily slated these apartments - its "Budget" accommodation not 5 star, 4 or even 3. The cleaner came twice whilst we were there and changed the sheets and towels, washed the floors etc. I saw the guy cleaning the pool most mornings, you have to be up early to catch him though about 7.00 - he takes samples of the swimming pool water every day. The beds were not very comfortable but hey, for 10 days I could cope for the money I paid.

The reception not open of a weekend but when open very helpful - a couple of light bulbs blew whilst we were there and were changed almost straight away. The ground floor does suffer from bugs etc and cockroaches (normally saw 1 cockroach every day inside the apartment (who knows I may have been seeing the same one all holiday). Our friends were on the second floor and didn't encounter any bugs, ants or cockroaches.

I would defo return as would our friends who we travelled with.

Room Tip: If scared of bugs opt for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Clapton_Jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Excellent little complex ,we took previous reviews on board and took ant n cockroach powder ,treated room first day not that we saw any sign of cockroaches but we were upper floor n have been told its mainly ground floor ,took our rubbish to big bins just outside complex regularly had no creepy crawly problems.pool bar was brilliant good food cheaply priced n olga n linda were lovely n full of info.pool does get cleaned regularly normally between 7am n 9am saw it being done ourselves .we were short of cutlery n a pan went to reception wasnt a problem got brand new ones ,reception is open mon to fri about 9 till 4pm .our key was taped to reception door in envelope but it was a security key no ones going to cut one of them .apartments basic but cleaned sat n wed clean towels n t towels which we werent expecting would definately return..

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have a spacious balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TracyOfHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#21 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pueblos Apartments
Los Pueblos Apartments
#67 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#26 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vista Mar Apartments
Vista Mar Apartments
#32 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rocas Blancas Apartments
Rocas Blancas Apartments
#58 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Las Lomas
Atlantis Las Lomas
#36 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz y Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz y Mar Apartments

Address: C/ Juan Carlos 18, 35509 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £36 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Luz y Mar Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Luz y Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz y Mar Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Luz y Mar Apartments Matagorda
Luz y Mar Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing