We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for, and a tiny bit more” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luz y Mar Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Luz y Mar Apartments
Ranked #51 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Birmingham U.K.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for, and a tiny bit more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

First the down side:- we arrived at night on Sunday and reception was closed, and we found out that the key was at the restaurant next door. However the Restaurant manager saw us and brought us the key. Because the rooms are numbered in a haphazard way we could not find the room we were allocated because we looked in a logical manner. Eventually we found it, it was not where the map said it was. On entering we found out that the lavatory was not clean - it certainly could use a new seat. The beds could be more comfortable. That said, lets get positive. Receptionists were helpful. Location is excellent. The ground floor balcony lets you get plenty of sun. The pool looked inviting and it had a bar/snack facility. Also the price was very reasonable. Would recommend if you are going to use it as a jumping off base.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patbermac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    77
    44
    12
    6
See reviews for
49
85
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

stayed in room 13 ground floor good size lounge and bedroom very clean could do with a lick of paint but ok for the price thanks too santos at the kazz bar at the front of the apartments and to liam at the pool bar will be returning next year

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashley_wheeler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived on the Saturday afternoon & were quickly booked in, After a quick visit to the shops we went down too the pool which we did everyday & never had any problems getting a bed, The rooms are 2-3 star but for what we paid we were happy with the rooms, The rooms were clean & comfy with everything we needed to make a meal in the kitchen which we only did at lunchtime so we could get right back out in the sun, We had the rooms 25 & 26 and after 10am the room's balcony got the sun all day, The pool bar was very welcome & saved us having to run up to our room for a drink.

I would recommend this room if you want a cheap week away in the sun.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank darkmagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed for the month of June. Good size, roomy space on quiet complax, close to all ammenities. Mixture of holiday and residential residents, which makes it a more realistic enviroment, rarther than purely a holiday resort. Not 5 star, but adequate for my needs, staying for a month. Facilities enough for me to prepare a meal for 5 and obtain Michalin stars for my creation. Would recommend the apartments and I am returning in December for a longer spell.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffgb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, South West Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have recently returned from a 10 night stay at the Luz Y Mar apartments.

We stayed in upper apartment, No.21. The 1 bedroom apartments are a great size. Good open plan kitchen/lounge area. Kitchen had fridge/kettle/toaster/4ring electric hob and various cooking utensils, more than adequate for putting together snacks and simple meals. Bathroom, again was a good size, complete with bath and over bath shower. Large double bedroom with twin beds, dressing table, bedside table and large wardrobe. (I think we were lucky as we had two proper thick mattresses on our beds. Others we spoke to complained of rather thin, campbed-like mattresses!) The balcony was a great size, overlooking the pool and caught the sun all day and was complete with patio table & 2 chairs. There was also a concertina style clothes dryer/airer attached to the wall. The apartment was cleaned twice during our 10nite stay and towels/linen were changed both times.

The complex is very quiet (if you're looking for 18-30's holiday, this is not the place for you!) There is a pool bar and its usually open about 10/11am until about 10pm, but if there are a few of you there in the evening, Liam will keep the drinks flowing (I think Liam maybe leaving, so he will be sorely missed!)

Apartments are in a great location, between the Old Town and New Town of Puerto Del Carmen. Right outside the apartments are a couple of supermarkets and a Spar! All very reasonably priced. (I will not be taking any toiletries next time as I'll just buy everything I need when I get there.)
There are also a couple of very good restaurants just outside, namely, O'Churassco and Blairs. (My husband said the Duck in Blairs was the best he'd ever had and I totally recommend the steak at O'Churassco!)

Head down the hill and at the roundabout turn left to go to the New Town/Strip/beach. Its a typical 'Strip'. Lots of bars/restaurants/souveneir shops and 'touts' trying to drag you in every couple of steps. We visited it once, that was enough! The beach was lovely. Clean, wide and gently shelving. There appeared to be lots of different watersports to try.

If you go straight through at the roundabout, on your left you will see The Drunken Monkey bar. Pop in and say "Hi" to Flo. Lovely French lady who speaks perfect English. She does ice cold beers, great cocktails and very large spirit measures!! Follow the road down and you're in the Old Town. Keep going and you'll find yourself at the harbour area. Lots of lovely restaurants overlooking the sea. We liked Oceano, for a cold beer and light snack and just watch the world go by. You can get the Watertaxi from the harbour, round to Puerto Calero. Takes about 15 mins and only €10 each return. Calero has a beautiful marina and lots of designer shops, so if shopping is your thing, its definitely worth a visit!

Also worth a visit is Fuertuventura. Ferries leave regularly from Playa Blanca and are only €23pp rtn. The bus from Puerto Del Carmen to Playa Blanca runs every 20 mins (you get it outside the Biosfera Shopping Centre at the roundabout) and is about €6 pp each way, however, as we went with a couple of girls who were staying at the apartments and fancied the trip too, we got a taxi which was €30 inc tip, and took about 20-25mins.

This was our first time in Lanzarote and loved it so much we've already booked to go back and stay at Luz Y Mar in Feb '14.

I've rated it 4/5 as the apartments are a little tired looking and could do with a wee spruce up, but that is the only negative in my opinion.

My husband and I totally recommend the Luz Y Mar Apartments and the resort of Puerto Del Carmen for a relaxed, chilled out holiday.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank MrsMurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

we stayed at the luz y mar aparts,from the 11th sept,to the 25th,room 22,was cheap and cheerfull,basic,bed linen could have done with changing more often,and could do with a lick of paint,bit noisey early in the morning as bed window was next to the street,cars starting up.ideal position not to severe a walk,situated between old and new town,nice small and friendly bars,restaraunts 100meters away,which were very good,pity about the stinking bins 100 meters further on,go to the tiny bar towards los pocillios,a little bit of a good english bar,the inn place good as ever.w.h.u....tim,sara,.....yeovil.

Room Tip: overall room average,maybe a bit quieter around other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIMOTHY c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Me and my husband stayed at the Luz y Mar Apartments in Puerto del Carmen from the 4th September for 1week self catering. Found the holiday on travel republic for just over £400 for 2 of us. Bargain as we were looking for something cheap and cheerful. We only took hand luggage each as we thought we would just buy all essentials we needed at a local supermarket (Ryanair wanted £70 per case pp - no chance!). Best thing we did as there was a Spar supermarket literally over the road for everything you need. I never seem to travel light but I can ensure you I had plenty of room for everything I needed which shocked even me!

Flight was rushed which is the norm for Ryanair but you get what you pay for. Added transfers when booked holiday which was just under £18 for 2 of us return which seemed reasonable. Only about 15-20 minutes from airport to apartments.

Arrived at apartments about 1pm. Went straight to reception where they welcomed us and checked us in straight away. Staff were pleasant and gave us all the necessary information we needed. Purchased a safe which cost 2€ per day with a deposit of 6€ which you get back. Additional extras can also be purchased such as hair dryers, fans, etc.

We were allocated apartment 2 which was a ground floor pool view room. I did ask for a 1st floor apartment when booked but this was fine as it opened straight out to pool area. The apartments are basic with sofa seating area with pull out bed. Kitchenette has fridge freezer, 2 ring hob, microwave, pots, pans plates, glassware, toaster and kettle. Didn't use kettle as seemed bit grubby and full of lime scale so just heated bottled water on hob which was fine. Bedroom was 2 single beds which were very uncomfortable. Me and hubby took the pull out mattress and cushion from sofa bed and put on top of beds which helped. Safe is located in wardrobe at bottom which is a bit of back breaker to get to. Bathroom in need of updating and some much needed DIY! Bath had moved and come away from walls and when you showered it moved with you!

Cleaner only came once during our stay so only had towels changed once, would of liked them changed more. Sheets not changed in week but beds where made and floors swept and moped.

Pool area is small but more than enough beds and sunbathing spots for everyone. Was never overcrowded while we were there but don't think resort was fully occupied. Some of the apartments have permanent residents occupying them. There is a pool bar which seemed to open different times and not everyday. Although it seemed nice enough we opted to purchase our drinks and snacks from local spar as it was cheaper. The pool bar seemed to do this too and just put bottled drinks in cold glasses rather then use draft beer/fizzy drinks.

The main strip of Puerto del Carmen (new town) was about 700m from apartment which was all downhill so could be difficult for some to walk to. Plenty of bars to choose from all offering variety of deals and offers. Lots of people trying to get you in their bars but nothing too harassing. We recommend Ruta 66 as had good atmosphere and good offers - 4 bottles Sol beer for 10€, cocktails 5€. Plenty of restaurants to choose from again with different offers - recommend Enjoy Asian Restaurant. Nice tasty meal and reasonably priced. Had a lovely McDonalds after few too many beers too just down road from apartments!

The harbour (old town) was about 500m away, again all down hill. Has some lovely restaurants overlooking the sea. We tried Los Marinas which was nice for seafood. Sangria lovely too!

Best part of our stay was visiting Bozena's restaurant in the old town. It is a polish/Irish restaurant. Food is some of the best food we have ever eaten. So good we went twice! Ribs starter was fabulous as was the sizzling garlic prawns. The zbojnik beef stroganoff served in a potato pancake was fantastic! Atmosphere was beautiful and staff friendly. Bo the owner is so lovely and welcoming. Prices bit on high side but definitely worth it. Look at Bozena's website for menu.

Overall our stay was lovely, few things could of been better such as more clean towels, sturdier bath, some of the outer areas of resort could be cleaner but we still had fab time and may even return next year. If cheap and cheerful is your thing then this place will be right up your street. We have been to 5* resorts but never expected this to be same. If you don't expect 4 or even 3*, you will have great time. These apartments are a great base for getting out and about.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank franny82brum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Los Pueblos Apartments
Los Pueblos Apartments
#53 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Las Lomas
Atlantis Las Lomas
#37 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vista Mar Apartments
Vista Mar Apartments
#36 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#30 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerto Carmen
Hotel Puerto Carmen
#57 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#28 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz y Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz y Mar Apartments

Property: Luz y Mar Apartments
Address: C/ Juan Carlos 18, 35509 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Luz y Mar Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Luz y Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz y Mar Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Luz y Mar Apartments Matagorda
Luz y Mar Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing