We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPOT ON”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luz y Mar Apartments
Ranked #48 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed 3 December 2013

just arrived back lovely holiday lux y mar very nice apartment 25 overlooking pool asked for new frying pan and extra pillows no problem. maids in every couple of days with fresh towels beds changed twice while we were away. No problems with ants as we put all food away and had clean work tops. Receptionist very friendly and helpful. Hac some nice meals on harbour. Had a nice trip on boat to Porto Cairo lovely harbour and small market

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Luz y Mar Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I was very pleased with the apartments. You get what you pay for, simple basic apartment's but have everything you need. It was clean so I was happy. The pool bar man was very nice and helped us get the best of the island. He suggested brilliant restaurant's and excursions. Liam definitely made our holiday miles better with his advice! Beer is cheap, haven't tried his food. Maybe could offer more than a breakfast? My only complaint is the reception. She doesnt open very long hours and the day we wanted to leave she wasn't there so had to wait half an hour for her to arrive, making us late for our taxi which was waiting. Overall brilliant stay!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

First the down side:- we arrived at night on Sunday and reception was closed, and we found out that the key was at the restaurant next door. However the Restaurant manager saw us and brought us the key. Because the rooms are numbered in a haphazard way we could not find the room we were allocated because we looked in a logical manner. Eventually we found it, it was not where the map said it was. On entering we found out that the lavatory was not clean - it certainly could use a new seat. The beds could be more comfortable. That said, lets get positive. Receptionists were helpful. Location is excellent. The ground floor balcony lets you get plenty of sun. The pool looked inviting and it had a bar/snack facility. Also the price was very reasonable. Would recommend if you are going to use it as a jumping off base.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patbermac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

stayed in room 13 ground floor good size lounge and bedroom very clean could do with a lick of paint but ok for the price thanks too santos at the kazz bar at the front of the apartments and to liam at the pool bar will be returning next year

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashley_wheeler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived on the Saturday afternoon & were quickly booked in, After a quick visit to the shops we went down too the pool which we did everyday & never had any problems getting a bed, The rooms are 2-3 star but for what we paid we were happy with the rooms, The rooms were clean & comfy with everything we needed to make a meal in the kitchen which we only did at lunchtime so we could get right back out in the sun, We had the rooms 25 & 26 and after 10am the room's balcony got the sun all day, The pool bar was very welcome & saved us having to run up to our room for a drink.

I would recommend this room if you want a cheap week away in the sun.

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank darkmagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed for the month of June. Good size, roomy space on quiet complax, close to all ammenities. Mixture of holiday and residential residents, which makes it a more realistic enviroment, rarther than purely a holiday resort. Not 5 star, but adequate for my needs, staying for a month. Facilities enough for me to prepare a meal for 5 and obtain Michalin stars for my creation. Would recommend the apartments and I am returning in December for a longer spell.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank geoffgb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have recently returned from a 10 night stay at the Luz Y Mar apartments.

We stayed in upper apartment, No.21. The 1 bedroom apartments are a great size. Good open plan kitchen/lounge area. Kitchen had fridge/kettle/toaster/4ring electric hob and various cooking utensils, more than adequate for putting together snacks and simple meals. Bathroom, again was a good size, complete with bath and over bath shower. Large double bedroom with twin beds, dressing table, bedside table and large wardrobe. (I think we were lucky as we had two proper thick mattresses on our beds. Others we spoke to complained of rather thin, campbed-like mattresses!) The balcony was a great size, overlooking the pool and caught the sun all day and was complete with patio table & 2 chairs. There was also a concertina style clothes dryer/airer attached to the wall. The apartment was cleaned twice during our 10nite stay and towels/linen were changed both times.

The complex is very quiet (if you're looking for 18-30's holiday, this is not the place for you!) There is a pool bar and its usually open about 10/11am until about 10pm, but if there are a few of you there in the evening, Liam will keep the drinks flowing (I think Liam maybe leaving, so he will be sorely missed!)

Apartments are in a great location, between the Old Town and New Town of Puerto Del Carmen. Right outside the apartments are a couple of supermarkets and a Spar! All very reasonably priced. (I will not be taking any toiletries next time as I'll just buy everything I need when I get there.)
There are also a couple of very good restaurants just outside, namely, O'Churassco and Blairs. (My husband said the Duck in Blairs was the best he'd ever had and I totally recommend the steak at O'Churassco!)

Head down the hill and at the roundabout turn left to go to the New Town/Strip/beach. Its a typical 'Strip'. Lots of bars/restaurants/souveneir shops and 'touts' trying to drag you in every couple of steps. We visited it once, that was enough! The beach was lovely. Clean, wide and gently shelving. There appeared to be lots of different watersports to try.

If you go straight through at the roundabout, on your left you will see The Drunken Monkey bar. Pop in and say "Hi" to Flo. Lovely French lady who speaks perfect English. She does ice cold beers, great cocktails and very large spirit measures!! Follow the road down and you're in the Old Town. Keep going and you'll find yourself at the harbour area. Lots of lovely restaurants overlooking the sea. We liked Oceano, for a cold beer and light snack and just watch the world go by. You can get the Watertaxi from the harbour, round to Puerto Calero. Takes about 15 mins and only €10 each return. Calero has a beautiful marina and lots of designer shops, so if shopping is your thing, its definitely worth a visit!

Also worth a visit is Fuertuventura. Ferries leave regularly from Playa Blanca and are only €23pp rtn. The bus from Puerto Del Carmen to Playa Blanca runs every 20 mins (you get it outside the Biosfera Shopping Centre at the roundabout) and is about €6 pp each way, however, as we went with a couple of girls who were staying at the apartments and fancied the trip too, we got a taxi which was €30 inc tip, and took about 20-25mins.

This was our first time in Lanzarote and loved it so much we've already booked to go back and stay at Luz Y Mar in Feb '14.

I've rated it 4/5 as the apartments are a little tired looking and could do with a wee spruce up, but that is the only negative in my opinion.

My husband and I totally recommend the Luz Y Mar Apartments and the resort of Puerto Del Carmen for a relaxed, chilled out holiday.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank MrsMurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pueblos Apartments
Los Pueblos Apartments
#66 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
#46 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vista Mar Apartments
Vista Mar Apartments
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plaza Azul
Plaza Azul
#40 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#24 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz y Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz y Mar Apartments

Address: C/ Juan Carlos 18, 35509 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £33 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Luz y Mar Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Luz y Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz y Mar Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Luz y Mar Apartments Matagorda
Luz y Mar Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing