We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Christmas and New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Marcial Apartments
Ranked #41 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Heckmondwike
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely Christmas and New Year”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday staying at San Marciel and have had a great relaxing week chilling out by the pool. We arrived on Christmas Day where we collected our keys from the Bar as reception was closed until 5pm but this was not a problem. We could even have had Christmas Dinner if we had wanted. The bar staff are very pleasant and helpful with a great sense of humour. The appartments are very clean and spacious, shower was always warm and the pool areas was very clean with plenty of sunbeds. We had lunch most days in the bar and the menu is varied and good value for money. It is in good location with the Commercail Cenre only a short walk away with some nice bars and restaurants. Would definately recommend.

Room Tip: We styaed in room 106 which overlooked the pool but was not in the sun for most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenHeckmondwike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    180
    79
    26
    22
See reviews for
163
206
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ACorr68
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Just got back from San Marcial for a winter sun break over Christmas.
Overall impression was good, nice large apartment with bright airy bedroom, good firm beds and balcony overlooking pool with sun most of the day into the evening.
The kitchen was poorly equiped with mismatching cups, plates & only 2 glasses of different sizes but we were able to prepare simple breakfasts and salads for lunch.
Arrived 23rd late on so didn't have a shower that evening, next day no real water pressure but persevered with it but had to report lack of shower on Xmas day, no-one there to fix it but we didn't really expect someone to come out on Xmas day but Jose turned up 9.30 Boxing day, looked at and said be back in 10 minutes, we never saw him that day so reported the shower again. This time he put on new shower head, not good as it wasn't a faulty shower head it was a complete lack of water pressure and the pump doesn't work - I could go on but to cut a long story short we DID NOT have a warm shower the whole week we were there.
Even though the apartment and complex were nice the lack of a hot/warm shower really lets this place down so would not go back or recommend.

Room Tip: try your shower first room 164 the shower doesn't work !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACorr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have just returned from an excellent week at the San Marcial apartments in Matagorda. Being a 2 star rating under Thomson's I was a bit wary, but need not have been concerned.
A 10 minute coach transfer and we were at the apartments, we received a lovely welcome at reception and were given a ground floor room 129. We do not usually like ground floor but this worked out perfectly as the sun was on the patio from 8.30am to 6.00pm, perfect for sun bathing. The room was very clean, only things missing were a kettle an a toaster, we went back to reception and they immediately supplied them and additional coathangers which we requested.The aircraft noise was not an issue, and we actually ended up enjoying watching the planes coming in.The apartments were very quiet and the pool area was also kept very clean and there were allways sunbeds available.There is also a supermarket and bakery below the apartments, the coisants are superb!!
Only negative was that the beds are very soft!!
The resort of Matagorda was lovely and very quiet, there was an excellent promenade and you could walk for miles in eiter direction.
There were ample shops and restaurants within 5-10 minutes walk from the apartmets. The restaurants we used most frequently were Sorocco and San McGuires, the latter being good value for money and excellent food.We only ate at the bar at the appartments on the last day and it was also very good.
The weather was very good, only Boxing Day was a cloudy cool day so not bad for their winter, it was however very cool at night and you do need a jacket.
Overall the San Marcial is a very good family run friendy place to go and I would highly recomend it. Hopefully we will be back next Christmas!

Room Tip: In the winter months if you want sunshine on your patio for most of the day choose a south facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BandE_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I recently spent a very enjoyable week at the San Marcial apartments. Matagorda is a quiet area and this complex is in a quiet part of Matagorda - perfect for a chill out with a couple of books. The complex is very close to the airport so there is a bit of noise - but don't worry, it's no Heathrow and we certainly didn't find it a problem. For sure there were minor issues with the apartment (drawers without handles, broken shelf in the fridge, cupboard doors that don't close etc), but to be honest we weren't expecting a 5 star and it didn't detract from our stay.
The complex itself is well laid out - but there are some steep steps in places. The staff were always very helpful and friendly. The on-site restaurant is not only good value but provided surprisingly good food. There is a nice promenade close by that stretches all the way to Puerto Del Carmen and is very pleasant for walking or cycling. All in all a very enjoyable stay in a well run complex.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Clevland_Potash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 7night stay at the San Marcial in Matagorda Lanzarote. This holiday far exceeded or expectations (we booked mainly because of the positve reviews posted here by the majority of contributers) and fully endorse the general concensus. The apartments are basic no heating "not a problem even in december" no air conditioning so do not know how it would be during hottest time??. The staff were very freindly and more importantly helpful " apartments spacious and better than lots of others we have stayed in and facilities basic but again considering cost no problem at all. The resort very good surprising lots of aircraft very close so if it is a bother then may be offputting but we found it no problem (in fact we found it entertaining). Talking of which cannot really comment on entertainment as we saw none in hotel on our stay most of seafront strip also quite during run up to xmas. Very good beach great for long walks lovely relaxing holiday lots of older people there" we are a young 57 and 59 year olds" All in all we would definately want to return to the San Marcial we had a great holiday. cheers all Bobs.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I recently stayed at the san marcial apartments and felt it was a really great place. The bar food was rilliant and the atmosphere was great and inviting. I really felt safe aswell due to there was a security guard on duty every night on the premises.The Swimming pools where rilliant and you always had a place to sunath you never had to run for the eds!!!.. It had a lovely little shop below the apartments which was really handy aswell. It was only a 2 minute walk from the sea and the main shopping center i would deffinatly return to these apartments.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanessa1660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I stayed at the San Marcial apartments recently with my family and our experience was mostly positive however there was some negatives. I'll start with those! The apartment was fairly shabby and not too clean in places like the shower and the parts of the kitchen. Black slimy mould on the dish drainer in the kitchen and fridge tray broken. After a week we had to switch apartments because the boiler started to leak and caused the power to keep tripping out. The second apartment was more or less the same as the first except for torn cover on the settee and the shower was abysmal! Awful yoke altogether. Now the good stuff. The staff were lovely and very accommodating. We didn't have any coffee machine and these don't come as standard in the San Marcial but when we requested one, a staff member called Sandy (Manager??) said that she would give us a loan of hers from her house! That was nice. The cleaning were friendly and always smiling. There was a nice restaurant which offered excellent value and good food generally and the staff were very nice. The layout of the apartments is great and one of best we've seen. We had a gorgeous sea view from our second apartment. The pool is lovely and clean (although the pool area itself could use a regular hosing and we didn't witness this happening once while we were there. Your feet would be black after walking around on it!) and there is a very good supermarket. The atmosphere is very friendly and very quiet. It is the perfect place for families. Our three year old loved the pool and had plenty of room to run around. There was also a few rides for children plus our apartment was right across the way from the playground which our son used every day. All in all an ideal choice for the family vacation as it was very reasonably priced but don't expect perfection.

Room Tip: Apartment 139 has the best sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marycontrary121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos The Las Gaviotas
Apartamentos The Las Gaviotas
#18 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beatriz Playa & Spa
Beatriz Playa & Spa
#42 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos THe Morromar
Apartamentos THe Morromar
#37 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Floresta
Hotel Floresta
#19 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marcial Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marcial Apartments

Property: San Marcial Apartments
Address: Calle Alpahor 4, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Hotel Class:3 star — San Marcial Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Marcial Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marcial Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
San Marcial Apartments Hotel Lanzarote
San Marcial Lanzarote
San Marcial Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing