We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“updating required”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Marcial Apartments
Ranked #44 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Just home from two weeks at San Marcial booked here as las gaviatos was full bit nervous at first after reading previous reviews and can understand how people can review the apts so poorly.the down side of the apts are the poor maintenance internally ,inside our bathroom was full of black mould on the ceiling walls and tlies the sofa beds are tatty and stained and everything was just of a poor standard.the positives are a great pool area with lovely reception staff who will do all they can to help you.although the apts were poor we had a fab holiday and we met some great people and dean the rep was lovely .matagorda is a lovely resort and can't wait to return just not to here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jay d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

If anyone is thinking of going to theese apps,the apps are in Matagorda about 1 hour walk into carmen or between 5 to 6 euro in a taxi and 2 euro on the bus. If you stay in Matagorda at night you have one shopping centre to go to for drinks and meals. 90% of the bars do Irish entertainment, after 2 weeks it would have been to much, it was like going to Dublin,so we had had 1 night in Mat then the next in Carmen.The san marcial is nice, good breakfast and big apps,but it could be very nice and probably 4 star if you got towels and bed change more then once a week, after 8th day we had to ask them to change towels&bed.The repp Dean said, most people was asking him about the same thing.I would only go back if you got things change more often

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DAVID A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

It is a shame the apt. is so basic as the complex has a good lay out with nice pool. The restaurant is excellent with great friendly staff. The reception charge for wifi but the restaurant has wifi available free of charge. Our black out curtains were only fit to be thrown out as they were in shreds. The towels were so old and worn, should also be thrown out. The beds were very uncomfortable . The apt in general needed a complete make over. Location is good just a short walk to the beach, bars & restaurants. Lovely area but would not stay at these apts. again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rodCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here in jan 14, room 102. the rooms were basic but clean. Quite spacious. Our room had twin beds which we didn't like. There was plenty of wardrobe space. The safe you had to pay for and it's large. The bathrooms seemed to have new sinks, toilets and showers and a lick of paint. The shower door was broken but was still usable. The kitchen/living room was large with a big breakfast bar, fridge, electric hob, microwave, kettle & toaster. All in good condition. You had to pay for the remote control for the tv which you got back with the deposit of the safe. Balcony was nice. The pool area was lovely and the bar/restaurant was excellent opened 10-02:00! On site supermarket again very good and was open 8-22:00! It's not very good if you have mobility issues, lots of steps. There are ramps but they are steep! The only thing that let it down was the towels were old, some with holes! Also it states there is an iron but the reception said they couldn't find it! The complex was very nice and we were surprised really. It's a short walk from the main of matagorda and it's close to the beach. We also went to the Beatriz playa spa next door and had a morning in their hydrotherapy/Turkish baths it was around 24 euros each but really nice. The airport is next door and for some reason the coach transfer took us 50 mins as he dropped everyone else off first in puerto del Carmen! 5 mins on the way back to the airport! I think a taxi from outside the airport would be better it's 2miles or so!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Just spent Christmas and New Year at the San Marcial Apartments, which were clean, comfortable and very reasonably priced, and whilst we had a wonderful holiday, we didn't spend much time at the complex. Matagorda is a quiet and safe place to stay and some of the nearby restaurants are very good, however, you need to walk into Playa de los Pocillos for a good beach, which is about a 20-minute stroll. Puerto del Carmen is much further but if you do make it that far, be sure to go to one of the marvellous fish restaurants by the harbour (8 Euros each way by taxi) or a very, very long walk!

The staff on the San Marcial complex are obliging although you will have to wait until 10am for the bar/restaurant to open for breakfast - or you could self-cater but facilities in the apartments are very basic. We could not use the microwave because there were no suitable food containers to use in it The food at the bar is average.

We went with Thomson's and the Rep Dean was a delight - nothing too much trouble. Thanks Dean.

Room Tip: If you can manage the steps, I would advise a first floor room with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BuntyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

we went to the San Marcial apartments on 26th Dec for a week, so saw in the new year on matagorda beach, the apartments are basic but you have everything you need and they are spotless , the onsite supermarket is very reasonable and the on site restaurant does great meals , breakfast is a bargain and we ate there most mornings once we realised how nice it was , take a tip rooms 115-155 are the best as you have the sun on your room all day , your local for the beach places to eat car hire etc

Room Tip: 140 was ours and it was perfect I would got 1st floor as on the ground people tend to walk in your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank juliep48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

These apartments were great for myself and fiancé. We cooked snack lunches and the fridge perfect for cold water and drinks.

The noise of the nearby airport is only sporadic with planes landing and taking off, but certainly hasn't affected us.

Cleaning of floors could be improved but the staff seem to be working hard all hours as it is, so I am not complaining.

Nearby restaurants are great value (5-15 mins walk away, Chinese, Italian, Japanese - great choice!) you are spoilt for supermarkets - so many are nearby and the one on-site is not overpriced on main items (milk, bread etc).

The ONLY negative and false advertising is that wifi is FREE in the "business centre"???? There is no business centre that I could find.....so it costs 15 Euro for a week and you can only use one device at a time. However, we used it for FaceTime calls and surfing and you could use it on the balcony of our apartment some distance from main reception (which was unexpected!)

Overall - if you book a package holiday and pay less than £350 per person, then this place is a real bargain find and a great holiday especially winter sun (no aircon in summer could be tough in the apartments!)

Room Tip: I would suggest rooms near main reception that get sun for most of the day - 214 I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark_berny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas
Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas
#21 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,098 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos THe Morromar
Apartamentos THe Morromar
#38 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
2,615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyde Park Lane
Hyde Park Lane
#22 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
793 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beatriz Playa & Spa
Beatriz Playa & Spa
#42 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marcial Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marcial Apartments

Address: Calle Alpahor 4, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £95 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Marcial Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Marcial Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marcial Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
San Marcial Apartments Hotel Lanzarote
San Marcial Lanzarote
San Marcial Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing