We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of staff”
Review of Montana Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montana Club
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
County Meath, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lack of staff”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Just stayed here for a week in August and whilst the place is lovely the lack of supervision around the place was a disgrace. Drinking alchol in the pool. Broken glass at the pool table went unswept for the day. lack of ashtrays around the pool. An irish group we here late teens and their bad language around the pool completly went unchallenged due to lack of staff. Did not see one staff member around the pool in all the time we were here.

Room Tip: If you dont have kids request the adult pool side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    262
    81
    15
    12
See reviews for
191
361
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Booked 2 appartments at Montana back end of June for 2 weeks. Requested ground floor rooms close together which they accommodated. Had a problem with one of the rooms but was moved immediately. Couldn't fault how it was dealt with. Complex is lovely with 2 pools but we stayed on the side with the children's section. Only downside to the pool was that it was freezing no matter what time you went in. Had to take my little boy out often as it was that cold it turned his lips blue. They deff need some heating! I could understand the earlier reviews but you would expect in June/July it would have been warmer. Rooms were lovely and clean and a added bonus was that the air con was free. Safety deposit boxes in room which we hired were brilliant and not too expensive. Sun beds are very hard and although there is an additional charge for the cushions i have to say they are worth it for the comfort. Close to a spar shop which was very good and was close enough to shop daily for fresh produce. Drank in the bar a couple of nights but due to the complex being quiet the bar often shut by the time we got back. Overall my stay at montana club was excellent and if the pool heat issue was looked into i would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linzi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here between 24th July -31st July and had a great time.

We booked our accommodation directly with the hotel and we found it alot more cost effective that way paying only €329 for the week for the two of us so we were very happy about that.

We stayed in room 216 and thought it was lovely and clean, giving the essentials you need. We didn't eat in often as we found it nicer to eat out and enjoy the restaurants around the town. We had maids that would come every 2 days to clean, change linen and provide new towels.

Around the complex is very clean with 2 pools and plenty of sun loungers. I have just read in some previous reviews about people reserving sunbeds but you get that ANYWHERE and I don't think it will ever stop, however we did not come across that problem here and found that we could get one even at 2pm in the afternoon as they were plenty. We didn't need to reserve and the hotel towards the end of our stay got busy. The pools were clean and definitely a nice temperature.

The only thing I found a little off we're the prices of drinks in the hotel. They were really expensive compared to anywhere in town so we did avoid buying drinks here and just walked quickly to the SPAR shop just down the road. Food was ok priced but perhaps wasn't up to scratch compared to anywhere in town...so I guess pretty expensive for what you get. We ate mostly in the town. I think if the hotel improved there prices for drinks/food they would get more business in the evenings etc.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay here and would have no problem recommending to a friend or staying here again.

Things that annoyed me:

Nothing except prices

Things I liked:

Location was excellent, great value for money and friendly staff!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelBear87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Arrived 05/07/12 and were met by the receptionist, who was very helpful.
Asked for the usual safety deposit box and air con and were pleasantly surprised that the air con was free, the deposit box was only 40 euro with 10 back at the end of the fortnights stay.
Stayed in room 102 which was on the ground floor and extremely spacious.
Maid service was excellent, every second day, and if you had a lay-in they didn't wake you up they came when you were out.
Only a short walk to the seafront which meant that there was hardly any noise at all.
Only went round the pool a couple of times and never struggled to get a sunbed, there were always plenty of spares as well.
Would definitely recommend and re-visit the Montana.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a private terrace, second floor have shared baclony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobnCat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed in July 2012 arrived at 830 pm and was met by a Irish man how pointed us towards our room. The room was clean but needed some more kitching equment like a large serving spoon some of the bedding was worn and in need of replacing we had ants in the barthroom and was given some bug spray to kill them.
The pool was clean but if you like a lay in you will not get a sunbed as people put there towes on them and go out.
If you stay with Cosmos you will not have a rep we had a letter that said we could call her if we needed her we had to find our own way around.
The food and drinks in the bar was pricey and there is a little bar 500 yards up the road where you can get a large beer for 150 euros.
Would probley stay hear again.

Room Tip: One bed room appartment have a sofa bed ok for kids as the pull out one is very low to the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daniel43-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director Comercial at Montana Club, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Daniel43-12,

Thank you so much for sharing your opinion about Montana Club.

We have take note of your suggestions on the kitchen equipment improvement.

The bedding must be in perfect conditions and we apologize if it was not. I passed your comments to our Housekeeping Manager.

The sunbed reservation is an old issue all over the world. No matter what you do from the Hotel there will always be an early towel reserving the best sunbed. To avoid disturbing the other guests there are many sunbeds around our two swimming pools and is very unusual that you don´t get a sunbed.

Regarding your commentary about Cosmos Holidays let me inform you that I have passed them your complaint about the service. For next time if you need any help about the destination you only have to ask at our reception and we are always happy to provide you with any information.

Thank you again for your value contribution, your commentaries help us to be better.

We hope to see you soon,

Domingo Lorenzo
Montana Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stayed here in July , The place was very quiet for this time of year. The apartment lacked simple equiptment e.g wooden spoon , no oven only microwave but Spain don't seem to sell microwave meals. Staff were nice but could have been more helpfull in the bar. The prices were very expensive for what they were , we paid 6 euros 50 for 2 cokes and a packet of crisps , but there are great bars down the road. Something that really annoyed me was the sunbeds as they were reserved by people the night before so it was very hard to get one. No entertainment so not ideal for children. Spar was just down the road so it was easy to get food. Overall a good stay but probaley wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Had a lower apartment ,it is good as you get a little courtyard but 1 bed was to small for 4 people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnyworld200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My eight time in Lanzarote but my first time staying at this complex and I have to say it was ideal for a relaxing holiday. Good location, where there is a short walk down a slight hill and you are the very start of the new town (on the Los Picollos side).
We were met at the reception by a chap from Dublin, who now lives full time on the island, who was very helpful with any queries we had.

Rooms were cleaned every second day and fresh towels provided. TV in room, with english channels (10 euro deposit for this which was refunded upon departure). Barfood was very good (burger & chips, pizzas etc), with big portions and reasonably priced.

We arrived at the start of May, so it was still before the busy season, so the complex was very quiet, with only about a half dozen people around the pool at any one time, which was perfect for us. Also apparently it was the hottest May in years on the island, with tempertures reaching 44 degrees at one stage, which was also perfect as any one who knows Lanzarote, there is always a gentle breeze, so it was bearable for me anyway.

The only problem I would have with the complex is that they were charging 2.50euro a day or 10euro a week to rent a mat for the sunlounger per person and if you wanted a sun umbrella for the week this was 15 euro. In all the years I have been away this is the first time that I have encountered this. But I suppose we are in recessionary times and establishments are trying to think of 'novel' ways of making extra income.

But all in all, this was a very enjoyable & relaxing holiday made better by the complex we were staying at and I would have no problem in recommending it

Room Tip: This is a two storey complex with two pools on either side and all rooms face the pool, so you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bryan123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.7 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Penita Apartments
La Penita Apartments
#7 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.4 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montana Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana Club

Property: Montana Club
Address: Calle Timon 3, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Montana Club 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suite Hotel Montana Club is placed in the heart of Puerto del Carmen, Lanzarote. 5 minutes walk from the popular Playa Grande beach, in a quiet area and close to the beach promenade with shops, bars and restaurants. Totally refurbished in 2007, the hotel has two outdoor swimming pools and offers free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montana Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Club Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Montana Aparthotel Lanzarote
Montana Aparthotel Hotel Lanzarote
Lanzarote Montana
Montana Club Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing