We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice & clean hotel food & bar rather dated”
Review of Montana Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montana Club
Ranked #14 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“nice & clean hotel food & bar rather dated”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Myself & my Husband spent a week here
the complex was nice & clean but sadly it was so quiet. The rooms were clean & had almost everything you want, we had a very old TV & had to pay a deposit for the remote control, the tv did not work a rather grumpy Asian lady came to our room did not say a word & shown us 3 working channels 2 English both very poor pictures. The pool was very nice but it is not acceptable to charge to rent the cushions that had seen better days. The bar was very quiet that put you off drinking it there, the only time anybody
used the bar was when Elvis was on (far from good!) With the enterainment there was not that many there & some looked miserable! They did not have an ala carte resturant as advertised, they had a pasta bar a few mins walk from the complex the food was shocking, the other option was a little further to walk & was not very apertising. The spar shop was great 2 mins walk with freshly baked bread & pastries, the deli counter was superb. Overall it was ok if you want to be quiet, as mentioned we didnt get everything advertised including free wifi. The man who worked reception the bar & cooked burgers was very helpful & worked long hours, the Lady on reception was also very helpful, the cleaners were also very nice, the only member of staff who was not helpful was the asian lady who worked on the guys days off, she was grumpy which put you off asking anything. I would not go back as it was to quiet for us, if you want a cheap quiet holiday the place is ideal.

Helpful?
Thank Boodle56
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    273
    89
    15
    14
See reviews for
207
372
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Have just returned from a very relaxing week at the Montana Club (Nov 2013)
We were welcomed by Santi who was very friendly helpful and seems to work all hours.
Our apartment was very clean. It was large with a kitchen/lounge bathroom and twin bedroom.
In the kitchen I soon discovered that cooker hood or micro-wave oven will only work if wall socket below is off.
There is a micro wave but no oven. " cooker rings - plenty lots of restaurants in PDC. Food is available at the complex but did not eat here.
A flat screen TV with 4 English channels was provided in the lounge area. You pay a deposit for the remote.
We paid for a pool view room. There was A Smallish balcony with clothes airer - useful.
In the bathroom the internal fan wasn't working.
There is a useful and powerful hairdyer in the bathroom.
Large double wardrobe in the bedroom with a pay-for safe.
We had a first floor apartment which we prefer, the ground floor apartments were right beside the pool. There are 2 adult pools and one has a section for children.
The pools were cool but useable which is excellent considering it was November!
Location was ideal 5 mins to an excellent Spar and 10 minutes from the strip and sea front.
When you arrive at the sea front beside the Casino there are several excellent restaurants/cafes down steps overlooking the ocean. Cheap breakfasts there and live music playing in one at lunchtime.
We walked to the left from the seafront to Matagorda where you get a great view of the planes arriving at the airport nearby.
At the seafront and to the right we headed to the old town where we had a great night in the Blarney Stone listening to the brilliant Dublin City Ramblers.
Be careful with your bills in the cafes in the old town as I have been overcharged there a couple of times.
There was entertainment on at least 2 nights at the Montana Club but never went to it.
As the reception in the Montana Club is not manned 24/7 we booked an early morning taxi the day before, for an early flight and it arrived on the dot.
Very little negativity about these apartments.
Briefly -
Poor (but free) wi fi.
Noisy boiler beside our apartment but only a problem if you are a light sleeper.
Some balconies are shared.
If value for money is a priority then I would recommend these apartments.

Room Tip: Depends what you want really. Sunny mornings/ afternoons. Ground/first floor. Email the hotel bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fined4times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed in a standard room in the Montana and was not aware that we would not have a pool view. We asked to be changed and would pay for an upgrade but they said they were booked up and could do nothing for us. We had a terrace view which looked out unto the road and the bins. Noise very early every morning cause there was a lane beside us where work was going on for instance wheeling out the bins etc. Would not advise you to take a standard room so make sure you request pool view. Also the sunbathing chairs were old and if you need the cushions which you do you have to pay 2.50 euros each per day which in my view should be included in price

Room Tip: request a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann54K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We booked these apartments through onthebeach.co.uk and these apartments were rated as a 4*, we also read through lots of amazing reviews on here before booking.
First some positives, the complex itself is lovely, well kept and clean and the man who's runs the bar is so friendly and amazing with the kids! My little boy loved him! The pool is lovely and well kept too.
Unfortunately we were very disappointed with our apartment, we are not by any means snobs, just your average working class family, 2 adults, 2 kids.
We were put in apartment 101, we paid extra for a pool view apartment, it turns out all the apartments are around the pool! But our apartment was obscured by a wall so we couldn't actually see the pool. On first impressions the apartment looked sufficient, a bit dated but ok, then our problems started......
1st problem, the lock on the door was broken, we have a 1 year old, I tested her on the door and she could escape directly out to the pool so we had a maintenance man come and fix it straight away, unfortunately once fixed it just meant you needed to pull the door handle down extra hard and it automatically unlocked!! So we spent the rest of the holiday barricading it with a chair when inside the apartment.
2nd problem, our room smelt of sewage, we originally thought it was coming from the sink but by the 2nd day I realised the smell was coming from the aircon! I complained straight away as was very concerned what would be inside the aircon for it to smell like that and was told to leave the door to the apartment open to air it out, I explained to the lady (asian lady behind the bar) that the aircon automatically switches off when the door is opened so obviously the smell will go! Plus I have an escapee 1 year old! To this she replied that they have no other rooms available to move us to so there's not a lot they could do. So we opted not to use the aircon for the rest of our stay.
3rd problem, when showering it kept shooting bursts of very hot water on us but thankfully they were able to fix this straight away.
4th problem, the bath wouldn't stay filled up, it kept emptying through the metal plug ring so we had to keep the taps permanently running whilst bathing our kids. They did attempt to fix it by changing the plug but this didn't work. We then discovered that the entire metal plug ring came out and found a lovely orange mouldy sight underneath.
5th problem, cockroaches! We found them in our apartment frequently. We have stayed in lanzarote many times before and have never had this problem before. We know this cant be helped but this added to our discomfort.

We wouldn't usually write a review and we may have been unlucky with the apartment we got, but we paid for what we thought was a 4* and felt it closer to a 2*, we chose these apartments based on the reviews we read on here and felt mislead so wanted to share our experience too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickyNoodles2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

It was a lovely hotel and the staff were great. The owner was there quiet a bit and we witnessed him smoking in the bar where the food was being prepared.... That was annoying. Bar man was excellent as was reception and the cleaning staff.

It does need to upgrade its menu though as the food was very poor.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esquires1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed in the Montana Club with my mum, self catering for 1 week from 30th Oct, ground floor apartment no.130. The apartment was fine bar a mix up with getting our apartment cleaned,we did not get our apartment cleaned until day 4 and had to go to reception on day 3 for bin bags. People say the air conditioning is great...it is very weak and did not really cool the rooms down. I was very disappointed by the pool area, although the area was clean, the sunbeds were mostly broken and you had to rent out a mat. Also the whole reception area needs to be revamped as it is old and faded and not very welcoming!! Also, to get to your apartment, you have to walk around the pool, ok by day but at night could be dangerous if you have 1 too many drinks!! The staff in general were friendly especially the bar man, who seems to work every hour every day. The apartments are close enough to the beach but I personnaly would not return to these apartments as I prefer somewhere more modern and sunbeds you can sit on without paying 7e per day!!!!

Room Tip: Book a room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AoifsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontanaClub, Director de Recepción at Montana Club, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Firstly thank you very much for taking the time to give your opinion about your recent stay in our hotel.
We are very interested in your feedback rest assure we will take on board your comments
Kind regards
Ligia Sánchez
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Montana Club on a self catering basis from 14th Oct to 24th Oct 2013 we stayed in Apartment No. 226 it had no pool view as was a standard room. It was very clean and had all items that we needed for our stay.The room has air conditioning which is great and was one of the reason I picked the Montana Club for our holiday. The cleaners were very good and changed out our towels every other day. We went out to dinner every evening to the restraunts on the main prom. There is a Spar just down the road about 3/4mins away so it was good for buying some milk and water etc. Not too far to carry back. We went out for a walk most nights it is only a 5 / 10 min walk to the main street of Puerto Del Carmen. The swimming pools are good and are kept clean and the sun beds were always available.
I would definately go back to the Montana Club and would highly recommend it for a good holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
583 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,583 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Suites
Aqua Suites
#2 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montana Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana Club

Property: Montana Club
Address: Calle Timon 3, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Montana Club 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suite Hotel Montana Club is placed in the heart of Puerto del Carmen, Lanzarote. 5 minutes walk from the popular Playa Grande beach, in a quiet area and close to the beach promenade with shops, bars and restaurants. Totally refurbished in 2007, the hotel has two outdoor swimming pools and offers free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Montana Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Club Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Montana Aparthotel Lanzarote
Montana Aparthotel Hotel Lanzarote
Lanzarote Montana
Montana Club Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing