We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cork couple” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plaza Azul
Ranked #34 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
cork i
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cork couple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2008

We love plaza azul stayin there 4 times a year since 2003. The staff are very helpful especially Jamie Andreas and Pedro. Apts are spotless cleaners very nice. Great entertainment before you hit the town which is only down the hill. Food is nice by pool bar. Very central location. You couldnt find better apts in Lanzarote. We r even goin back tis summer for 4 weeks

  • Liked — the whole apts
  • Disliked — nothin
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkIMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    212
    81
    25
    15
See reviews for
95
278
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2008

Stayed in Plaza Azul over Christmas 2007. Overall the apartment was barely OK , was expecting a bit more based on reviews from Tripadvisor. Apartment was generally clean if you don't look too closely !! . Our apartment had a window facing the street , which was very noisy at night and early in the morning (single pane glass). We didn't have an apartment next to us ,but could hear a lot of moving around from the apartment upstairs. Our towels were changed twice in the week. Bed clothes did not fix as another review wrote , which brought me closer to the very musty mattress than I would ever want to be. As it was December , these apartments are absolutely freezing at night .
You can tell by the decor that this place is fairly old and has not been renovated in a very long time, it has that 1970's feel about the place . We didn't have any problem with the staff , and found them courteous at all time . If I was looking for a place to stay again, I would honestly try somewhere that was build more recently.

  • Liked — near beach
  • Disliked — Musty smelling bed
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KaseIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2007

We booked this as a last minute winter deal, after reading the reviews (which some werent very favourable) we were of course a bit apprehensive but when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised! Apts were in a good location, just up from were we stayed before which was a stroke of luck as didnt realise this when we booked so we knew were everything was in that area.

Apts were basic but clean, maids were in 4 out of the 7 days, only downside was the sound proofing in the apts were terrible. we were on the ground floor & could hear everything going on upstairs and next door, from the guy snoring during the night upstairs or to someone going to the toilet next door...not very pleasent!!

The grounds were nice and the pool was nice & big (freezing though!!)

I have been to Lanzarote 3 times before and really enjoy it, the restruants & nightlife are great for people who like to go out and have a good time but not be over run by lager louts and club 18-30 groups!

Only thing that would put me off going back to these apts is the sound proofing! Weather was fantastic for nov a little cold in the evenings but they doesnt matter as you will be in the pub by then!

  • Liked — Location, Big pool
  • Disliked — Sound proofing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemissedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2007

I must say I was disappointed with the apartments, the pool was cleaned better than our rooms!!!!, the apartments are exactly what they say they are 2 star.

Our bed linen didn't actually fit the beds, towels had seen better days and the cleaner only took 5 mins to clean. We arrived and walked into our apartment to find no electric, we reported it at the reception and the maintenance man (who seemed also to be a cleaner) came and looked, removed the fridge to discover a pool of water which had obviously got into the socket, he plugged in an extension lead across the kitchen (which was dangerous!! good job we had no young children) and said he would return the next day, never came back for the 2 weeks we were there.

The day we were leaving 23th August 2007 we had to vacate the room by noon, we were still in the apartment at 11 o' clock when the cleaner came into the apartment and started to strip the beds etc, ready for the next people, we sat on the balcony and I couldn't believe the basic cleaning that was done, she didn't even check the kitchen cupboads, just changed the beds and towels, whipped round with the mop and that was it.

Having been to Lanzarote for a number of years these were the worst apartments I have stayed in, but with a lot of work and cleaners who actually clean if could be ideal, it is in an ideal spot, close to the beach, restaurants and nightlife but far enough for it to be quiet.

  • Liked — within walking distance to the main strip of bars etc.
  • Disliked — apartments
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josiebyrne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#30 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#12 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#28 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Corona Mar Apartments
Corona Mar Apartments
#39 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantis Las Lomas
Atlantis Las Lomas
#37 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
#40 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Azul

Property: Plaza Azul
Address: Calle Anzuelo 19, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plaza Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Plaza Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Azul Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Plaza Azul Puerto Del Carmen
Plaza Azul Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing