We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for money.”
Review of Plaza Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Azul
Ranked #40 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
cork
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Value for money.”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

A friend and I are just back from a 4 day stay here. The apartment was very basic but suited our needs and was very clean and cleaned everyday we were there. The beds were surprisingly comfortable and there was ample storage space for your clothes. The pool bar serves breakfast from 9am at a very reasonable price if youre not staying on B&B basis. It stays open til 6pm with happy hour from 3-4. Theres a surprising amount of English channels on the tv, no kids ones though.
The shower head broke on our 1st night and was replaced immediately with a temporary one when we reported it and a brand new one fitted the next morning.
There's a small shop onsite by reception but there's a supermarket directly across the road and a Hiperdino supermarket a minutes walk away.
We had asked for and were given a room that has the sunshine the entire day room B5 and its also sheltered from the wind/breeze. The weather was cloudy in the mornings but as we were sheltered from the wind it was very warm sitting on the terrace.
There is a small bar and restaurant onsite but we didnt use it so cant rate it.
The complex is ideally located up a small hill and when you get to the bottom of it (roughly 300mtres walk) the strip is right there.
The Spinnaker restaurant is on your right as you're walking down the hill and I highly recommend a meal there.
Once you're on the strip go left and walk on the beach side of the road until you come to a place called Cafe la Ola joined with Dreams. Its a stunning location with sun loungers and sofas. Very funky place to dine or just have a few drinks. Food was lovely, views were stunning atmosphere....definitely worth a trip back for!

My ONLY complaint was this.....we had requested on our original booking to have a late checkout as were only staying a few days and our flight wasnt unitl 7pm. We asked on arrival about it and were told to come back on Thursday evening to find out. Leo told us the apartments were full and our room was allocated. He showed me the booking diary for the following day and it had 8 or 10 bookings in it. It wasnt full and that was also obvious from the amount of people in and out of there it was very very quiet. This was very disappointing as we were willing to pay for the few extra hours as checkout was 11am.

Room Tip: Ask for apartment B5, B6, B7 as they are ground floor and have the sun all day. The Apartments above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiershel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    217
    83
    25
    16
See reviews for
98
285
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed in Plaza Azul last August and were pleasantly surprised. We had read mixed reviews but thought we would give it a try for ourselves. The location was great, very close to shops, restaurants and the beach. It was nice to have a 15 min stroll to burn all the calories from the excellent restaurants we ate at. Our room was always clean and was in a good location with a balcony that over looked the pool area. The pool was excellent, a little chilly but very refreshing. We were always able to get a sunbed and there was a very calm, relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We sat and had a drink at the pool bar which was nice but the bar itself is quite small. if you are looking for a lively hotel with lots going on, this probably isn't the place for you. There was karaoke a few evenings but only the same few characters taking part. The man running the pool bar in the afternoons was great fun and always trying to get people to chat and have fun. There was a supermarket 5 mins down the road and another short walk took you straight down to the beach. The beach was quite busy but there were quieter spots if you fancied a walk along the front. Some great restaurants and bars too, excellent breakfast at Africa and a lovely meal at Route 66, There was something for everyone along the strip. Only down side of our trip was the lack of air con in our room but otherwise an excellent holiday, very good value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms were very similar, first floor rooms overlooked the pool with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmsylou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just back from fab 9 day staff at this wonderful place
Friendly helpful stay nothing too much trouble
Apartments lovely and clean
Big hello and thanks to the manager of this hotel,hello to Leo and Carmen the lovely friendly cleaner who never stops working
Well done !!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackybrown8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at the Plaza Azul apartments for one week in February. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the cleaners came in nearly every day and the apartments (although basic) are kept clean and well maintained. The complex overall is quiet and relaxed, placed in a good location to get to the shops and bars but far enough away to avoid too much noise. We had a lovely time and would definitely return. If your on a budget this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

stayed in January which unfortunately had not very good weather and our apartment got no sun at all, however after a few day we asked to move and they found us an apartment in the sun for our last week. we really liked the complex great location for us the staff were very nice especially the tall man behind reception, we would definitely stay again as they were good value for money. they also have a shower in the pool toilets for late checkout guests

Room Tip: depending on the time of year ask for a sunny apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drgoheda
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Have been back here for the 2nd time and will be back again in 2015. Lovely apt ( apt 3,4,5,6,7 ) are the best cause you get the sun all day which in jan is great. You also have a terrace at the back in the ground level apt so cool in the summer when it's hotter. Kitchen fully equipped. No charge for tv remote. No hair dryer so bring your own ladies. Cleaning 5 out of the 7 days we stayed. Very quiet at night but only a short walk to the promenade

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Drog73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Have just came back from a weeks stay in Plaza Azul, lovely clean apartments which are just a 5 minute walk to the Main Street. All staff are nice and friendly, especially Ricardo who is a credit to the place, never fails to make you laugh :) The only 1 complaint would be the lady cleaner who we caught eating our food on several occasions. The upper level sun terrace is a nice quiet space to enjoy the sun. Overall it's a lovely place to visit and good value for money, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the right hand side of the pool, Sun is always there in the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#32 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acuario Sol
Acuario Sol
#30 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#14 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#28 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
907 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Aloe
Apartamentos Aloe
#45 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
121 reviews
1.1 mi away
BelleVue Aquarius
BelleVue Aquarius
#72 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Azul

Property: Plaza Azul
Address: Calle Anzuelo 19, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plaza Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Azul Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Plaza Azul Puerto Del Carmen
Plaza Azul Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing