We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family break”
Review of Plaza Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Azul
Ranked #44 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was our second time back to the Plaza Azul, and loved it even better second time round. Lovely complex with large pool area and apartments are well equipped for a comfortable self catering holiday. Pool bar was open from 9am until around 6pm and served lovely food too at a good price. Great supermarkets situated across the road, one facing complex and a Hipodino further down road which was open until 11pm. Also want to mention how pleasant all the staff were, they were cleaning the complex and tending to the gardens most of the day to keep it looking good and always a friendly smile on reception. All in all have had a lovely weeks break here and will certainly be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms A/B 5,6,7,8 seem to have the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manciti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at the Plaza Azul for one week from 20th April. It was a lovely stay, we had a one bedroom apartment with a pool terrace and a sun terrace at the back too which was a suntrap. The apartment was clean and well equipped. We were a 10 minute walk down hill (not steep though) to the main modern strip which had a lovely long beach and lots of pubs and restaurants.
The staff were so friendly and helpful. We didn't use the snack bar or restaurant but it looked good. There are also two super markets near by and a few bar/restaurants.
We would walk to the Old town and harbour which was great, about a 30 minute walk. If you turn left instead of right at the bottom of the main road then bear right and down hill, it is a quicker route to the smaller beach and Old town and you bypass a steep hill.
We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: As I mentioned, the pool level terraces have a lovely sun-trapped terrace at the back too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Having recently stayed at plaza azul on half board basis, i have nothing but praise for staff as well as the complex.

Although up a slight hill it was not as bad as some of other places we viewed in PDC, it was handy for bus if going to costa teguise or playa blanca.

Rooms came with all the added bonus from fridge, toaster, kettle, microwave even down to utensils which even included a corkscrew.

For anyone thinking of half board basis i would throughly recommend as the food and service was second to none for a 2 star hotel, we had full english served with juice of our choice along with tea/coffee, and evening meal was exceptional value for what we paid thanks to sergio (chef) and all involved fom snack bar/dining room as they could not do enough for us.

having read reviews in regards of wifi in PDC area i have to say plaza Azul has a pretty decent connection as I downloaded items very quickly indeed from their connection which came in at around 5MB download speed.

I have to comment on reception staff who were very helpful and nothing was to much trouble cleaning staff were very efficient and always went out of their way to say hello.

Myself and my partner would certainly return to Plaza Azul in future

Many thanks again to everyone at Plaza Azul

Room Tip: I would recommend from A3 - A10 Would also recommend fish and chips as well as their curry in blu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgegibson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We got a good deal on these apartments through Travel Republic and I chose them mainly for the location as I was going with a friend and wanted us to be central to the resort without having a lonely walk home at night. The layout of the complex is lovely with all apartments facing round to the pool. The pool area itself is nice with a small pool bar where they make complimentary paella once a week for the guests. We enjoyed a few cold beers a couple of times in the afternoon at the pool bar and used to go on a morning to get a couple of cups of coffee which we could take back to drink on our terrace with breakfasts and then just drop the cups back later. The apartment was basic but clean and the maid was lovely and spoke to us every day. A short stroll down the hill gets you straight onto the promenade for beach or bars and restaurants and it was also only about 10 euro in a taxi from the airport. It's not the Ritz for anyone wanting something posh, but if you want a nice clean safe base to explore the resort without paying the earth then these apartments are ideal and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dusty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Unfortunately there was building work going on in the apartment above us for the duration of our stay, which we complained about on 3 occasions, we were assured this would finish soon but it never did and went on for 6 days from early morning to afternoon. We couldn't stay in our apartment due to the drilling, hammering, sawing etc. which was relentless and really tested our sanity. We asked to be moved on the 3 occasions but the hotel wouldn't accommodate when they clearly could have. Really disappointed in this hotels lack of empathy and to be honest it really ruined our visit to Lanzarote. I don't normally write reviews but I feel i need to make other holiday visitors aware of this hotel so that they don't suffer the same experience.

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend staying here due to our personal experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rommell185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just returned from a week at Plaza Azul with my other half and had a lovely time!
We booked our holiday through travel republic and weren't expecting much, paying only £150 for the apartment for the week!
When we arrived, the receptionist was very friendly, greeting us and showing us to our apartment which was B25 located just above the reception area. The apartment was clean and tidy, beds were as comfortable as you'd expect in a holiday apartment (with extra blankets) and the kitchen well equipped (better than the apartments we've previously stayed in) with two hob rings, saucepans, toaster, microwave, kettle.... plates, cups, bowls etc and a tea towel!
The complex itself is lovely, large pool in the middle with apartments around the outside- I don't think one apartment had a bad position.... Our terrace wasn't in the sunlight, however this didn't both us.
If you are hoping to sit out on your terrace/balcony then it may be better to ask for an upstairs apartment or one on the other side of the pool. There's a poolside snackbar- ice lollies, drinks, lunch and breakfast snacks and a restaurant inside the main building- with takeaway facilities.
Behind reception there is also a games area, small supermarket and laundrette- however there's a supermarket opposite and a larger one within 5 mins walk.
Location is great- far away from the main strip to be quiet and peaceful in the day time, we had lots of sunbeds to choose from and you can hire a sunbed cushion for 2 euros a day.
Within 10 mins walk to the promenade- however there are restaurants on the walk down- Spinnakers Bar was great- nice food and views out to sea- family friendly.
Spenders bar and the New World Chinese are also good and on the walk down.
There's an amazing roof terrace at the hotel, which is good for sunbathing and photos... We only discovered it on our last day though.
There's plenty of parking if you're hiring a car because you're away from the main strip and a bus stop outside. The cleaning came in everyday, changing towels twice and beds once, the complex was spotless and there's free wifi in reception/restaurant/bar area.
All in all, great little hidden gem, would definitely return and if you're looking for a hassle free, friendly and quiet place to stay then it's perfect. There isn't a noisey bar with horrible evening entertainment and there isn't kids entertainment waking you up at 9am.... :-)

Room Tip: Depending on what you're looking for, I'd say the upstairs apartments have more sunlight and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Na0mi_W87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have stayed here 5 times now and are returning in September 14! Love staying here as it's close to the strip but not right in the middle of it! You could walk to the main strip with plenty or bars, restaurants and shops within 5 mins! (slight hill, but nothing really)

I could not fault these apartments in any way, they're cheap and cheerful and you get what you pay for! Yes they are basic and maybe a bit dated but still spotlessly clean with everything you could need, and cleaning staff cleaning and changing beds every 2nd day!

The apartments on the right hand side seem to get the best of the sunshine as the others are in the shade and some have a street view so we always email the reception staff after we book and request a pool view apartment, this request had never been any trouble! There is a large area at the top of the apartment block for sunbathing with fab views over to feurteventura!

Staff are friendly and very helpful. If you need a taxi, reception will order it for you and are happy to answer any questions you have or advise you on things to do and places to visit!

We have never actually eaten in the restaurant at the Plaza Azul but have had food at the snack bar, which is nice for something to keep you going til you go out, and staff there are lovely!

Only thing that got to me was people putting they're towels out on the sunbeds at about 7 or 8 in the morning to hold them but some people did not return to use the beds until lunch time, which was kinda annoying and because if this I also had to resort to doing this too, to guarantee that I would get a bed! However I used to sunbathe all day :)

I have read alot of negative reviews about these apartments but i would definetly reccommend them to anyone who is looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful! Nice pool, nice surroundings and nice staff!!! Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#15 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#24 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#23 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Acuario Sol
Acuario Sol
#35 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Panorama
Apartamentos Panorama
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#31 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Azul

Address: Calle Anzuelo 19, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £55 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plaza Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Plaza Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Azul Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Plaza Azul Puerto Del Carmen
Plaza Azul Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing