We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Place”
Review of Plaza Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Azul
Ranked #40 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love This Place”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have now stayed at The Plaza Azul 8 times in the last 2 years. The place goes from strength to strength and slowly but surely is being modernised without a major hike in the rates. The staff are all superb, in particular Carmen the Housekeeper and Leo on reception. Nothing is too much trouble. You are a 4 minute walk down the hill from the beach and front with a supermarket on the doorstep. Apartments are basic but clean but fantastic value for money. I cannot wait to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve l L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    220
    84
    25
    17
See reviews for
102
288
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed here last November with my partner and to be fair it is very reasonable priced but the standard was not great. Very thread bare towels in the bathroom, beds and bedding really had seen better days as had most of the cutlery in the kitchen.
The staff on Reception didn't really care if you stayed there or not and in the evenings if you wanted a drink, staff were nowhere to be found!

On the plus side the cleaners were very friendly and worked really hard and the rooms were kept clean on a daily basis, if you want a place just to crash for the night then this is handy but that is about it. I certainly wont be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed there 19th -29th of July 2014...with wife and 2 kids 14 & 11..staff very friendly and helpful...great swimming pool...good mixture of couples and families...only 5 minutes walk from the sea front where all the restaurants are...I would recommend you get an upper floor apartment so you can sleep with bedroom balcony and main balcony doors open, we had apartment 15a which I would say is the best situated, however 16a 17a 18a offer similar views... WOULD DEFINITELY STOP HERE AGAIN..very impressed with Puerto del Carmen also...

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here for 10nights 20th-30th July with my boyfriend. Pool view apartment which was great for sitting on the balcony. We had the sun all day on our balcony which was number 21A! Hotel is very clean, maid comes nearly everyday with clean towels and sheets. Pool is a good size so great for kids. Only downfall is the sunbed situation if u don't get up at 7 u won't get a sunbed as everyone puts there towels down from 5am!! Location is perfect just 5mins from strip with plenty of restaurants and bars! Overall we had a great stay and would defiantly recommend these apartments!

Room Tip: 21A up stair apartment was a sun trap with pool view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MelissaREdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week with my son in july, lovely clean apartments, pool view, happy staff who were welcoming. Bit of a hill up from main strip but in an ideal place to venture. Would definately book these apartments again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olympics123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for 1 week at the beginning of July and after reading previous reviews we were a bit sceptical. However,we cannot fault this hotel at all. Excellent location rooms clean, staff friendly and excellent value for money. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank K8eDeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed at Plaza Azul 2th - 9th July - had a great time. Went as a small family of 3 which included our 2 year old son. Hotel staff and other guests all friendly and polite.
We requested a ground floor apartment and a cot prior to our stay which was ready for us on arrival.
Room was basic but clean - small living area with L shaped sofa bed - LCD TV - however only english channel was Sky News. Kitchenette with double hob, fridge, kettle, toaster & microwave - plenty of cuttlery, mugs, glasses etc if you wish to eat breakfast or lunch at the apartment.
Bathroom with hot shower and plenty of towels available.
Bedroom 2 single beds pushed together - wasn't a problem for us. Plenty of wardrobe space.
Hotel grounds and pool well maintained. Pool was a little cold but you adjust after a few minutes.
WIFI available in hotel reception with very good signal considering the amount of people who were using it.
Pool snack bar was nice - food & drinks reasonably priced. Worth a visit for a snack - German lady who runs it - very polite and helpful.
A bit disappointed with the hotel bar - some nights it just never opened others it was empty. Shame as a it is a nice bar - with good decor and again drinks reasonably priced. Maybe a little entertainment now and then would increase custom. We visited Cinco Plaza hotel (2 mins walk) a few times and they had magic shows and other entertainment every evening and this bar was always busy.
Hotel is 5 minutes walk downhill to the main beach front - shops / bars / restaurants.
2 supermarkets close by for essentials - small shop on the site of hotel but little stock etc - not worth visiting.
Taxi from airport was 10 mins / 15 Euros.
Overall a very enjoyable stay - would certainly recommend - felt safe here. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#32 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acuario Sol
Acuario Sol
#27 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#14 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Aloe
Apartamentos Aloe
#43 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
#46 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Azul

Property: Plaza Azul
Address: Calle Anzuelo 19, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plaza Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaza Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Azul Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Plaza Azul Puerto Del Carmen
Plaza Azul Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing