We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely apartment complex”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Plaza Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Azul
Ranked #37 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lovely apartment complex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed at Plaza Azul 29 July to 12 August. Found all staff very friendly. Guests of all ages and all nationalities. We had apartment 11A upstairs at the end of the top block, very quiet and private with seaviews from front and side of balcony. Cleaners in nearly everyday who did a wonderful job, towels and bedding changed regularly. Really friendly atmosphere, plenty of seating in reception area to take advantage of free wifi. Only niggle was the sunbed situation - perhaps these should be chained up on a night to stops guests putting towels out for the next day before going to bed. Good location, but found eating out much more expensive than on our last visit 2 years ago!

Room Tip: upstairs for privacy, light and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    212
    81
    25
    16
See reviews for
95
279
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here the last week in July and it was great. The apartment is basic but has all you need and was cleaned every day. The staff are very friendly and helpful also. Its only five minutes from the main strip and there's good shops and food in either direction from the bottom of the hill. The supermarket 2 minutes from the place is also great value and has everything you might need. I was also impressed by the size of the pool compared to other apartments in the area and the is never any part around the pool in the shade so you can sun yourself no matter where you sit, or set up the parasols provided is you do want shade. There is also a very handy pool bar with good food and drink and very reasonable prices. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request an upper floor room, as we did to have a private balcony if you wish. All the rooms have a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

It's ok for the price, location was good 5 mintue walk up the hill from main strip. Shop across the road & cheaper & bigger shop a little more down the hill, lovely fresh bread everyday, We couldn't go in the pool it was early November and the water was freezing I don't think any guest did. Apartment was basic and bathroom was scummy looking but it had everything we needed. We had a lovely balcony out the back which was great late afternoon for the sun. The cleaning staff were lovely and friendly, reception staff hadn't much to say & not helpful. Wifi only works in reception area. Pool side snack bar was good & reasonably for a quick snack for late breakfast or during the afternoon. Didn't try the restaurant but I don't think we were missing much. It's nice to go out in the evening and eat out & walk up & down the strip. Lovely restaurant in old town called Kristians booking is advisable well in advance it's a little expensive compared to others but it's worth it we went to celebrate a 30th there & emailed before we flew over they organised the cake for us. Overall I prob would stay here again if I got it very cheap.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank galwaygirln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a fantastic holiday in plaza azul. Were really sceptical after reading some reviews n didnt know what to expect but its a gem of a place. All staff are brill. Pool bar has lovely food. And Dee is amazing kids had a ball. Will defo be staying here on our next trip to lanza

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank corkaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have now stayed at The Plaza Azul 8 times in the last 2 years. The place goes from strength to strength and slowly but surely is being modernised without a major hike in the rates. The staff are all superb, in particular Carmen the Housekeeper and Leo on reception. Nothing is too much trouble. You are a 4 minute walk down the hill from the beach and front with a supermarket on the doorstep. Apartments are basic but clean but fantastic value for money. I cannot wait to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve l L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed here last November with my partner and to be fair it is very reasonable priced but the standard was not great. Very thread bare towels in the bathroom, beds and bedding really had seen better days as had most of the cutlery in the kitchen.
The staff on Reception didn't really care if you stayed there or not and in the evenings if you wanted a drink, staff were nowhere to be found!

On the plus side the cleaners were very friendly and worked really hard and the rooms were kept clean on a daily basis, if you want a place just to crash for the night then this is handy but that is about it. I certainly wont be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed there 19th -29th of July 2014...with wife and 2 kids 14 & 11..staff very friendly and helpful...great swimming pool...good mixture of couples and families...only 5 minutes walk from the sea front where all the restaurants are...I would recommend you get an upper floor apartment so you can sleep with bedroom balcony and main balcony doors open, we had apartment 15a which I would say is the best situated, however 16a 17a 18a offer similar views... WOULD DEFINITELY STOP HERE AGAIN..very impressed with Puerto del Carmen also...

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#30 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#12 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corona Mar Apartments
Corona Mar Apartments
#39 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#27 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acuario Sol
Acuario Sol
#26 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantis Las Lomas
Atlantis Las Lomas
#33 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Azul

Property: Plaza Azul
Address: Calle Anzuelo 19, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plaza Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Azul Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Plaza Azul Puerto Del Carmen
Plaza Azul Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing