We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised and WILL return!”
Review of Bitacora Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bitacora Club
Ranked #25 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed 26 March 2012

After booking this holiday I was horrified to read the review regarding break ins, however after emailing Geraldine the Manager who gave us re assurance and a room close to reception I felt more at ease. When we arrived at the complex we were very pleasanlty surpised. For what you pay for this apartment it is real value for money. It was spotless and gave us every thing we needed, kettle, toaster, microwave, towels(which we wer'nt expecting), and spare bedding. The maids come in every other day, clean, make the beds and change the towels(bearing in mind this is self catering!) Even the covers on the sofa and chairs are removable/washable. We had a balcony complete with table and chairs over looking the pool.There are no shortage of sun loungers and again the pools are very clean.There is a pool cafe/bar and entertainment on Mon, Wed & Fri evenings. There is also a supermarket on site for all your requirements.
The locks on the door take a little getting used to, but basically they are just upside down to normal double glazed doors.
We had a small problem with our fridge, but after reporting it on Thurs evening, by Fri lunch time we had a brand new one
All of the staff are hard working, polite and friendly.
If you want value for money, cleanliness and a central location for Puerto del Carmen then this complex ticks all the boxes.....

Room Tip: Just email the management if you have any special requests and as a 1st time self caterer my extra...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sausanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
There are newer reviews for Bitacora Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

712 - 718 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

We were at the Bitacora from the 3rd March for two weeks. My wife and I have recently retired and wanted to get away for some winter sunshine, so we took a chance and booked with Teletext holidays, we are very glad we did. The staff were all very helpful, we had a quiet appartment (221) which was idealy placed for us, close enough to the pool but away from any noise (though there was very little of that). The appartment was very clean and the cleaning staff were very polite and helpful, providing an extra pillow when requested. English TV is a great bonus for evenings in with a bottle of wine (Cheaper than at home!) and a meal on your balcony catching the last rays of the day (bliss). As stated by a previous reviewer there were two breakins whilst we were there, but my wife and I didn't feel in any way at risk in this well lit complex, in the following week there were workman on the roof fitting some kind of electronic gear (which we assume was the CCTV mentioned) if so, well done to the Bitacora management for their quick response. We had fantastic weather and a very relaxed holiday, one minor criticism is that we found the mattresses hard which meant that we didn't sleep that well (I made up for it around the pool, I hope my snoring didn't disturb any of the other guests :) To sum up, a great complex providing great value for money, so much so that we have rebooked for this November and we have requested the same appartment or it's neighbour. "Thanks Bitacora see you again soon!"

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Spent two weeks at Christmas at bitacora and what a fantastic time me and my boyfriend had we found the staff friendly and the complex lovely and clean.The pool bar staff made sure everyone enjoyed Christmas and the free canapys and bucks fizz on Christmas day and the great party night and buffet boxing night.thanks for a great time see you next year.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miller678961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Have just returned from a weeks stay at the Bitacora and must say had a very enjoyable time. The apartment we stayed in (106) was a ground floor, 1 bedroomed unit with a pool view. Although the layout was basic, the unit was very clean and had everything you would need for a self-catering holiday. The hotel is virtually a no smoking zone, so no horrible cigarette odours in rooms or around pool area.

A bit of advice, go for a first floor apartment, during the last couple of days of our stay, two women moved into the apartment above us (206). Unfortunately, they had a tendency to walk around the room after returning from a late night in their heels and also moved furniture around as though they were auditioning for a job with Pickfords, this was an issue because the rooms are made of concrete and tiles (no soft carpets) and the noise created above was magnified 10 times in the room below, hence a disturbed sleep until they settled down...

The reception staff were great, very helpful and friendly. The reception area itself shut around 9.30pm and access to the complex after this time is gained through a coded security gate located by the supermarket.

The pool area was clean and the pool is a decent size with plenty of sunbeds.

There is a pool bar/restuarant run by Jenny and her family who were also very friendly and served a nice cold pint for 2.50 euros. The food was a bit more expensive than down in the town but thats the price you pay for convenience...not a real issue. There was evening entertainment on some nights but as we did not go to any of these, cannot comment on them although the Monday night drag act seemed popular.

There is a small supermarket attached to the complex and covers all your basic needs with a larger Spar supermarket (cheaper) only 10 mins down the road.

The hotel is located on a hill and is approx a 10-15min walk down and possibly a 20 - 25min back up from the main street/beach in the heat of the day.....but do believe steeper than some black ski runs is a bit of an exaggeration, although that reviewer may only have skied in Bulgaria!!

Small negatives:
No free wifi....in this day and age, believe any respectable hotel should have it with the popularity of smart phones.
Hotel policy of not allowing people to reserve sunbeds with a towel is a joke.....saw many beds with towels on them but not being used, never saw hotel staff removing towels as is stated would happen on hotel rules factsheet!

Room Tip: Request first floor apartment!!!!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gezza-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Have just got back from the Bitacora apartments having spent a week there. This has to be one of the most welcoming and friendly places that we have stayed. Before arriving I emailed Geraldine with a request for a certain room, on recommendation from another trip advisor member and my request was acknowledged and complied with. Thank you we appreciate it. We used the location as a base as we prefer to do our own thing whilst on holiday but found no complaints. The rooms are large and very clean. The kitchen area is well equipped with hob toaster kettle and microwave. We went B&B and found the breakfast very nice. Sorry but I do not know there names but the young girl and lady in the bar/kitchen area were extremely helpful in recommending places where we could visit for which we are very grateful. We were lucky with the weather it was nice and hot and the pool was nice and refreshing. All the guests were very pleasant and from talking to them have stayed here many times.

True it is not the ritz hotel but for what we paid for a week including flight we would certainly recommend it to others without hesitation. This was certainly worth every penny and I would recommend that anyone stay here.

A welcoming note is provided to you on arrival which explains how to lock the doors, once you read it you will understand that it is not difficult to operate. We would not leave our doors unlocked at home and would certainly not consider doing the same whilst on holiday...just common sense really if you lock your doors you should be safe. Also if you are concerned you can hire a safe in your room for a reasonable rate.

The pool bar closes at 6pm when there is no entertainment on but once agin this did not cause us a problem as we chose to go out for a meal and drink in the evening.we have never been one to spend a whole week in the hotel resort / complex. There are plenty of bars and restaurants which are close by...you will be spoilt for choice. They are also far enough away to ensure that you have a peaceful nights sleep.

I never met Geraldine the manager but judging by how she responded so promptly to my initial email enquiry and the way that the staff interact with the customers I feel more than confident that she would do all the she and her team could do for you to ensure that you have enjoyable stay at the bitacora. Nothing seemed to be too much bother for them.

Personally only being able to smoke in the smoking area by the pool was a bit of a chore- I would have preferred it if you were allowed to smoke on your balcony...totally understand not being allowed to smoke inside the room. That said got to speak to some very nice people when having an early morning cigarette at 7am when I woke up.

Please do not let some of the negative comments put you off. If you want to go somewhere welcoming and friendly, in a nice quiet location this is the perfect base for you. If you have any questions regarding this complex please feel free to contact me I will do my best to help you.

Bitacora and all your staff keep up the good work.

Gary

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gagagaga27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed here in the middle of February and had a lovely relaxing time. It's not the Ritz but it's very clean, beds are really comfortable, loved sitting out on the Terrace - even though it was on the road side - only criticism here is that the patio is shared with your neighbour limiting privacy - a suggestion would be to put some sort of barrier/fence between. Great value for what we paid - checked other similar places before i re-booked and they charge for every extra possible - here the TV (with UK channels) is free and the sun loungers very comfortable.
The location is great, being close to everything you need and you don't have to go up the steep hill (only if you go directly down and back up again).
Found all the staff very friendly and helpful especially when i needed to find a Pharmacy on the Sunday and they made a call to find out which one was open. The lady in the shop was great and always made sure i got my baguets freshly baked and hot.
Yes the pool was cold - it had been cold in Lanzarote the week before we arrived - we had an improving week and by the last day it wasn't so bad.
I am now booked to go back for two weeks in late September into October and really looking forward to it and hopefully i will get a pool view room this time - just to see the difference.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

2 styles of apartment: a through style on three sides of the large pool area (North, East and West sides) and a more compact style on the seaward side.

Reception were very helpful

The apartments were a bit worn in places but very clean. The towels changed every other day and bedding weekly, free tv in the apartments, this is a No Smoking complex with smoke detectors in the apartments, a ceiling fan which is great for those 'warmer' days hehe. There is a coded security gate for after hours entry into the complez.. There's a regular entertainment programme, supermarket on-site,
The apartments are equipped with: toaster, microwave, kettle, usual 2 ring hob. There's a restaurant onsite with a menu in apt. The complex seems to be well organised.
From the beach there is a steep hill whichever way you want to get back (not for the aged or infirm)

Generally: no complaints. You get what you pay for. I enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South Side are a more compact layout with the bathroom and bedroom directly off the lou...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jiff1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#15 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Acuario Sol
Acuario Sol
#32 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
#46 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#36 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Azul
Plaza Azul
#40 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitacora Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitacora Club

Address: Calle Alcorce 11, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £49 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bitacora Club 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for good value and great location, quiet, yet within easy walking distance of the old town, and main promenade, then look no further. Our 2 star complex is clean and well appointed. All apartments have kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge and 2 ring hob. The bedroom has 2 single beds. The living room has a sofa which doubles up as a single bed. The apartments sleep 3. But if kids are small (under 12) we can take a 4th person. For this you have a rollaway bed, and a supplement of 5 euro per day. Cots for infants are free. We change the sheets once a week, towels twice a week and clean your apartment 3 times a week. If you require extra towels, sheets, you can order these from reception for a charge. We have one block which has air con. This is the block with pool view and sun all day long. The supplement for the air con is 5 euro per day. From June to end of October, we do not accept requests for this block, as it is only available for those who wish to avail of the aircon (and pay the 5 euro supplement). Our TV, which is free, has ITV, Sky News, BBC1, RTE 1 and RTE 2. We have a friendly family run pool bar which provides breakfast and snacks throughout the day. 3 nights a week there is dinner and entertainment. Reception is open from 09.00 to 13.00 and from 16.00 to 21.00.WE NOW HAVE WIFI! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bitacora Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitacora Club Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bitacora Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bitacora Club Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing