We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good with a few small issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bitacora Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bitacora Club
Ranked #27 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good with a few small issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Firstly I want to say this was a very nice hotel. Having read some reviews on here before we arrived, I don't understand how some people can make the negative comments.

We arrived around 11:30pm to a closed reception. Although there is a note in a small window box on the wall next to the door, it is not really clear how to access the hotel at night. Because I had read the reviews I knew to go via the supermarket to check in. However, I found the lady quite rude. Simply checked our name off and told us our room. Being a fairly long day and very warm at 11:30pm, I asked if I could purchase a bottle of water for me and my 5 year old son. I was simply told no, and the door closed in my face.

The room was very clean, plates, cups, counters etc were all fine. Very nice for what we paid and no issues with it whatsoever.

Again after reading the reviews I knew what to expect in the morning for attending the pool. I was up and managed to get a sunbed and sat down to begin my day of sunbathing with my wee boy getting ready to jump in the pool. I realised that 5 minutes after opening the pool area, all sunbeds were gone but I could see about 4 bodies including myself and son. By 11am half the sunbeds were still unused which I think is a bit off. Also, there are about 55-60 round the pool and I think another 12-15 could be easily accomodated.

I read some reviews about staff being unfriendly and can say we had no issues at all. Staff were very kind and helpful.

The Hill of Death was nowhere near as bad as I expected. Yes it is a bit steep but depending on which route you take to the main strip, it is easily managable. My 60 year old mother managed it at least once a day when we went out for dinner.

My main issue with the accomodation is that once reception closes at 9-10pm, there is no one to police the grounds. One night after the Drag Show, the large spanish family's children decided it would be fun to mess about in the pool around 11pm. Incredibly loud and shouting and screaming till after midnight. Not great, and simply with someone on duty at night this could have been avoided. However, this was one main blemish on an otherwise very good stay.

Would visit again in the future

Room Tip: The smaller rooms to the left of the complex do look small and I could see a few arrivals not impres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C0linP29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    327
    187
    43
    33
See reviews for
212
426
23
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby in Ashfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Just arrived home from Bitacora having stayed 2 weeks here. This complex has potential for being a great find in Puerto del Carmen, far enough away from the main road but close enough to walk into. Reasonably clean, friendly staff. However, majority of guests were Spanish and forgot to pack their manners. The group just got bigger and bigger every day and they occupied a large area of the very small pool area, night times they were incredibly loud, 20 people in one apartment! This group always managed to get sunbeds as hotel staff always shouted them over to get their beds before any other guests were allowed onto the pool area, I did complain and this was stopped, as was the noise after complaining. Another Spanish family decided to remove our towels from our beds after we went for lunch, I had only just got onto the balcony, 10 minutes at most away from the beds to watch them throwing our towels off the beds, needless to say an argument took place, we did get our beds back...but really....is this a holiday?

The beds on the pool area was beyond belief, no queuing system, retired people running and jumping up on the fencing to throw towels overs, regardless of the guests who had stood waiting for 40 minutes. Hotel desperately needs more sun beds.

A family thought it was lovely for other holiday makers to listen to their very loud inappropriate music.

I would not go back to this complex because a two star rating obviously attracts 2 star guests, only booked it on tripadvisor comments and quite frankly the attractive price tag - but one day into the holiday I understood why it was an attractive price. Having been to Lanzarote three times previously, this was the only time I was glad to be going home.

Room Tip: avoid the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Returned home on Sunday 17th after a fabulous holiday. Chose Bitacora from the website as it wasn't a vast complex so we were pleased with the smaller site. Had a ground floor room which was rather tucked away but in the plus side it was quiet away from the pool area. Our accommodation had everything we needed but we spent very little time on the complex, choosing to go out every day and eat meals along The Strip. Didn't get involved in the sun loungers farce every day as we swam at 9 or 6 and did our sunbathing at the beach. The manager, Rodri, was a star and recommended some lovely places to visit on the motor scooter we hired for two days. All in all a very pleasant stay with no undue noise during the night and an enjoyable walk up the hill at least once a day. A great holiday and accommodation. Would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: Upper level with balconies looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Essexgirl554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The Bitacora is lovely friendly and clean the rooms are basic but everything you need in them the only problem I had was the block I was in was facing the main road now when I got the key I thought lovely pool side! but when I went in the patio was at the other side and as I was ground floor I was nervous about keeping the doors open so we put the chars out the front door to sit out on.we found so many short cuts down to the shops it only took a few minutes to get to the beach and pubs. We would definitely book again and recommend the Bitacora

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 423catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Where to start. Just got back yesterday and didn't want to leave. From the moment we arrived Rodrige on reception was a star and nothing was too much trouble. The apartments were good in size with everything you needed - kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge/freezer and we had pre-booked air con which was icy cold (just what was needed after the burning heat in the afternoon/ evening). The Bitacora pool bar was fantastic - Jen, Dave, Daisy, Jack and Sarah were the perfect hosts and treated us like family. Had brilliant nights in there both the BBQ and drag nights were bargain nights (10 euro for adults and 5 euro for kids). The pool was heated which was great for our little one as she played in it nearly 8 hours a day and didn't want to go anywhere else. Met some fantastic people. The comedy of running for sun beds in a morning made us giggle but you need to be ready and waiting for 9am if you want one because they all go in seconds. However if the towels have been there for an hour without been used the staff are more than happy to move them for you to use. 10 mins walk to beach, strip and old town and a 15 min walk back up the hill (which burns the calories off) or 3 euro in a taxi back if the feet are tired. Brilliant holiday and can't wait to go back.....is it too early to book return flights seen as though we only got back last night ;-) Fab fab fab thank you Bitacora for the best holiday ever!

Room Tip: Pool view for air con apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank missyjo2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We were there the end of July for one week. Check in was quick, I asked for a room with air conditioning and away from the pool bar, I got room as requested. The room was spacious and clean. Two beds in the bedroom and a sofa bed in the kitchen. Kitchen was well equipped. The pool area was lovely. The pool was deep but had a large ledge to sit on or lean against. The pool bar had nice food at reasonable prices. The location was good, the hill up to the apartments never bothered us, we would walk or get a taxi back from the main strip. There is also a handy little supermarket right next door to the apartments. We really enjoyed our stay. My only pet peeve would be the race for the sun loungers, the picture I put up shows all the loungers reserved at 9 am and nobody out in them. At the same time we only had one day where we didn't have a lounger. The supermarket down the way rents them, which I only found out o. the last day and would have done this if I'd have known.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank carryonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This place is a lovely place to stay. First of all every member of staff is friendly and will do anything to help the customers. The complex is lovely. Has a lovely pool and bar with Supermarket.

The rooms were nice but do need to be updated and are in need of repair. The beds were also a bit hard. However this is just a small gripe.

All in all the staff of the Bitacora gave us all their full attention and deserve huge praise.

One thing to look out for is Sunbeds, There is a frenzy every morning with people battling for sun loungers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinsRogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Las Lomas
Atlantis Las Lomas
#33 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#12 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#31 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Acuario Sol
Acuario Sol
#26 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#13 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Penita Apartments
La Penita Apartments
#6 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitacora Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitacora Club

Property: Bitacora Club
Address: Calle Alcorce 11, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bitacora Club 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for good value and great location, quiet, yet within easy walking distance of the old town, and main promenade, then look no further. Our 2 star complex is clean and well appointed. All apartments have kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge and 2 ring hob. The bedroom has 2 single beds. The living room has a sofa which doubles up as a single bed. The apartments sleep 3. But if kids are small (under 12) we can take a 4th person. For this you have a rollaway bed, and a supplement of 5 euro per day. Cots for infants are free. We change the sheets once a week, towels twice a week and clean your apartment 3 times a week. If you require extra towels, sheets, you can order these from reception for a charge. We have one block which has air con. This is the block with pool view and sun all day long. The supplement for the air con is 5 euro per day. From June to end of October, we do not accept requests for this block, as it is only available for those who wish to avail of the aircon (and pay the 5 euro supplement). Our TV, which is free, has ITV, Sky News, BBC1, RTE 1 and RTE 2. We have a friendly family run pool bar which provides breakfast and snacks throughout the day. 3 nights a week there is dinner and entertainment. Reception is open from 09.00 to 13.00 and from 16.00 to 21.00.WE NOW HAVE WIFI! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Booking.com, Onthebeach, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bitacora Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitacora Club Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bitacora Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bitacora Club Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing