We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Thompson kids club”
Review of Cinco Plazas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cinco Plazas
Ranked #27 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The apartments were great, very spacious. The staff could smile more.... The thompson reps were brilliant very nice bunch. The location it up a hill. But I managed it with a twin buggy but if you have walking difficulties you could find it a challange. Would highly recommend Toby Jugs 3 course meal and a glass of local wine less than €10 great if on a budjet. All in all I found that these where the best apartments in Puerto del Carmen if your travelling with Children if not then wouldnt stay here thePlaza Azul accross the street is gorgeous and not as many screaming kiddies ... Thanks again to thomson kids club great holiday:) the only let down was having to set your alarm for 6 to put your towel out its unreal !! the hotel really need to address this issue and thats why I wouldnt stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for apartments away from the main pool as the main pool is constantly full of crazy load Kiddies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sashDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,259 - 1,265 of 1,679 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

Arrived back yesterday morning, had a fantastic holiday and will be returing, we stayed for 10 nights

We went to check in and was given a room around the main pool which i didnt want so asked to be changed to around one of the other 2 pools which they did no problem, they put us in room 2110 which is in the Plaza Montana area

The room was fine, clean and tidy with everything we needed inc a bottle of water in the fridge, as they had changed our room they said we would have a wait for the cot but it arrived within 10 mins, we were on the ground floor as requested with a lovely terrace area, shade all day and sun came on in the evening so was nice to sit and have a drink in the evening, the shade was nice as our baby could have a sleep in her pushchair on the terrace in the shade, we had sunbeds outside our room round the pool so she was only a few feet away and we could see her and sunbathe at the same time - to the back of the apartment was just a wall so no view but i had no plans to sit staring out the back windows so this was not an issue

They seem to look after the complex and apartments very well, i didnt find any issues anywhere and we took walks around it all - one of the apartments was being re painted outside, they took off all the paint that was flaking and re painted
The little park was good, kids enjoyed it

The cleaner was lovely, came in the day after we arrived then every 3 days, she didnt really know english but she was very polite and tried her best to speak to us, always said hello and goodbye even when we were round the pool and not in the room, washed any pots we left and even folded our bed clothes up! she made hearts with the towels in the bedroom and flowers in the bathroom with towels and tissue, nice little touches.

If you are on the ground floor and want an early night just hope you get quiet people above you as like others have said you can hear alot but if you just mention to the people above that you can hear everything this might make them think to be a bit more quiet as they wont know its so bad as its not for them (this worked for us!)

No fighting for sunbeds as there were plenty and enough room round the pool for them

The pool area was lovely and clean (as was the whole complex), very peaceful, yes there were kids playing, mine included but really if you dont want to go on holiday and have children round the pool then go to an all adult place as kids will always get over excited, shout, scream, splash, its part of being a child and having fun, all the kids made friends and played together (with a few fall outs though of course!!) and the lifeguard (i think his name was enrique) was very nice, polite and great with the kids, there are a few lifeguards on and all swop around pools but you will know which he is when you see him
The pool is cold but once your in its fine, best to just jump straight in though!

The weather was fantastic, bit cloudy on our first day which made it quite cool if the sun went in and the breeze came (the island has a breeze) but then a heat wave came along so it was around 40 degrees on our last few days and getting hotter as we left, the breeze was very welcomed with the heat and kept it so it was not unbearable

We didnt really go to the evening entertainment, we caught the mini disco a few times but this is the same songs over again, the kids really enjoyed it and they played a couple of games giving lollies out to all kids as they got out and icecreams from the bar for the winners, the only show we went to was the reptile show - not really up to much, 2 birds and 2 reptiles but again the kids enjoyed it

We were self catering but they do a breakfast offer - buy 4 days and get 1 free, kids up to the age of 12 are free too and it cost just over 7 Euroes per adult for each day - all you can eat style - this worked out much cheaper for us than going elsewhere as we have 3 children so all were free, some days they had a buffett style on and others just orded it and they made it for you, there were the usual bacon (bacon was more like our bacon, not the normal spanish bacon you usually get with more fat than meat) sausage, eggs, beans, tomatoes, mushrooms etc, couple of fruit selections, yoghurts, mixed meats and cheese and breads / toast machine plus juice, and hot drinks - if you are planning on going just with breakfast included check if it will work out better to do it the way we did as they wanted another £300 for breakfast to be included at time of booking so glad i didnt waste that money when we got it for less than half of that booking it when we arrived
We tried a pizza at dinner but that wasnt great, they did do a BBQ on a couple of days which looked nice but we didnt try it

There are lots if nice places to eat near by but be prepared to get hassled night after night by the same people outside all the pubs
The places we ate at:

The spinniker above the supermarket next door - this was nice food, get a card from the lad outside who promotes it to get 15% off

The new world chinese at the bottom of the road on the corner to the right (as you walk towards the beach / main strip) very nice and friendly, polite staff, they do deals which are on a board outside

Don rafiel (doubt thats the correct spelling!) go to the bottom of the road towards the main strip and turn LEFT, its just a short walk up, it was lovely, they bring you warm bread with a garlic butter while your waiting for your meal (and yes they do add this to your bill but its not much)

The american indian cafe - this is not an indian, turn RIGHT at the bottom of the road on to the main strip - it sells a mixture of foods, we ate here a few times, pasta, chicken, steak, chops, pizza etc - the staff are nice and friendly, the kids loved the cocktails which in the eveing come full of sparklers and it has a part outside terrace with beach views (this is what attracted us to this place) and if you go to the welcome meeting you get a card for discounts there (we never went to ours so missed this!) - on the way there is a pub we always stopped out, loads of outside chairs, you cant miss it, staff wear green tops, again nice and polite staff and great views

Going right again one if the first few eating places you get to is an indian - do not go here, it is awful!!!

If you go right and walk quite far up past the mint shop there is another chinese with a glass front, this is really nice but i did prefer the new world chinese

We went near the harbour to eat once, the place was called something like 'la botega' it is near the police station and has a taxi rank outside, its a street back from the rest of the harbour pubs and the only place that didnt have someone outside trying to get you in, it was very busy but it was so nice, the best place to eat, as you walk in you can see all the fresh meat and puddings, the meat is cooked there too so you can see it, this really is a place to try.

One evening we went left at the main strip and walked about 5 - 10 mins, on the beach side of the road is a mini golf, trampolines and a small soft play area (also advertises an aquarium but this is no longer there) with a sea front terrace, we sat and had a drink in the sun while the kids played


We did use the kids clubs, not something we normally use but they were not overly busy and the kids wanted to try them and then we couldnt keep them away, they really enjoyed them, they also do sessions that you can pay for, some for 3 hours!

We really enjoyed our holiday and we will be returning to these apartments as we spent so much time at the pool we never got the chance to go to any of the trips we wanted to go to, it really was a nice relaxing holiday and of course the fantastic weather helped, we had a great holiday for a great price

Room Tip: We really liked our room, nice and quiet location, room 2110, shade on terrace in day, nice for when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank hjagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Well just back last night - weather was great. The location is quite handy but on the way up the hill you can see the place is a bit run down with a block of flats across from spenders pub housing refugees and one bottom flat had the looky looky men in it - it looked like steptoes yard outside with junk everywhere. As regards the complex, there are 3 different blocks, unfortunately we were in the one beside the reception and bar so it was the main one, block 3 actually. I e-mailed and asked for a nice sunny room and was ignored and we were put in a lower room that never saw the sun unless you stepped outside of the terrace so we pulled our sunbeds outside and lay there. There was a couple up the stairs with young kids so they had to pull the buggy upstairs?? why give them upstairs and us downstairs and we arrived at the same day although different times? The other two blocks are by far the best. The cleaners did not come in until Monday and we arrived on Thursday night but not too impressed. I would not go back as the place was full of screaming kids and we had spanish families for 3 days and they were well out of order as usual and never get into bother for anything - loud, running wild, lying on tops of stacks of sunbeds - bedlam!! no do not go if you want peace and quiet, was my mistake so if youve got kids and you like them running wild, then this is the place for you. Problem with cockroaches in some apartments. They are spacious but they need to replace all the sofas - this was more or less everyones gripe - they are bogging and ripped and broken!!! also they need a lick of paint around the stair areas and balconies come on Thomsons wheres your standards?? The rep Ryan was a lovely guy very nice and helpful, but the entertainment was dire - Stewart the entertainer is not allowed to speak through a microphone and music is not allowed either so it made the noise noisier if you know what I mean. I was annoyed that people got it cheaper than us for last minute booking - I booked in October last year for my husbands birthday. They very kindly gave us a wee certificate with happy birthday on it so that was nice. I would have been happier to have been in another block with a balcony and a bit of sun in the early evening but instead we got a dark dismissal room on the ground floor so for that reason I wont be returning here but will go back to the resort again this year - loved it, loved the pubs, beach, restaurants so were hoping to get a wee villa beside the sea and relax in peace and go out clubbing at night and enjoy everything.

Room Tip: No point they dont listen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Still here sat by the pool and really its all been said; walls are thin, pool is freezing, but its good value for money at the end of the day, and a good base for your holiday.
Nothing to do with the apartments but I have noticed a trend in the restaurants in town and this regards two things. Firstly some bring rolls and butter out which in the old days woud be complimentary but now they add them to your bill, and the second is if you order fajitas you wil end up ordering more wraps as you only get two and its not enough for your filling. Little things but worth lokking out for.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank copeagf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

just stayed 10 nights at Cinco Plazas which on the face of it is a very pleasant looking complex, well laid out into 3 separate areas. We were located in the Sol (red) by request as other family members were located there. The receptionist was happy enough to re-arrange our accommodation and upgraded us to a one bed without fuss or charge which was a nice touch however we did end up overlooking one of the many corner wall mentioned in other reviews. The apartment was large but basic and in need of a bit of TLC, particularly the bathroom and the sofa bed (ugh). Also the little corner shelf on which the toaster and electric kettle balanced precariously would have caused me to heave a heart attack if I had kids running around. The single biggest fault I found with the apartment was that it was cold. We had quite a bit of cloud cover during our stay so as a result of being in the shade anyway the balcony was too chilly to sit in and the sitting room was also quite cold so we ended up a lot on the back balcony overlooking the supermarket and road. Also the wall of the apartment are as reported very thin so insulation is non existent. Another significant issue was the the heating in the swimming pool was also off and fine if the weather is settled but under the cloudy conditions is was simply freezing no two ways about it. Food in the restaurant seemed cheap and tasted cheap so can't really comment beyond the one hamburger we ate. We also had an issue with big cockroaches but in fairness this was dealt with promptly when reported. On the plus side, the complex it self was well maintained, clean sunbathing areas and plenty of comfortable sun loungers. Life guards while not busy (did I mention the cold pool!) were very attentive making sure kids didn't get sunburned and generally keeping the pool area in order. If I was to return to Cinco Plazas (I'm not sure I would) I would defiantly make sure I didn't get an apartment either overlook by one of corner walls or below the step level as they are too cold and dark in anything less than very good weather. Tip: We have stayed in Lanzarote many times there is no doubt the European recession is hitting the resorts hard. Puerto Del Carmen with its too many bars and restaurants is suffering and as a result 'promotion staff' outside many of the establishments are very persistent bordering on insistent in their pitch for customers so perusing menus is not advisable.

Room Tip: Couples travelling without children should try and get a room located in either Plaza Montana or P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DublinFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just returned back from a two week stay at the cinco plazas apartments we had a one bedroom apartment, great apartments kept very clean and with all the facilities you need for a self catering holiday, the staff are very friendly and helpful with life guards at each pool there is a brilliant restraunt called nicos just down from the apartments the menu is smail but the food is great as stated in another review don't book transfers with the tour company at taxis are very cheap, would recommend these apartment and if we go back to lanzarote would stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank spoon56edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have just spent a week at Cinco Plaza Apartments in Puerto Del Carmen. We stayed in a one bedroom ground floor apartment which was very spacious with a large shady terrace area. The apartments were cleaned daily and the maid even washed up if we left anything in the sink! Kitchen had double ring hob, microwave, fridge, kettle, toaster and coffee machine and plenty of cooking pots and utensils. Bathroom with shower over which was very powerful (no hairdryer so remember to take one). All the staff were very friendly and service was good (they replaced our microwave within minutes of telling them it was not working) Plenty of sunbeds available at the poolside (there are three separate apartment blocks each with a pool) - we found it very peaceful and laid back around the pool which was great if you wanted to read or doze in the sun. Small supermarket at the complex and large supermarket just over the road. We were self catering and we ate out most days and found the quality of the food and service in the restaurants to be very good. Nico's restaurant just down the road on the way to the beach was excellent and I would really recommend it. If you fancy an 'english breakfast' you can get one for €2.50 including coffee in some of the resturants along the front. If you walk down the hill to the seafront there are lots of restaurants to choose from. You may get somebody outside each one to get you to go in but it's not too bad and they are very friendly, and if you walk on the promenade next to the sea you can check out the resturants from afar and then decide yourself where to go. Nice promenade, good beach, plenty of toilet facilities. You can walk along to the Harbour in the old town (turn right at the seafront), takes about 20-25 mins, then sit in one of the restaurants overlooking the sea and have some Tapas and Sangria - lush! If you turn left at the seafront this seemed to be the quieter side of the resort, very nice.
We had an evening flight home but the hotel has a courtesy room which you can book for half hour slot to freshen up, and a locked room to keep your luggage in.
Good location, great service, would recommend.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor one bedroom apartment which did not get any sun on the terrace but we were ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MandyT58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Plaza Azul
Plaza Azul
#43 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#14 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
803 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#7 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#22 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
354 reviews
2 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
2,300 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#31 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinco Plazas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinco Plazas

Address: Calle Anzuelo, 56, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £48 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cinco Plazas 2*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Atrapalo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Stayforlong S.L. so you can book your Cinco Plazas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinco Plazas Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Cinco Plazas Puerto Del Carmen
Cinco Plazas Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing