We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was ok”
Review of Cinco Plazas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cinco Plazas
Ranked #29 of 95 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Our stay was enjoyable and the apartment was cleaned everyother day, most of the staff were friendly especially the life guards but the some of the bar staff were impatient. The apartment was not is big as pictures suggest. The pools were clean & big. Although we didn't watch much, the evening entertainment that we did watch wasn't very impressive. But all together our stay was enjoyable but substandard.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    587
    248
    68
    49
See reviews for
765
460
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Me and my partner went to Lanzarote for the first time. We chose the Cinco Plaza for its location and good price. When we arrived it looked nice from the outside, with Large supermarker just seconds around the corner, selling lovely fresh bread and pastries and fruit each morning. Check in was easy and simple, and the friendly reception staff gave us clear directions to our room. The hotel is split into three sections, each with own pool. We were in the Plaza Montana. This was perfect for us as it is slightly quieter than the apartments surrounding the larger pool and kids pool. When we got to our apartment we were on the second floor, which is great as get a lovely spacious balcony over looking the pool. Room was spotless and huge for the two of us. Loads of kitchen equiptment to use for cooking if you wish. Only slight problem was the drains smelt a little so once you run the water to wash up in it smelt bad throught the apartment. The restuarant served good choice of food all day at cheap prices. Lovely ice creams!! Bar is on the small side, some times ran out of drinks due to busy period. Loads for the kids to do, definately would recommend this hotel for familes with young children. Kids club going on each day, loads of entertainment for kids at night, with games and amusments throught the hotel. Cinco Plaza is situated on a steep hill, but only a 3 min walk to the beach. Lovely quiet beach with sunbeds avauilable all day for 10 euro. Loads of resturants, bars and clubs, so something for everyone. We recommened the Wild West BBQ night, great laugh with free flowing drinks all night. And visit the Go-Karting track in San Bartholeme, 10 min journey and if you ring them before hand (english run) they will pick you up and drop you back off for free!!!! We really enjoyed our stay here, would definately come back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dafa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We arrived at around 7.30 pm checked in asked if we could have 2 rooms close to each other as we went in a group and they did sort that out :) we just got given a map as to wear out room was which wasent a problem . The rooms were very clean and spacious plenty of kichen utensils . BUT the rooms on a night was ridiculous how hot they wear even with all the windows open and fan on etc they defently need aircon built in that's for sure ! The pool area was nice . The pool bar seved some very nice food from morning till midnight plus drinks :) its a 5 min walk to the strip wear you will find a variaty of food bars shops etc note fags are very cheap :) very nice area . Note avoid niki beach night club the alcohol what they sell knocked a few people sick which we suspect they wear selling knock off alcohol :((( anyway up on leaving the hotel we asked to keep a room on till 5 pm as our flight was not till 8 pm but reception said no ! Anyway we booked the shower rooms instead which wear shocking very dirty the shower head would not clip on to the wall so water went every wear . All in all smashing holiday but the hotel needs to inpruve on quite a few things hope this helps

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Amybaby89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We found our 2 bed apt. fairly spacious. It was clean and fresh and we were lucky in that the people in neighbouring apartments were considerate. The cleaning staff, maintenance team and pool attendants were all efficient and friendly, and the complex is very central but not in a noisy location. So, even though we are not typical of the other guests who tended to be Irish families with young children, overall we found it an ideal base.

I've read other recent reports and I can confirm some of the comments - the TV and safe are to be paid for, avoid the wi-fi as it's useless, the crazy rush morning rush for sunbeds by ignorant people who dump their towels before taking an all morning stroll is a daily feature and most of the reception staff are downright hostile. We did not experience any bad behaviour from guests near our apartment, but there were groups of young adults saying in what is essentially a family complex; never a good idea. There are also a number of apartments - they tended to be the smaller ones - that were in shockingly dark and noisy locations.

So, I suppose it's largely down to a combination of what you make of it, the apartment and neighbours you get and your tolerance levels. Like us you could have a really good holiday, but on the other hand....

Room Tip: Upper floor and away from the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 896HNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We went 21 June to 5 July and stayed at the Cinco Plaza staying with my husband, daughter and mum. On arrival at hotel we were 'dumped' by the taxi driver on the other side of the road, so we arrived before the transfer coach, no rep and was told that room wouldn't be ready for up to an hour. Felt like we were an inconvenience at reception, staff not exactly helpful. We had to pay for the safe and TV with a part refund whe you hand the key and controls back. Channels not exactly great and not getting certain channels. When apartment ready was given the key and a map and sent on our way (2 bed apartments are at the furtherest away). Apartment was clean and spacious and not too bad if you ignored the mould in the bathroom. If you wanted loungers with a parasol you had to be downstairs for when the fabric ones we're unchained and to get you're preferred 'spot'. Good policy if towels left for more than 40 mins then the lifeguards are supposed to move them - this didn't happen very often and very selective. Entertainment at night not the greatest and tended to be late on. Kids disco only ran for 30mins, not very long. Kids club you had to pre-book, so if you didn't go to the entertainment like what happened to us, our daughter was disappointed. Bar staff again not the happiest and sometimes felt like an inconvenience when ordering. Husband had his ipad and paid 6 euros for wi-fi connection but couldn't get on as it was overly subscribed. Couple of places for food Nico's just down from hotel and Cafe la Ola (expensive but really nice and looks right over the sea). There is a slight hill so wouldn't advise anyone with walking difficulties stayin here). On the whole the complex could do with a freshen up. Wouldn't rush back, however we are going back next year but don't plan on spending much time here.

Room Tip: 2 bed apartments Plaza Amarillo more at this part. Room numbers starting with a 1 are 1 bed apartmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathison47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Just recently returned from staying at Cinco Plaza staying wiht husband, boys age 16 and 12. On arrival at Cinco Plaza there was no rp to great us. We were given a map at reception and told where to find our room. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment 3231, nice room, great views both ways, if not a bit tired, bath was damaged. boys beds uncomfortable so we gave them mattress toppers off our beds. Found maid service ok. towels did not smell very clean. Stuart was the animatation team, so as he was working solo he did the best he could. Reps was just a wate of space, never seen reps so miserable. Totally agree with a previous comment about been to many irish, not that i have anything against them but we felt like a minority. Was told later that Puerto del Carmen is an irish favourite resort.Some were very foul mouthed around the pool area. Not enough sunshades around pool so again as previous comments get down early. We upgraded to half board while staying there, got a better deal. Could not fault the restaurant staff or food. worked out cheaper then trawling around looking for food. Pool was not cleaned often enough, Husband had to report it twice. pool area not hosed enough. Suntan advisor very annoying, scare mongering people into purchasing his suntan cream for 19 euros. Would not return to Lanzarote as Puerto del Carmen very unkept and dirty, annoying been stopped every 10 yds to ask to go into bars and restaurants. This complex was recommended to us by the our local travel advisor in the Thomson Shop.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 449CaPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Ive just spent 2 weeks at Cinco plazas and thought after reading all the other reviews i should do one myself.

On our arrival- we were given two rooms around the main pool in the back corner facing a wall- the man on reception almost apologised for giving us the rooms before we had even seen them. We spent a few hours trying to change the room and although he was helpful he also maintained that there were no other rooms available; however after speaking to the rep- we were allocated different rooms 2215 and 3126. These were much better and from 2215 we even had a slight sea view!! :)

The rooms were cleaned about 5 times a week and linen changed once a week, the maids were very friendly.
The apartments were clean and we were given a bottle of water in the fridge as mentioned in other reviews. We were given one fan which worked fine – however in respect of air-conditioning this does not come as standard in the room but you can have it- I spoke to Thomson before we left and spoke to reception on our arrival- you can hire them directly from the hotel or they have a lease company who will deliver them the same day for about 28 euros a week.
The Tv- you do have to pay for but its not worth it- you do get some money back- but the channels are so poor and the wind interferes a lot.

The drains are not the best for smell- we found that they were worse in the morning- however if you kept the bathroom window open it wasn’t too bad. We were given towels which were on their way out but fine to use for your hair etc- but I would take your own towels as we did :)
The noise in apartments is not bad at all if you are upstairs but people downstairs can hear everything going on upstairs.

The pool areas were clean and tidy and the majority of beds are locked until 8.30- however as mentioned before there are very few sunbeds and depending on the life guard on duty if you left your towels on the beds for more than 30-40 minutes there could be whipped off- fine if all the life guards stuck to it but it did stop people putting them on at 8 and not coming down until 3.

The main pool had activates happening every day however it would have been better if someone had come around the other pools to let people know what was going on.
The resort is not the prettiest- , it doesn’t have the worlds best views and I was a little bit disappointed with this especially after it had been given a Thomson Gold award.

My Daughter made some lovely friends with some of the children there and she enjoyed the Kids club a lot, however there were some loud, rude, crude and crass people there who quite happily swore, play loud music and let there children run around screaming, shouting, swearing, fighting, splashing and being rude.

There were also a few groups of young people going on holiday to have a laugh which was fine- they could be a bit loud in the evening but they normally went out about 10/11 pm and mostly spent the day sleeping off their hangovers .

The hill back up from the shops is slightly steep- but not a problem at all- I had my mother who has a heart condition and my 6 year old daughter and we had no problem and its less than half a mile in length so don’t be put off.

The beach is lovely- but there are many other coves around which were amazing for snorkelling.( Taxi journeys cost 3-4 euros)

Restaurants were fine- all a bit samey –( be prepared for the touts) the oriental is yummy and I would recommend booking as there was often a queue outside- Puerto Calero- which is the port you go to for the catamaran and submarine trips is lovely for food several different restaurants and there is a gorgeous restaurant right at the end all white – expensive not really for children but the food was second to none.

The resorts resturant- did good breakfast in the morning- 2-3 euros and english bacon.

We also did the trip to Playa Blanca for the market on Saturday we did not do the trip available ( 10 euros each)- we took the bus from outside mulligans the number 61 which cost about 2 euros each but children under 4 are free.
The volcano is a trip worth doing as well.

Lanzarote is a Windy island but it was actually quite nice on the days the wind did drop the heat was almost unbearable.

The airport is very expensive for food and drink – 4 euros for water or a coke in all their shops so drink and eat before you go or wait for the plane lol.

We enjoyed our holiday very much there were good and bad points about the resorts and area.
I would not say it deserves a Thomson Gold award- but its fine for what it is.

I hope you find this helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Plaza Azul
Plaza Azul
#40 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#14 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#11 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Penita Apartments
La Penita Apartments
#7 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#13 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinco Plazas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinco Plazas

Property: Cinco Plazas
Address: Calle Anzuelo, 56, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cinco Plazas 2*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinco Plazas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinco Plazas Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Cinco Plazas Puerto Del Carmen
Cinco Plazas Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing