We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cinco Plazas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cinco Plazas
Ranked #28 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

Stayed in these apartments on Sept 14th for 1 week. Apartments are a good size, basic, but have everything you need for a self catering holiday.
Cleaners seemed to come in approx. every 2nd day. Cleaning service wasnt fantastic by any means, other than change the towels i dont actually know what it was that they did, but there is a sweeping brush in the apartment for you to do this yourself when you need to. This is the only negative of the apartments in my opinion.
The pool where of good size, loads of sun beds stacked up around the pool, never a problem getting one at any time of the day. Staff where friendly. We did not eat in the restaurant on site as there where so many nice restaurants in the area, and all of them far cheaper than that one.
You are in the perfect location for the beach / bars and restaurants. All are only a 3 min walk down hill. Hill is by no means a big deal, unless maybe you have walking difficulites, if not - no problem.
Turn right at the bottom of the hill for Mulligans Irish bar - great live music and about another 5 min walk down the road - try Dolce Vita for amazing Italien food (we ate hear 3 nights and had an amazing meal every time!). Have a great holiday! Wish i was back there now!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    579
    248
    68
    49
See reviews for
760
458
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anglesey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

Nice hotel, we have stayed there for the last four years (tenth trip to Lanzarote) and have always had a good holiday at Cinco. The complex is well maintained and the pools and pool areas are clean and tidy. The hotel was refurbished about five years ago and could now do with a coat of paint (being a bit picky)
Entertainment!!!!!! VERY POOR usualy starts at 21.30 and on some nights was over by 22.00 most nights there was no entertainment (unless you count one card of bingo and a childs toy bingo machine)
Bar/ Resteraunt DO NOT DRINK HERE UNLESS YOU HAVE MONEY TO BURN the bar prices are possiblie the most expensive around. The food is ok (for a snack) Breakfast was 7 euros each, but go down to the strip and get a BIG full english for 2.50 - 3.00 euros. We would have loved to eat and drink a lot more often at the hotel but when it cost 32.50 euros for a lunch time snack and a couple of drinks against 35.00 euros on the strip for full evening meals with wine etc. no contest!!
After saying all that we would go back there again. The staff are very good and helpfull and do have to put up with some right idiots.
Hope to see you all in 2010...........
Puerto del Carmen is a great place and we have lovely times there. However with prices increasing every year (by well over inflation) and the pound and euro being equal it is not the cheap holiday it once was. Lanzarote has got to be carefull it does not price itself out of the market.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

Stayed here for 2 wks in september, there was 6 adults and 5 children from the age of 3 yrs-16yrs old. we all had a fantastic time. Theres 3 big pools and a baby pool which is great. The maid came 3 or four times a week and left the apartment spotless everytime. The hill up to the apartments is not to bad , my mother is 65 and has a bad leg but she didnt hav a problem with it. most apartments in peurto del carmen are on a hill anyway. only bad thing i hav to say about these apartments are the price of tv, its 15 euro for a week or 3 euro a day and nearly all the stations are in germon. its 12 euro for the safe in apartment and it 36 euro for air con which is a waste DONT GET IT,its not very good and it has to be put out a window or door. Would definly go back to these apartments there great and staff are very helpfull. The drop in pub just 2 mins down the hill on the right hand side of the road is a great irish pub and so is the rare auld times pub in the old town.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fifiDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow,
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

Bad stuff - we had a cockroach in the bedroom of the apartment on our first morning. When we went to the rep meeting, we spoke to others who had several in the middle of the night. Others complained to the rep about the cockroaches - she only said to spray the apartment with repellent. So we sprayed the apartment every night, but we had several in the bathroom on the second last night. The roaches were very large and a nasty surprise at 4 in the morning. The beds also had plastic mattress protectors on, which we had to remove in order to get a good nights sleep. The level of noise until 4am from other guests was unacceptable. I felt as a family complex they should have been told to keep quiet. There were also people messing in the swimming pool one night at 2am. This is a shame as the location is very good and the pools and sun-bathing areas are clean and big. I've stayed in some dodgy places before, but never experienced cockroaches. I wouldn't take a chance on these apartments, even if you got a cheap deal.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WicklowBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

We stayed at the cinco plaza apartments from July 26th to august 9th. We are a young couple aged 18 and 19 and we really enjoyed our stay.
We stayed in a studio and we found it quite spacious. In the room you have a microwave, kettle, toaster, coffee machine, 2 cooking rings, a fridge freezer and all your usual utensils and cutlery. Our room came with a large fan which helped to keep us cool at night (especially when it was 36 degrees and in the middle of a heat wave.)
The pool was absolutely lovely but like anywhere you stay, you have to get up early and get a sun bed and there aren’t a lot of parasols. Most people put their towel on the sun bed and then don’t return till the late afternoon, but some of the staff were going around taking towels off of the sun beds that weren’t being used!
The location of the complex, we thought was perfect! You have like 3 decent supermarkets around you and the one on site sells English food! The prices aren’t too bad either! The beach is lovely and the sand gets very hot in the middle of the day, but we found that it was mostly busy at about 6 at night! There is a McDonalds on the main stretch and a burger king a lot further up. The hill isn’t too bad but will be very hard if you have small children! The quiet side of Puerto Del Carmen has some more supermarkets and restaurants and this is by turning right at the bottom of the hill. On the other hand, by turning right you get pestered by nearly every single restaurant! So to avoid this cross onto the other side of the road!
The staff on the complex were very pleasant and were always there to help and to take away your empty glasses. The reps – Andy and gemma were also very helpful when we organized our excursions. The maids are also very nice but don’t speak a lot of English. You get clean towels every other day and your bed gets made and the floors are mopped too. We went on the submarine trip (52 Euros); teguise market (15 Euros), rancho Texas Park and the volcano trip (49 Euros). We really enjoyed all our excursions and would definitely recommend them, especially the volcano trip – the camel ride is a good laugh and is optional!
The entertainment on site is also good. The children’s reps are very friendly and it seems like the kids enjoyed themselves. We enjoyed reps v guests and the bird and reptile shows. For 10 Euros you can get your picture taken with a bird or a snake! The prices of food and drink was also quite reasonable and you also have to pay tax on top but it really isn’t that much! There is a buffet breakfast for 6.95 and there is a menu which serves food all day and is also very tasty!
We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our holiday and we would recommend it to anyone! We will definitely be returning, maybe not next year as we have recently booked our holiday to CUBA :) but maybe a year or two after that! Hope this helps, any questions, just ask...

Many thanks
Rob and Shelley

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank little_miss24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

Stayed in these apartments for the first time in 2005, when they were just refurbished, we were in an apartment around the main pool, although the bathrooms were never done it seemed a nice clean place so we went again in 2007, and again this year, but what a difference, the maid service was three times a week, towels changed twice a week and beds once, we were in one of the times when the maid came to clean we had made the beds ourselves ( we were never sure what day we would be cleaned) she managed to dust, clean the bathroom, sweep and mop in just 4 minutes. Also previously you could watch most chanels free on the TV, this time nothing at all without paying for it. The bathroom towels and bed linen had seen much better days and the bathroom was not a place you would like to spend much time in (see picture). Tip - take your own coat-hangers there was only 12 in an apartment for 4 people and if you have a late flight you have to book the shower room in advance. We went with Thomsons and their coaches no longer drop off/pick-up out side the front of these apartments you now have to walk up the hill due to the new one way system as they say the coaches can't get round, but we saw other coaches of the same size manage well enough.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

Just returned from our hols and it was fantastic value for money. The hotel is clean and the staff are very helpful and polite. The beach and the main strip is about 5 mins walk away, the airport is 15 minutes (bus) away so transfer times are short. Rooms are cleaned every other day. There is no air conditioning in the rooms (it does get hot at night in the rooms) however you can hire mobile air conditioning units for 6 euros per day - well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripGuyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Plaza Azul
Plaza Azul
#37 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#12 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#11 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Penita Apartments
La Penita Apartments
#7 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#10 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#13 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinco Plazas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinco Plazas

Property: Cinco Plazas
Address: Calle Anzuelo, 56, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cinco Plazas 2*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinco Plazas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinco Plazas Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Cinco Plazas Puerto Del Carmen
Cinco Plazas Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing