We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fab Holiday”
Review of Cinco Plazas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cinco Plazas
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Fab Holiday”
Reviewed 15 March 2010

The Apartment was clean and very spacious. It seemed as though our apartment had just been refurbished as all the equipment and curtains were brand new. We were in room 3234 which was in a lovely location on the upper floor over looking the swimming pool.
We didnt eat at the accomodation but did have a look at the buffet they had for guests on Half Board and it did look really nice, with a variety of different foods every night.
The location of the hotel was fabulous. Right in the centre of Puerto Del Carmen. Alot of people have complained about the hill but to be honest it wasnt that bad. Once your at the bottom of the hill your right in the middle of everything. Plus there is a supermarket (Super Dino) right next to the hotel which is resonably priced. Much cheaper than the supermarket actually in the hotel.

We booked 3 excursions with Thomson. We went on The Gran Tour, Fuerteventura Sand Dunes and Teguise Market. I would definetly recommened doing the Gran Tour. You visit Timanfaya National Park and take a tour of both the North and South of the island. It is also worth going over to Fuerteventura to see the fabulous Sand Dunes and to visit Correlejo. The Teguise Market was good but i though it was a little over priced seeming as though we were only 20 minutes from the Market. We paid 16 Euros for the trip and everywhere else in Puerto Del Carmen was offering it for 6 Euros.

For people who would like to experience the whole island i would recommend jumping on one of the local buses (Numbers 1, 2 or 3) to Arrecife or/and Costa Teguise. In Arrecife you have the tallest builiding in Lanzarote. Its worth going up there as the view from the top is stunning, you can see the whole island.

As were Self Catering we ate at quite a few restuarants. I can recommened Top Gun which is to the left on the main strip. They do the best Steak and have really nice Chips. Lots of variety as well. Tequilla is another that we went to a few times. It is to the right on the main strip. The food wasnt very big portions but i would defiently recommend going there for a drink. They do really nice cocktails at reasonable prices. The Spinnaker which is next door to the hotel is not worth going to. The beer there is flat and very overpriced.
It is worth shopping around for drinks as most bars have offers like 2 for 1. With the rate of the Euro at the moment and how expensive things can be, this is a must do!

Overall we had an excellent holiday and i will be recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannyz_babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    588
    248
    68
    49
See reviews for
766
460
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Travelled to these apartments last july with my other half. We stayed in a one bed apartment. Reception staff were quick and friendly and showed us exacley were the apaprtment was. Apartment was clean, spacious, high ceilings, just what we needed for the week.

The pools were great, but sometimes people put towels down on beds and did not return all day. Only complaint about the pool area

Hotel is located on a slight hill, when I say slight Its not a 90 degree angle and some people are making out. Easily push a buggy up the hill and its only a few hundred metres to the centre and the beach is right facing you at the end of the hill.

Supermarket is ok, fresh rolls every morning but other products can be quite pricey. Shop in the local Spar shops.

No air conditioning but a fan was in our room not a major problem.

I am returning July this year and would recomment this apartment complex to anyone

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishGal085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We stayed here for one week in Sept.09 with our two girls aged three years and three months old. Cleaning ladies are the most friendlist staff we have ever come across, everything was spotless, kids pool was excellent as average size, entertainment was extremely quiet eg kids disco only had three kids at it as not many people staying in the resort during our stay unfortunately. I would definitely recommend these apts., excellent value for money. As it is situated at the top of a hill, coming back up the hill with a double buggy was a nightmare at times as it was so steep.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Stayed here in july 2008 there was 8 off uz all girls the rooms where basic but clean the pool areas where fine, the staff where ok the 1st nite we got there we where jus after gettin in bout 4ish n we where jus up talkin the we got a warning for been to loud after that we where afraid to talk, perfect for a family with young kids or if ye jus wont a quite holiday coz we where the only group between 18-2, grate nite life i would go bk jus not to them apartments, we paid 800euro each so i wudnt call it cheap.... Enjoy ur holiday :P:P

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieCx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2009

Cinco Plaza is a nice hotel for families with children. Me and my girlfriend spent a week there in December. We travelled with the Swedish charter company Fritidsresor. We chose half board but the hotel restaurant does not deliver big culinary experiences. You have to rent AC which probably would be a hell to live without during the summer season. The staff is friendly and service-minded and the cleaners do their job accordingly, they change towels every day and sheets once a week.

Biggest con is the paper-thin walls between the apartments. We lived on the second floor and heard adjacent and neighbours below speaking in a normal conversational tone and their kids play, scream and cry. Fortunately, everyone went to sleep at 10 pm. It would probably be less fortunate if we had an apartment near a road, which Cinco Plazas also manages.

Overall, however, Cinco Plazas is a hotel I would recommend if one accepts a bit less standard than we have at home.

Big thumbs up to Silvia who was the funniest and nicest reception-staff that always remembered our roomnumber.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank socialli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

we stayed at the cinco plazas from the 31st october to the 7th nov.we had booked to stay at the parque tropical and when we arrived there they told us there was something wrong with our apartment and that we would have to stay the week at the cinco plazas. I was not happy at all. but we were assured the hotel was better than the parque tropical and we could have free buffet breakfast for the week. dubious we made our way, a very short distance across the road were we were expected by a friendly member of staff. we were given the keys and made our way to our room 2212.
the rooms were extremly big the biggest we've ever stayed in the kitchen was well equiped. hob microwave, toaster, kettle, coffee maker and fridge. the tv you had to pay for which i thought was a bit out of order. The maids came every day and done the cleaning even washed dishes and put them away for you if any were there. They changed the bedding twice a week and the towels the same, this i thought could have been done a bit more often. The complex itself was spotless, three pools and the pools were constantly cleaned which is how it should be, but be warned they are like ice, never expierienced anything like it. The apartments are set on a slope 200 metres away from the main strip, there is a supermarket on site but pretty expensive but 50 yards away is a hyperdino which is very reasonably priced. 17c for a can of beer. there are tobbacco shops 200 L&B 17 euros, although they are supposed to be genuine i dont think they are, they have made in madrid under the flap when infact it should be imperial tobbacco nottingham. the carton is also not stamped and dont taste how they should. I bought a box in the duty free at the airport for an extra 2 euros. the box was stamped and the packets had imperial tobbacco nottingham on. so for the extra two euros get them at the airport, i will not make this mistake again. the perfume is cheaper back home, but if you do buy it go to Charlies its cheaper than any of the others. avoid the electrical shops most of the stuff in them is fake good copies from china but not good quality. as you walk down the strip you will be given leaflets to go into bars and restaurants after the first night this starts to become very annoying the way to avoid this is walk on the other side of the road and if you see somewhere you might fancy cross over to take a look. We ate at the Slowboat chinese buffet 6 euros adults. 4 euros children. this was by far one of the nicest resturants we ate at and you can eat as much as you want. i sought this place out after reading reviews on here, its just past mcdonalds down a little side street. The galleon which is to the left as you come onto the stip was also very nice and reasonable.AVOID THE FLYING DUTCHMAN after waiting 35-40 mins for the meal my husbands order came out wrong. i had 2 burnt to a crisp roast potatoes 2 small slices of beef rock hard cabbage and rock hard mash and was cold very expensive too, avoid this place,only place we had a bad meal. now for the weather when we arrived the 31st Oct it was scorching hot, not a cloud in the sky this lasted until the tuesday, then after that it was very cloudy and windy, make sure you take a cardigan for the night time as it becomes very chilly. Overall we had a great stay here wud have been even better if we had more sunny days. i would deffinatly return for a winter break here again next year as we really enjoyed the apartments and great location

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiverpoolShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Stayed for 11 nights starting 11th October with couple of mates and we really enjoyed our stay at this basic but comfortable apartment hotel.

Previous reviews mention the cost you could pay, safety deposit box, the TV (didnt bother most local bars had the footie, Sky Sports News and X Factor etc on so no problem) and the lack of AC unless you hire it (it was cool enough with the windows open so again didnt bother this time).

Room was quite basic but did the trick for what we wanted, people with kids and teen may want to bring other entertainment and would certain need to think about hiring the AC if it was any warmer.

Complex has three pools, our room was right on one of the smaller pools and of course you had usual fight for sunbeds as only seemed to have about a dozen adjustable ones the rest were ok but you had to lay down pretty much flat, (you can hire cushions but we didnt).

We spent most days relaxing by the pool reading or listening to tunes on our ipods but the main pool has organized "entertainment" music waterpolo etc if you like that kind of fun, cant comment as we didnt try it.

Loads of bars and restuarants down the hill and on the main strip, the hill isn't too bad dispite a dodgy ankle and back but people with mobility issues could well struggle.

Lots of reps trying to get you into clubs and restaurants some take no for an answer some dont and this can get annoying but comes with the territory I suppose.

Would recommend you see the guys and girls at Spinnakers the local Irish bar, the owner was a top guy, a former fisherman who retired to the sunshine, you'll get a great breakfast or meal there and entertainment in the evening including an excellent duo called the Jager Brothers, great banter and great tunes, cheers guys loving your work! Also the guys at Spenders (large beer 2Euros) were really friendly and showed upto three games on Champions League and Premiership evenings/afternoons. Also don't miss the Usual Suspects in Mulligans, who were absolutely excellent too.

So much choice in the types of food, Indian, Chinese, Mexican, Steaks, Fish, Italian, Roasts etc etc, didnt have a bad dinning experience in the whole time I was there.

Tried a couple of organised trips including dinner at Timanfaya National Park cooked by the heat of the volcano, a little expensive for what it was but never to be repeated experience I guess. Also did the Island tour including a camel ride, this took in the volcano too so I would recommend one or the other to people, a little too much volcano otherwise!

To sum I would recommend the Cinco and Puerto del Carmen to people with families and groups of friends looking for a sunny, relatively cheap, fun time, it's a three star appartment, dont expect 5 star luxury and you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrimper72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Plaza Azul
Plaza Azul
#40 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#13 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#11 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Penita Apartments
La Penita Apartments
#7 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#14 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinco Plazas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinco Plazas

Property: Cinco Plazas
Address: Calle Anzuelo, 56, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cinco Plazas 2*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinco Plazas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinco Plazas Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Cinco Plazas Puerto Del Carmen
Cinco Plazas Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing