We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday! Highly recommended accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Florida Apartments
Ranked #51 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday! Highly recommended accommodation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

After reading various reviews on here we were quite weary about staying in the La Florida apartments but upon arrival all of our doubts disappeared. We were welcomed by friendly staff and shown to our apartment. This was very clean and roomy with plenty of wardrobe space etc. Everything you could need was catered for and if you forgot anything like me (I forgot my hairdryer) there is a rental service which is very keenly priced. The apartments are cleaned almost every day with plenty of clean towels left every other day. Despite being off a main road you hear no noise from traffic and hardly anything from adjoining rooms. The pool is very clean and tidy and it is almost as if you have your own place each day as people stick to the same area and other holiday makers there are very friendly. The apartments are situated in a very convenient location being only a 5 minute walk from the Old Town harbour with its various restaurants and bars so there is plenty to do. We found these apartments excellent and will definitely be going back again. Highly recommended so please don't listen to any bad reviews. The only downside is that they are situated up a hill and don't have lifts but this is well advertised and staff will go out of their way to ensure that your stay is very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishHolidaymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    211
    103
    33
    17
See reviews for
94
231
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lanzarote
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

me and my wonderful boyfriend went on this amazing holiday, i would recommend it to anyone we loved everything about it. apartments very clean pool area lovley just best holiday ever......

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland Co Armagh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

myself (female 24) and my mum stayed here for one week. Location is excellent. Based in old town, but only a five-ten minute walk to new town & bar strip and five minute walk to shopping centre.
La florida is basic but clean and safe. good size apartment but no air conditioning which was a bit of a problem - couldnt have coped july/august time!
pool area was lovely - plenty beds but only the early risers get the umbrellas.pool bar open till 5pm, food was ok - we usually went to supermarket and got crusty rolls ourselves.
You must eat at the Purple Turtle out of La Florida and up the hill a bit its on your right. good food, excellent service. ate breakfast, lunch and tea here.
Mulligans bar on strip was our local! good irish bar - live music everynight beginning at 10.30. We prefered the disco bars than the clubs, they were quite open and airy.
Be warned people drink, especially imports such as bacardi breezer and magners, is quite expensive - safer on the vodka and shots!!!
Would recommend la florida but again air con is needed!
oh yes the no lift issue - we were on fourth floor, i didnt mind the walk but my mum had a sore knee and it was a bit of an issue - try and get second or third floor (rooms beginning with 3 are the best).
Drag show at Flannigans show bar just down hill from hotel - good night.
chineese just down hill and up to the left (across road from Flannigans) was best place we ate - portions massive and food delicious!
Tina Turner was brilliant in the Irish harbour bar (Tue/Thurs strarts around 11.30/12pm)
loved lanzarote will be back next year (if i can afford it).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abigailwhitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

apartments are great for the money you pay for them, whole complex is nice and clean. reception hours are rubbish so you spend most time using the side entrance but thats fine as entrance to reception is a bit urgh but fine once inside. some reviews complained about noise but in whole week only had one noisy night, bunch of girls coming back drunk and sqeeuling, running into pool but night guard soon put a stop to that.. pool bar served decent grub usual english stuff but could be a bit slow sometimes as only ever saw one person serving and cooking. the resort has lots of nice steep hills so not made for those with mobility issues. hills can be slippy but just take it easy on them. old town bars were good best one we went in I never caught its name but look for sign that says cervesa san miguel and a huge screen inside that they show music videos on, decent restaurant good portions decent prices was el ancla . new town try new world chinese restaurant, the flying dutchman restaurant then save yourself some euros and stay there for bars rather than atlantic square (8euros for 1 drink!!) got to try sunset beach bar - great music quiz, lovely friendly staff then underneath that go to titos - great music, kareoke some entertainment again friendly atmosphere then hit caesers disco - great music, DJ does requests, dance all night but expect a late one. avoid redz II we are 2 young females and felt very uncomfortable there. other than that had an absolutely awesome hol and only got back this morning but am missing it already.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocktailkittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

stayed here for a week and it was perfect,we booked a week before so didnt know what to expect but i can assure you it is perfect for what you pay.its located in the old town only ten minute walk to the new town.the hill is not as bad as everyone makes out to be.apartment has everything you need all kitchen utensils,tv and safe you can hire for week,rooms were cleaned 5 days and towels change reguarly.really big pool,too deep for children.supermarket downstairs.cant go wrong with this choice you get what you paid for and more.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stayt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

My fiance and I spent just over a week at La Florida after checking out of a previous complex which we found unacceptable for our two week holiday. We were pleasantly surprised to be relocated at La Florida, which was only just down the road! A complex of about 80 or so apartments, set back from the road in a quiet location, but still within easy reach of shops, supermarkets, bars, restaurants and the Old Harbour. I suffer with some mobiity issues, but access to the apartment was ok. However, I would say that Puerto Del Carmen in its entirity is not conducive for people with mobility issues or for wheelchair users in general, as there are so many steep hills and steps. We found Costa Teguise to be mostly on the 'flat', which would be better.

The reception area is spacious and has internet facilities at 1 Euro per 10 mins. The staff on reception cannot do enough - if you need anything just ask! We asked for extra pillows on the way to popping to the shop and when we returned just 5 mins later, bingo, there they were! Both receptionists speak English, one much better than the other though!

The first floor apartment we had, (although there are 4 floors), comprised of a bedroom with twin beds already pushed together, large wardrobe space, vanity mirror and cabinets. Great for all your clothing etc. The kitchenette was clean and well equipped with crockery, cutlery, etc. A breakfast bar, sofa and single seat are all located in an open plan set up. Televison costed 2 Euros per day and provided 3 or 4 English channels. Every apartment has a balcony with either pool and sea view or just sea view, so great views - especially from floor 2 upwards! The balcony has washing lines, table and four chairs and lighting, so you can sit and watch the world go by and the sunset! Clean bathroom with bath, shower, wc and sink. Clean towels every other day and clean bed sheets every other day.

Locally, about a 3 minute walk and you have a number of shops, supermarkets, bars and restaurants. THE PURPLE TURTLE and THE RED ROSE are excellent for your usual home cooked comfort food at good prices with friendly staff and further down towards the Harbour LA CASCADA and EL BAROUILLE are excellent in service, quality of food and price, for that something a little more special. The fish is particularly excellent!

La Florida are in a good location, however, the walk up the hill can be a little tiring if you have mobility issues, like myself, so I wouldn't entirely recommend it for people who are wheelchair bound or have severe problems with walking, or breathing! Just being honest!

Overall, we felt the price we paid for the service we got and the accommodation, was good for the money. These apartments are well worth a try if you are looking for a budget holiday and good holiday location. The weather was also excellent and didn't drop more than 35degrees for the whole two weeks we were in Lanzarote. However, there was sometimes a bit of a brisk breeze, so take a cardi or similar for the evenings. I understand that September is the best time to go weather wise.

We would definitely return to La Florida and would recommend it to our friends if they wanted good quality, budget accommodation. Infact we may go back later in the year for another week of sunshine!!

Accommodation worth a try!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunChaser75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

I went with my boyfriend for a week, the apartments arent fancy but they are clean and have everything you need. The problem was that the walls are very thin and you can hear everything and everyone, we were kept awake by a group of slags in the room next door coming in drunk at 5am every morning screaming and making a racket, and just generally lots of drunks slamming the side gate and making lots of noise at stupid hours in the morning. If you like peace and quiet i wouldnt recommend staying hear, but if you dont mind the noise then go for it, its cheap and value for money. The pool area is kept clean, the water is very cold but its just what you need in the summer as it was 30 degrees everyday! Supermarket just downstairs, very convenient. Lots of pubs and clubs around, about a 10 minute walk to the seafront, the sea is absolutly lovely. Lots of places to eat. Only 3 euros for a full english breakfast!!! Yummy!! You must go on excursions the country is beautiful! Overall a good stay, apart from the noisey drunks. But just buy some ear plugs from the chemist and you should be fine.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picklefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#10 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Fariones Hotel
Los Fariones Hotel
#15 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#5 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Los Pueblos Apartments
Los Pueblos Apartments
#55 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luz y Mar Apartments
Luz y Mar Apartments
#50 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
BelleVue Aquarius
BelleVue Aquarius
#76 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Florida Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Florida Apartments

Property: La Florida Apartments
Address: C/ Reina Sofia, 30, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Florida Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Superbreak UK so you can book your La Florida Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Florida Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
La Florida Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen
La Florida Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing