We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were on half board basis and the food was really good and did not get bored of menu choices as had various nights eg curry, BBQ. Restaurant staff were all brilliant especially Fiona at breakfast who was always cheerful, extra helpful and made the children smile. No disco for kids in eve but they were just as happy to run around outside and play. Stayed in bungalow which was good and next to the smaller pool so very handy. Beach is very nice and few min walk. Would stay again.

Room Tip: We had bungalow which was very handy being so close to pool and not having to worry about balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ness07713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,535 - 1,541 of 2,231 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

stayed as a couple in March, excellent service & food, friendly staff and very clean. Matagorda is quiet but a 5 Euro taxi ride from Pueto del Carmen if you want more choice of resturants.

Recommended, would stay there again, something we do not normally do.

Room Tip: All seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnJ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have been going on holiday to lanzarote for last 12 years and have been staying in costa sal twice and sometimes three times a year for past five years having stayed all over the island I find the costa sal to be the best I have ever stayed in. The staff bar,dining room,and especially reception are the friendliest and most helpful in lanzarote. Special thanks to Amelia in reception also the reception manager and the hotel manager who all really went out of there way to fit us into costa sal though they were fully booked . I was also amazed to find that they are still upgrading the place fantastic new sun beds and umbrellas also updating reception area didn't think it needed any upgrading as you will not find a more perfect place to stay in lanzarote

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Geraldine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerhanlon, Director of Sales at Costa Sal Villas and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

First of all we would all like to thank you for your loyalty to our hotel over the years. We feel honoured to have guests who keep coming back year after year. And like you, in some cases several times a year. I think it is fair to say, our Costa Sal family increases every year and it is lovely to see the familiar faces and catch up with old friends., Your feedback is very valuable to us. As a repeat costumer you can see the changes over the years and we are very glad that you noticed all the changes especially the umbrella and sunshades. And next time you come back, we will check you in at our lovely new reception area! I will pass on your comments to the staff who will really appreciate the recognition. Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Costa Sal is good as most reviewers say, although I would hesitate to call it perfect. The grounds and the pools are immaculate. It is situated almost at the end of the runway, so there is aircraft noise without doubt. The beach at Matagorda is lovely. We enjoyed the bar and the restaurant - the staff were very friendly. We had a standard apartment which was OK but the furniture was a bit dated and the bed was too hard for my friend's liking. We booked a Thomson package - the flight was great but the transfer very slow considering the close proximity of Costa Sal to the airport. The Thomson rep tried to get us an upgrade to a better apartment, although it would not have been available until a few days after we arrived. We felt that the extra charge was too much considering the fairly high cost of our Thomson package so we declined. Overall we enjoyed our holiday and would probably go there again for winter sun. The pick-up when we left was late and the check in queues at the airport for Thomson flights very long, so we were pushed for time. I would in future book a superior apartment or better direct with Costa Sal, organise my own flights and take a taxi from/to the airport. Overall I think it would be better value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexSunseeker63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and myself had a five day break in a luxury villa suite in march the suite was gorgeous and the hot tub was wonderful we really didn't leave the complex on a night as the food in the bar was excellent as was the entertainment . We have been coming to costa sal for the past 17 years and hopefully will be for the next 17 . I would recommend the villa suite as a treat I'm hoping to be rebooking before end of year !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We travelled to Lanzarote in mid March having booked a hotel in the Matagorda area. However, due to the (extremely noisy) refurbishment of a neighbouring hotel, and our hotel being fully booked we were forced to seek alternative accomodation. What a stroke of luck! We called to the Costa Sal with our dilemma, and although full, they promised us a room for the following day. The staff on the reception desk are to be commended for their friendly and helpful manner. In particular Amelia, who is always so polite and ready to help. Our accomodation was a 2 bed roomed villa, which was magnificent. Beautifully and very tastefully furnished throughout. Lovely spacious living area with flat screen TV (inc. english channels) large kitchen complete with every utensil you could possibly need. Two very spacious bedrooms with very comfortable beds. Large bathroom with walk in shower. Our villa had an enclosed patio area to the front complete with sun loungers and patio furniture, which was wonderful for some quiet sunbathing, but would also be perfect for families with small kids as the enclosed area would keep them from wandering off.
The complex itself is superb, very well maintained and spotlessly clean. The house keeping staff are very friendly, and very thorough. There are two pool areas, the one near reception has a large adults pool as well as a kiddy section. Plenty of comfortable sun beds and a very helpful lifeguard. The weather was lovely during our stay and the pool was not cold, even for March! There is a well equipped supermarket in the complex for self catering guests. The bar offers entertainment most nights and the restaurant has a fantastic menu which is very reasonably priced.
The location of the Costa Sal is wonderful. Quiet and peaceful, yet only a few minutes walk from a variety of shops and bars. There is a bus stop across the road, where you can catch a bus every 20 minutes to any where along the strip for €1.30.
Having stayed in a number of hotels and apartments in Puerto del Carmen / Matagorda over the past few years, I can truly say our stay in the Costa Sal was by far the best. Many thanks to Geraldine for your help with our dilemma.
Fantastic accomodation, friendly and helpful staff, wonderful location. Everything you need for a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

On arriving very quick check in, nice place clean and tidy grounds. The bar was a disappointment, glasses warm for the beer and bottled beer not chilled at all and they came out of the fridge. Overall lovely place, close to everything and buses so easy to catch and regular ideal spot for holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesley9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,839 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
615 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aqua Suites
Aqua Suites
#2 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,754 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
492 reviews
3.0 mi away
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel
#6 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sal Villas and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sal Villas and Suites

Address: Calle Diagonal 6 | Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Costa Sal Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £71 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa Sal Villas and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sal.... The hotel that brings the definition " Home away from Home" to life! We pride ourselves on making our guests feel like family. From you arrival in our bright and modern reception area, where you are greeted by one of our very friendly receptionists. To the Bar/ Restaurant/ pool bar.You are always made to feel welcome and at home. We offer a wide range of options for single travellers, couples, friends and families. Everything from compact studios to luxury villas complete with hot-tub. Many reasons why our guests come back year after year! So read our guests feedback here on this forum. And get booking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Costa Sal Villas and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sal Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Costa Sal Apartments Matagorda
Costa Sal Apartments Hotel Matagorda
Costa Sal Apartments Lanzarote
Costa Sal Lanzarote
Costa Sal Villas And Suites Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing