We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely bungalows, perfect location, just what we wanted”
Review of Nautilus Lanzarote

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nautilus Lanzarote
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely bungalows, perfect location, just what we wanted”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Stayed here for 10 days with hubbie and 11 yr old daughter. We had a 2 bed roomed bungalow just beside the pool. The whole complex is perfect for family's with young children, elderly people and of course people with restricted mobility. There was a mixture of people staying and our daughter was never without a friend. Our bungalow was huge and we had more than enough space for us all, 2 very large bedrooms, 1 and a half bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen with everything you need to cook (never got round to cooking though!) and a large living area. Housekeeping came almost everyday except for Sundays and replenished loo rolls, towels etc. I have to state that housekeeping don't throughly clean the bungalows and don't wash dishes etc. I had to wash the floors myself a few times as it was never done by the cleaners so bare this in mind if you have toddlers crawling around. The poolside location bungalows are ideal so try to insist in one of these. Sunbeds around pool are plentyful. Pool was lovely and couldn't fault it. The Nautilus is about a 3 minute walk from the shopping centre where there are lots of bars/cafe's and restaurants to choose from so really no need to cook. There is also a Spar where you can buy anything you need including lovely frozen seafood. Also, we never paid more than 5 euro to PDC if you prefer more of a variety of bars and restaurants. There were a few things, in my opinion, that Nautilus management could do to improve which is why I give it the rating I did, and they are; not to charge extra for everything eg. 3 euro for a shower before you depart if you've vacated your bungalow earlier in the day, have ALL bedrooms air conditioned (they did mention in an earlier review to request this before your stay which we did and didn't get, it gets extremely hot at night), lastly (and as mentioned in other reviews) ,one of the the lady's at reception seriously lacks people skills, while she might be extremely good at her job, she lacks the requirements to be dealing with guests. Although nothing was a problem to the male receptionist, EVERYTHING was a bother to her. One last thing, a snack bar would have been nice, especially at lunch time. There is no bar in Nautilus, which, in our opinion was a good thing as one of the best things about our stay was the peace and quiet at night. Don't book airport transfers, a taxi only costs a few euro and the hotel can take bookings for local attractions for Last Minute, the local travel company which are ecellent. Overall, well worth the stay and would definately go again and recommend to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Contact Nautilus directly for any requests and would recommend a bungalow by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LedaGiordano, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Dear Guests:
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. And, of course we will take note of the bits and pieces that did not 100% satisfy. Your opinions are very much appreciated as we are always looking for ways to improve. And because we are in an peaceful area, just 5 minutes of a taxi ride from Puerto del Carmen you could enjoy the peace of Nautilus, something that our guest appreciate very much. Next year we will be closed for six week for more improvement so hopefully we will be getting better

We hope to welcome you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    168
    35
    15
    5
See reviews for
302
367
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We booked a holiday to Lanzarote as a surprise for my mum, who has limited mobility and uses a wheelchair. Nautilus bungalows were absolutely ideal for her, everything was flat or had a ramp leading to it which my mum really appreciated. Despite being fully adapted for wheelchair users we did not pay an extortionate rate (tip: book directly with the bungalows via their website rather than going through an agency- I first learned about them through a travel agency specialising in holidays for people with mobility issues and they were asking for an insane amount of money).

The bungalow itself was fantastic, very clean and modern and most likely recently renovated (everything was IKEA and not dropping to bits). My mum had everything she needed and I agree with other reviewers who say it should be classed higher than just 2 stars. We seemed to have a maid visit every day apart from Sunday, sometimes they were in a while cleaning/making beds, other times they just dropped off fresh towels. We had plenty of clean sheets and towels throughout the week. The pool was clean and there were plenty of sunloungers. There is a welcoming family atmosphere and other guests were of a variety of nationalities, loud boozy party goers would have looked very out of place here. And despite being designed for wheelchair users it wasn't full of elderly people (not that I have anything against elderly people but ironically it can be intimidating when everyone is 50 years older than you!)

So you may be thinking why just 4 out of 5 and not 5 out of 5? Just a couple of criticisms, mainly the fact we didn't have air conditioning and staying in July/August meant we were very hot during the night even with the ceiling fans on constantly. The shop, while convenient, was very expensive, as was the rental rates for mobility equipment. We rented a walker for 7 days which came to 56 euros which we thought was a bit steep but I guess you pay for convenience. We used the pool hoist for my mum, who hasn't been in a swimming pool in years and I think was quite looking forward to the experience, but unfortunately the seat stops just as you reach water level and doesn't lower you into the pool (not sure if this is normal as we have never used one previously). The staff were all very helpful and pleasant, particularly a gentleman who spoke very good English and several other languages it seemed. This is with the exception of one female member of staff who looked permanently ticked off for some reason.

Overall a very enjoyable experience though and absolutely ideal for disabled travellers, we would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley-wayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LedaGiordano, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear Sirs,
Thank you very much for your opinion and impressions about our resort. We are happy that you enjoyed and like the adapted apartment.
We should inform you that we have apartment with A.C .if you wish ,next time please contact us directly as this year and request the apartment with A.C.
The pool hoist is working exactly like you describe.
We really appreciate that you find Nautilus Lanzarote a perfect place for wheelchair user , and just to let you know , tomorrow I will have a meting with an in charge of the Town Council to be inform about the new plan of refurbishing for the area of ( Tias , Puerto del Carmen) to improve the town with a accessible beach ,and to study the situation of the barriers for wheelchair user in town ,to give you all,the best holiday that you deserve when in Lanzarote again .
Best Regards
Nautilus Lanzarote Teem .
Leda Giordano
Manager Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

really enjoyed the bungalows. they were very clean and hygenic. kids had a playground and mini golf right in front of the bungalow. there was a very large kiddie pool and a great swimming pool. they place was being done up while we were there, but it didnt effect are enjoyment of the complex. there was a very friendly male receptionist who was very helpful but some of the others had trouble with english. the shop down stairs was overpriced but handy if desperate for something in a hurry. but there was a good spar down the road in the shopping centre that was reasonable. there should have been more bins around the pool area. the cleaning ladies were very good but did put an ashtray in the sink with all the dishes.. very modern bathrooms and kitchens and well kept grounds.recommended pub near by would be the vegas lounge and restaurant would be sirroco. would love to go again

Room Tip: book through the link on trip advisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gedIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LedaGiordano, Nautilus Team at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Dear Guest
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is a pleasure when people leave their positive comments on tripadviser.
We always try very hard to comfort everybody and meet your expectations so you go home with nice memories about Lanzarote and Nautilus Lanzarote Bungalows
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Lanzarote any time.
One of our goals is to provide a good service to our guests and keep on improving in new technology environment and quality .
For next time I wish that you contact us directly to help you in the best way that we can .
With the best regards
Best Regards,
Nautilus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Just got back from 10 nights at Nautilus Bungalows and overall I have to say that the resort itself is impressive. The room we were given 'No 6' around the corner from the pool area was unique and different from every other bungalow on the complex in size(bigger) and design. Our bungalow was tastefully designed, with a private patio area away from the hussle of the complex. The kitchen had all mod-cons that you'd expect with self-accom but the fridge/freezer was useless and milk lasted 24hrs before you had to throw it in the bin, the childrens lolly pops bought on day 1 were still not frozen by day 9.... so be aware. The pool area was very nice, and kept v. clean but the decision to use dark tiles on the area around the pool is truely bizarre as at times they got so hot they were unbearble to walk on. The complex has a small but well stocked supermarket, but it is a tad expensive in comparison to the Spar located in the arcade across the road. The complex has a small childrens play area and crazy golf course which gives the children a break from the pool.

One of the main reasons we booked this resort was because of the restaurant on site. Now, to arrive at the beginning of the summer season to find that they're renovating the restaurant and for it to be out of service for the duration of our holiday without any prior notice was v.disappointing, and it has to be said, the timing is ludricous.

On booking our accomodation last November, we requested( my brothers family & mine) that our bungalows be next to each other. Now I appreciate that this can't always happen, but we were quite literally the furthest point away from each other that we could've been considering we paid for poolside accomodation.

Our final criticism occured as we left Bungalow Nautilus to go home. To some this may seem as nit picking, but to us, it peeved us off. We had asked the guy in reception to order us 2 taxi's to take us to the airport, as they arrived 8 of us waiting in reception picked up our luggage and proceeded to leave. Now, this chap on his own who was no more than 5yrds away never once looked up from his computer screen to either ask us if we enjoyed our stay, or to wish us a goodbye. Nice to see our stay there was appreciated, thanks very much.....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toxteth_OGrady77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LedaGiordano, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Dear Sirs,
Thank you very much for your opinion and impressions about our resort. We are happy that you enjoyed our VIP “Casa Artista” apartment. And in case if there is something wrong with the equipment in the apartment we always advise to our guests to come to the reception and we will send our maintenance stuff to fix (or to change) the item which is not working properly.
We should inform you that we are not going to have a restaurant. We advised to all travel agencies about it 6 month ago. We will improve breakfast service in our social room with library, table games, big screen TV.

As for the apartment’s position – we do no confirm neither the apartment number nor its position, normally our guests may do the request to the travel agency, we always try to do our best to full fill it, but they know that it is not a confirmation.
Anyway we hope that in general you were happy staying with us and we are looking forward for seeing you and your brother’s family staying with us again. For next time I wish that you contact us directly to help you in the best way that we can.
With the best regards
Leda Giordano
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Went to stay at Nautilus in april 2011 with my partener my sister and her husband for a nice quiet holliday, we wernt dissapointed it was one of the most relaxing holliday's we have ever been on .The bungalows were spaceous and spotless and had our own beds, table and chairs and umberella outside so no need to go to the pool if you didnt want too. The whole area around was lovley and so well kept. A few mins walk to the beach,shops and resturants and,a few mins in a taxi wil take you to Peurto Del Carmen.
The walk along the beach is walking and cycleing only and is kept very well with gym equiptment alomg the way for the more energetic.Over all its the nicest plase we have ever stayed in and would have no problem recomending Nautius Bungalows to my friends. It is esp good for wheelchair guests.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bredadelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LedaGiordano, Nautilus Team at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Guests,
We are glad that you spend such a nice time in Nautilus. We hope that when you arrive on August you will be nicely surprised by all renovation works which are going on now.
Looking forward for seeing you then.
With the kind regards
Nautilus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Stayed here in Easter holidays for a week with wife and 11 year old son. The accommodation is of a reasonable standard, plenty of room and standard amenities. The complex is a reasonable size with a nice pool and a handful of other facilities. The complex is specifically setup to accommodation people in wheelchairs. Matagorda is a quite resort a couple miles east of Puerto del Carmen and is much quieter than its larger neighbour despite being right next to the airport. There are local shops and restaurants in a nearby complex and further up the pedestrianised water front. Its also in a good location for the main roads should you wish to drive around the island.
Overall the Nautilus is excellent value for money slightly away from all the action and ideal fro families.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andyrh1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LedaGiordano, Nautilus Team at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your warm words about your holiday with us and we are happy that you find our Hotel and Matagorda in general so comfortable for your family holiday. We are reforming reception area and some of two bedroom apartments around the pool, we will install solar panels to help to the Island’s sustainability, as well we are improving our service.
Wish you to have a nice summer holiday.
Nautilus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Second time at Nautilus and will go again. I am a (manual) wheelchar users and the complex is suitable for me or - even better - scooter / electric wheelchair uers as there are a few steep-ish slopes. It is absolutely flat into the rooms (all entrances are from the terrace outside) and many of the bathrooms are adapted with good quality grab rails (in the right locations) and roll in showers. I believe hoists and other disabled equipment is available to hire by pre-arrangement. The area outside the complex is also accessbile by self propulsion and the promenade (just a few minutes away) is flat and goes all the way into Puerto del Carmen about 2 kms away. The complex is clean and exceedingly well maintained, the staff are all friendly and helpful and there is a well stocked supermarket on site. Service is swift. We asked for extra blankets and they were delivered to our bungalow within five minutes. All terraces come with sun loungers as well as a table and chairs and mattresses are available to hire at a resonable price. Towels are also available so that saves room in your luggage. There is a restuarant (soon to be upgraded) on site and about a five minute walk brings you to a commercial centre with a host of other restaurants and bars. The surrounding area is very quiet so suits those who like that kind of holiday. Noisy nightclubs are nowhere to be seen. There are a few hotels though within easy walking distance. I would highly reccommend the Nautilus.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank margare52t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LedaGiordano, Nautilus Team at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Dear Sirs,
We are happy that your stay with us was so enjoyable. We want to inform you that we will be reopen from 1st of July after renovation works: when you come to stay with us again (we are looking forward very much for it) you will find that reception now is accessible and we have social room with breakfast service. As well we reformed more two bedroom apartments around the pool and they are two bedroom superior adapted apartments with bathroom and toilet room.
With the kind regards
Nautilus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.2 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aqua Suites
Aqua Suites
#2 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
13.2 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautilus Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Lanzarote

Property: Nautilus Lanzarote
Address: Calle Gramillo 5, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nautilus Lanzarote 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort includes single and double apartments (47 of them mobility-friendly). You will enjoy a qualified service in an exceptionally quiet environment, environmentally friendly and with original works of art present both in common areas and in every apartments. Two acclimatised swimming pools (one for small children, the other equipped with a water-powered lift for 120kg) and Breakfast and take away food are also at our clients' disposal. We also have a apartments known as "Casa del Artista", specifically adapted for the needs of artists that contribute to our varied collection of works of art. You can enjoy long walks or bike-rides in the avenue bordering the beaches, as well as all shopping and entertainment options offered by Puerto del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nautilus Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Bungalows Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Nautilus Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Nautilus Bungalows Lanzarote
Nautilus Resort Puerto Del Carmen
Nautilus Lanzarote Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing