We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Senior View”
Review of Nautilus Lanzarote

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nautilus Lanzarote
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Senior View”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I have just returned from 2 weeks at the Nautilus, we are both seniors, first we had a disabled room with plenty of space but we found the twin beds both too hard and we did not sleep well. The room we had was number 47. The staff were very helpful while we were there and we we impressed with the way the complex was kept up together.
.
We found the swimming pool too cold for us which was dissapointing but we did see some brave souls using it so it was a once only experiance for us at around mid day. We can understand the Nautilus being a favourite for many . Its only a few minutes walk to the nearest shopping centre where there are two supermarkets, one being the Spar.

We did eat out quite a lot and the Irish bar/resteraunt The Auld Triangle which is in the close shopping area served good food and we were also able to watch the england football games etc. The english tv programmes in our room at the Nautilus were mainly news and one programme which showed old horror films and one which showed another english/american programmes. The Nautilus could improve the TV programmes for the many english visitors by adding ITV/BBC 1 and removing a few of the other channels in our view.

For those who like indian food there is a good Indian resteraunt called A Taste of India which is about a 15 minute walk along the front, ( walk to the sea front and turn right ) We had two excellent meals there and the service was very good, the resteraunt is larger inside than the front looks, the prices we thought were very reasonable . If you like us want to see the english TV soaps etc there are a reasonable amount of bars where they are shown. We intend to visit lanzarote again soon which will be our 10th visit, yes we do like the island more than the other canary islands and we will probably book an all inclusive as self catering we thought was too expensive but everyone have of course their own way of spending their holidays.

Room Tip: It seems most rooms/bungalows are much the same it depends if you want a room by the pools or furthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LedaGiordano, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for posting your comments about us. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We read that you were not completely satisfied with the bed mattresses, next time, please let us knows when here in Nautilus and we will find a different mattress for you, for us is really important to receive this communications during your stay to give you the best service that we can to make your holiday a pleasant experience, we really understand that you need to have us much as comfort we can provide you.
During your stay you can ask in reception directly to Marina, Barbara, Susy, or Claudia and they will help you, and for sure you can ask for me as well, you are our gust and you never disturb us.
Our two swimming pools (adults and children) are heated to 22 – 24 centigrade degrees we are sorry that you found it too cold ,when the Spanish administration will let us use the photovoltaic panels to hot up the pool we will improve this service, as you know we are an Eco friendly Aparthotel .
As per the TV channels, to be equal with all our visitors we choose languages from English to Russian for our IP TV, that are also provided with USB connection so you can bring as many movies as you like in a stick memory, anyway we take note of your wishes and if will be possible we will do our best to improve this service.

Thanks once again and we will be looking forward to welcoming you all in Nautilus Lanzarote again.
Kindest wishes.
Nautilus Team – Leda Giordano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    168
    37
    16
    5
See reviews for
305
371
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stokie
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

. Its clean, attractive and friendly.The pool is lovely, the room adequate. More English channels on the t.v would be appreciated. The beds are comfortable, as they seemed hard at first, but we got a good nights sleep.
We would have loved a bath.
Its advertised as with aircon' but you have to pay extra for that if you have a standard 1 bed room.It wasn't too hot so we spent our money in the many lovely local restaurants instead.
The downside is that it is very quiet, and, although there is a little area that cooks a breakfast of sorts, there is no actual pool bar, with food and drinks to be taken round the pool. There is nowhere to have a last nightcap
.Lastly, the towels have definately seen better days.
its a good walk to get up to the main P Del C strip, but the taxis are cheap and plentyful.
It seems a very good hotel for the disabled, but perhaps a bit too quiet for anyone wanting something with a bit more of a buzz.

Room Tip: there is a villa for artists, with a studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joolskirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LedaGiordano, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you so much to post your opinion in Tripadvisor
We have four apartment with bath tube two with one bedroom and two Superior two bedroom, if you wish for next time you can contact us directly to do the reservation , and check availability,. We are sorry that we couldn’t give you all the information before.
For the A/C is on request and extra charge as we write and promote in our information, I’m sorry that you misunderstood
As you described, the area of Matagorda offers any service that you might need (lovely restaurants, supermarkets, hairdressers, bars, shops…) and is also a very quiet area which is what many of our visitors are looking for.
Lively Puerto del Carmen is just a taxi ride away for those who are looking for a little nightlife.
Thanks once again and we will be looking forward to welcoming you all in Nautilus Lanzarote again with the hope of meeting your expectations one hundred per cent.
Kindest wishes.
Nautilus Team – Leda Giordano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had room 9 which is pool side and it was a great room, 2 double bedrooms, adapted shower room and a seperate extra toilet (always handy when you have a disabled person and a mid 80s father with you), fully equipped kitchen and lounge/diner. All to a good standard. Extra equipment such as scooters, hoists and electric beds are all easily hireable either from the resort or independently. Though if you hire independently you have to pay a daily fee of approx 10.5 Euro so check out what is best for you. We weren't aware of this when we went so we had hired an A/C unit for our bedroom and scooters. Leda, the very pleasant manager, did make us aware that there are bungalows with A/C available but we went to visit 2 units that had it and it isn't in the right place for us so we would still have to hire. Also we didn't get charged the daily fee as we hadn't been informed beforehand of the charge. My only gripe at all would be about the pillows, they are super flat and we found them uncomfortable and it affected our sleep quality. Other than that it is a great place for all ages and any disabilities. Can't comment on kids facilities or the food as we didn't eat there, the area is fantastic for going out to eat and having been there last year we knew what we wanted to experience again!

Room Tip: All the newly refurbished rooms are great and ours being no. 9 was by the pool, no sun before 10:30a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulandJaneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LedaGiordano, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for posting your opinion about us. We agree our Superior two bedroomed adapted apartments are highly recommendable, but because you wish to have A/C we highly recommend you for the next reservation to ask for a two bedroom superior XL directly with us, or we will provide an extra A/C in any apartments as you wish . For your next reservation, just let us know if you’d need anything extra in the apartment as the Pillows, we are more than happy to make your stay as comfortable as we can just ask in reception.
We would love to welcoming you back in Nautilus Lanzarote.
Until then, we send you our best regards, and thanks for your nice words.
Nautilus Team – Leda Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was our second year in a row that we stayed here with our severely disabled son. This time we also had our other two children and our grandson with us. The apartments are immaculately clean and offer easy access for people in wheelchairs. We hired an electric bed and hoist for our son which were in the apartment when we arrived. These are a bit costly to hire but when you can't manage without them you have little choice. The pool was great though a little cool until you get used to it but there is a pool hoist so our son was able to go in which he really enjoyed. There is a well stocked supermarket on site. Which is open all day. You are just a short walk away from the beach, shops, restaurants and bars and the promenade is pedestrianised until you get to playa del Carmen. We had a great weeks stay which the whole family enjoyed. There are plenty of lovely restaurants within a short walk of the bungalows and our disabled son and grandson, who is 2 , were made to feel very welcome.You can also go on various trips in a wheelchair accessible vehicle to explore more of the island. We did not do this but would do if we return. Our only problem was with the flight from Edinburgh with Thomsons. We had booked a harness to support our son in his seat on the flight but this was not on the aircraft and as a result my husband and I had to hold our son all the way there and back. Not easy on a four and a half hour flight.

Room Tip: All the adapted bungalows for disabled people are around the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank karendic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LedaGiordano, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review about Nautilus Lanzarote as well as Matagorda.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us so convenient, we are happy that we met your needs
We agree with you that Matagorda offers peace and quiet that many people is looking for sacrificing services such as restaurants, supermarkets and a little nightlife if wanted just a short walking distance from Nautilus Lanzarote.
We all hope to see you back in Nautilus. Until then, we send you our kindest regards.
Nautilus Team –Leda Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were very pleased when we arrived at the hotel. It was extremely close to the airport (Only 5-10 Mins in a taxi) and our room was available as soon as we arrived (Before noon). The grounds are very clean and well maintained, the pools were a great size, slightly cold at first but lovely once you get in! The sun beds were new and plentiful. The room we had was very clean and despite being told cleaning only happened on certain days we had someone come everyday with new towels and to make the beds. The on-site supermarket stocked everything you would need for self catering or if you wanted to eat out there were plenty of Bars and restaurants to choose from within a 2-20 min stroll depending on how far you want to walk. The sea/Beach is also within a 2 min walk from the hotel. The hotel is mainly occupied by an older clientèle but my partner and I (Both in our 30's) very much enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere. The only slightly negative would be the lack of pool snack bar for drinks and food throughout the day but it didn't bother us too much as we would get drinks from the supermarket and walk to the square for lunch if we wanted! I would consider going back again and would definitely recommended to others!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LedaGiordano, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is very inspiring when our customers leave their positive comments on Tripadvisor.
Just to let other possible customer know, cleaning service comes in the apartment six days per week and towels change is made three times per week, and we have a take away service and you can choose from an homemade paella or a lasagna , Roast chicken with salad or fries, we are sorry that you did not receive this information when here.

As you pointed out, the area of Matagorda offers as many service as you might need: restaurants, shops, supermarkets within a short walking distance from Nautilus Lanzarote.
We really hope to welcoming you back in Lanzarote. Until then we send you our kindest regards,
Nautilus Team – Leda Giordano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, Kent.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

There are many glowing reviews of Nautilus and having been we think they are rightly deserved. We had an adapted one bed roomed apartment with air conditioning. Compared to a hotel with adapted rooms, this complex is much better with virtually the whole site accessible. There are many ramps, all the public doors are electric and none of the doors have thresholds, so it’s easy to move about in a wheelchair or scooter. It was refreshing to go somewhere where so many of the guests had special needs and nobody stared or pointed and being disabled was the norm.
We hired a scooter for our time there and were glad we did; it made the break very relaxing and saved the able one of us from being too tired pushing the wheelchair. Talking of wheelchairs, we took our own and flew Monarch through Gatwick. A gold star goes to Monarch for a painless experience and such a relief after a previous disastrous trip.
We also pre-booked an adapted taxi transfer at Lanzarote airport, and it was wonderful; no grief or stress, we would recommend the SADIV service.
Also, if you hire a car whilst there, there are four disabled parking spaces close to the front door.
Nautilus is quite close to the seafront which again is easily accessible. Though the airport is only a few kilometres away and there is some aircraft noise, we were only aware of it a few times. There are no night flights and though during the day flights started at 7.00 (we were told), we had trouble rousing ourselves at 8:30 some days.
At the hotel, breakfast was ok, a mixture of cold buffet and cooked, and plenty of it, but when we go back (when, not if, you note) we’ll probably go room only as there are several cafes near by that do full English breakfast cheaply.
We found the reception staff were multi-lingual, friendly and efficient and our apartment was cleaned thoroughly on the appointed days.
Moans and groans; none really, apart from Roy Orbison playing endlessly at breakfast time.

Room Tip: There are various degrees of room adaptation and expressing your needs should get you a suitable roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavillion-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LedaGiordano, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your opinion in Tripadvisor, we are very glad that you enjoyed a peaceful stay with us.

The beach Promenade is only about 100m distance from Nautilus Lanzarote. It makes a nice walk or bicycle ride from Matagorta to Puerto del Carmen or in the other side the nice town of Playa Honda . Matagorda enjoys a good selection of restaurants, shops and bars as you wrote .

And, just so you know, we have taken the hint about the “Breakfast Soundtrack” and changed it!

If you are planning to come back, please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will do our best to meet any request or arrange special equipment such as accessible Transfer form/to the Airport, electric Scooter/wheelchair, electric bed, Hoist…please contact us, we are happy to arrange those for you

.
Lookin forward to see you and your husband soon in Nautilus ,we send you our best regards.
Nautilus Lanzarote Team.
Leda Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Just back from 14 days at the Nautilus and these apartments are wonderful. The apartments spotlessly clean and very well equipped cleaned everyday except Sunday bed linen and towels changed every second and third day. The staff could not be more helpful always pleasant the grounds are beautiful also spotlessly clean we would definitley go back in minute.

Room Tip: We were in room 52 at the top of the apartments and got the sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbmm2192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LedaGiordano, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for posting your opinion about us. It has been our pleasure to have you with us. We will be happy to welcome you back in Nautilus Lanzarote. Until then, we send you our warmest greetings.
Nautilus Team – Leda Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,405 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,622 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aqua Suites
Aqua Suites
#2 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
269 reviews
1.4 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautilus Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Lanzarote

Property: Nautilus Lanzarote
Address: Calle Gramillo 5, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nautilus Lanzarote 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort includes single and double apartments (47 of them mobility-friendly). You will enjoy a qualified service in an exceptionally quiet environment, environmentally friendly and with original works of art present both in common areas and in every apartments. Two acclimatised swimming pools (one for small children, the other equipped with a water-powered lift for 120kg) and Breakfast and take away food are also at our clients' disposal. We also have a apartments known as "Casa del Artista", specifically adapted for the needs of artists that contribute to our varied collection of works of art. You can enjoy long walks or bike-rides in the avenue bordering the beaches, as well as all shopping and entertainment options offered by Puerto del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nautilus Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Bungalows Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Nautilus Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Nautilus Bungalows Lanzarote
Nautilus Resort Puerto Del Carmen
Nautilus Lanzarote Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing