We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This was a cheap holiday booked at the last minute and despite a couple of hiccups was a really good break in a hotel of much higher quality than would otherwise be expected for the price.

The room was clean, well laid out and perfectly acceptable. Ours was adjacent to the pool which wasn't too noisy (we went outside school holidays). The place itself wasn't full and I suspect there might be sunbed shortages when it is though. (Just a few annoying British en-mass families that felt the need to take 8 sunbed with towels and turn up in the afternoon hours later. (When did we Brits start doing that?!).

Restaurant was very basic. Breakfast was ok, and they have tried hard to cater for the English breakfast brigade but there was still some nice pastries and fruit too. It's the same room for dinner and unfortunately it is a canteen so if your aim for dinner on holiday is a function to stop hunger then it's fine. If however a nice relaxing meal is part of the holiday then this isn't the right place. They could make much more of the tables outside as they are much more pleasant. Food is ok, although did once have a undercooked chicken breast - think seared. The only other hiccup was the room wasn't ready until 9pm (a sorry would have been nice). However as we arrived at 7pm it wasn't the end of the world. It's only irritating as they probably charged someone else to stay late and in doing so sacrificed the new residents (us!).

It's at the far end of the main area so is a reasonable distance from all the kiss me quick junk. Also a really nice restaurant in the marina and since the hotel is so cheap we ate out several times, treating it as B&B. outside the scrappy all you can eat buffet restaurants the resort is reasonably expensive though. Best restaurant in the Marina - Casa Roja (or something like that, a red building right on the front)

All in though, a good break and well worth the cost. Would definitely stay again. Just on B&B

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenJM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fidelizaci0n, Director General at Gloria Izaro Club Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent break in the Izaro Club Hotel. We value our guests feedback and would like to thank you for writing your review.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    321
    74
    10
    3
See reviews for
341
652
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just returned after 2 weeks half board at this aparthotel. I could not fault the staff - so pleasant. Barbara the receptionist was the most helpful person ever! Buffet food. There was so much choice but by the second week, I was ready to eat out. I think this is the case with buffet food. The apartment was clean and comfortable. If I had not had half board, I would have been disappointed that there was not an oven. There is not an iron or ironing board in the apartment but if you ask for them, you will get them delivered immediately and keep as long as you like. There is a tv but apart from 2 news programmes the rest are Spanish and German channels. I know you do not go on holiday to watch tv, but we are in our 70s and make the most of the day time and early evening so it would have been nice for us to have something good to watch. Read a lot! This hotel is situated near the puerto which is handy. There are bus stops very near so you can visit other resorts very easily. We went to Aricife, Costa Teguise and Playa Blanca. There is a lovely walk from Carmen to Puerto Calero - takes about 45 mins. Quite hilly so not too good if you are not relatively fit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophiababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fidelizaci0n, Director General at Gloria Izaro Club Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a very enjoyable 2 week holiday with us at the Izaro Club Hotel.
We appreciate your comments regarding our staff, our facilities and location and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again should you visit Lanzarote in the future.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Booked the Izaro several weeks before departure and had read mixed reviews on this site. The price was right and decided to give a go as it had recently been refurbished and the Gloria chain have a good reputation.
Basically, the rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, kitchen was only missing an oven (I like Pizza), powerful shower (no bath), flatscreen tv with usb etc and a lovely spacious patio area with table/chairs. Towels were changed every day except Monday and Friday. The maid was lovely and very helpful.
There were always enough sunbeds including cushions, no need to rush out at 7am like some do.
The staff at reception were extremely helpful, I used them to practise my spanish but they all spoke very good english.
There are mixed reviews regarding the restaurant, yes it does resemble a cafeteria and sometimes there was not much variety, but remember it is not 5* all inclusive !
That said, my wife is vegitarian ( quite a fussy one ) and one night she did not have much on her plate. The chef appeared five minutes later with a vegitarian dish made especially for her, that is 5* service !
The Izaro was a quiet hotel which for us was perfect and we would not hesitate to stay at the Izaro if we return to PDC Lanzarote.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room if you like privacy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fidelizaci0n, Director General at Gloria Izaro Club Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your holiday with us. Our staff work very hard to ensure our guests needs are met, and it is nice that their efforts are appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to the Izaro Club Hotel should you choose to visit Lanzarote in the future.

Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Returned from 7 nights HB stay at the Club Izaro on 6th April. This was a last minute break to get some relaxation and sunshine and this hotel certainly looked after us well. It's a relatively short transfer from the airport. On arrival I was certainly pleased as it seemed the best hotel of all the drop offs. A great first impression as everything looked spotlessly clean, well maintained and the place had some life.
Our room was a great size, the living space was really generous - certainly you wouldn't feel cramped with a family. As there were 2 of us, it was plenty of space. All the fittings were super too, and well thought out. Nice comfy sofa bed, well equipped kitchen. All your utensils, microwave and decent sized fridge. This was great as even though we were half board it allowed us to stock up on drinks and lunches. Little touches too, such as an ice tray in the compartment made you feel the refurbishment of this place had been given some thought, last year.
Bathroom was a good size, shower very generous and powerful. Few problems with the water flooding the wider bathroom floor, but that's a minor quibble! We stayed in room 803 which was on the first level and under the pool area, the bathroom did tend to get a bit of a musty smell, so we tried to keep the apartment well aired and the extractor on where possible. Again really a very minor point.
The pool area is a massive selling point for this hotel. Its a great size and really very well maintained. Spotlessly clean. The sunbed area is also well looked after. Good small pool for the kids too, with loungers right near.
The sofa areas around the pool were super, really comfy chillout shaded spots. Gorgeous comfy couches, nice low key music on. Definitely the place for a snooze out of the sunshine.
The food in the hotel is a decent variety. Breakfasts were great, plenty to choose from and you got everything from continental, fruits, traditional. Evening meals also offered good variety and decent quality. You've got to go with the mindset that they're catering for everyone and between 6pm-9.30 it's a fair old service. We ate there 4 nights out of the 7 and as you would, we went off to explore for the remaining 3. (I would recommend LaBamba restaurant, only a 5 min walk - walk up the hill away from the harbor to get to it from the hotel) The staff in the restaurant work really hard, constantly clearing tables and replenishing items and nothing was too much trouble for them.
We did a trip as part of our holiday, the full island tour, this was 59Euros with the rep, but only 44Euros with the local firms.
Also recommend just making use of the local bus services, very reasonable, clean and reliable. We jumped off the bus at Yaiza and had an amazing tapas lunch for a fraction of the cost in-resort.
We would definitely recommend Izaro Club, super facilities, a good welcome and really well situated.

Room Tip: I would agree with previous reviewers, perhaps a little more balcony privacy on the first floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PamM786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fidelizaci0n, Director General at Gloria Izaro Club Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Izaro Club Hotel for your recent holiday to Lanzarote.
I am delighted that you had a great time and I appreciate your comprehensive feedback on this site. I am sure that people will find this helpful.
Thankyou for your recommendation and I look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind regards,

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights. The complex was well run and maintained spotlessly clean. The rooms were also maintained to the same high standard. The old town is only a 5 minute walk,downhill, a 10 minute walk uphill afterwards. A taxi ride is a good option if you have had a good meal.
The apartments were cleaned and linen changed 5 times a week. There is an excellent poolside bar serving drinks and snacks. The prices are reasonable.
The pool is large and also maintained to a very high standard.

Room Tip: I would recomend the rooms with balcony 1st floor for a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClonmelCorkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fidelizaci0n, Director General at Gloria Izaro Club Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Izaro Club Hotel in Lanzarote. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I read the reviews before I booked the holiday, most were positive and a few were negative. So I booked because of the more positive reviews. I now wish I had taken more notice of the negative reviews.
Unfortunately we had no choice but to book a half board option as this was all that was available.
We arrived early enough for dinner in what could only be described as a cafeteria, not a restaurant. The food was luke warm, the vegetables either frozen or tinned and the salad choices were very basic. We had a look in the following night and it didn't look any better so we walked out and after that ate out every night, which was annoying seeing as we had paid for dinner in our package.
Breakfast was not good either, the fruit selection was always the same, tinned peaches, tinned fruit cocktail? And melon as long as you got down early enough. Again if you didn't get down to breakfast early then the cooked breakfast was really not worth eating. The scrambled eggs and fried eggs resembled rubber! Nothing was ever hot!

The whole complex lacked any atmosphere, no music by the pool, occasionally some in the pool bar, it all seemed a bit clinical?

I'm sure there will be people who would disagree with me but for us the bar was completely void of any atmosphere, it wasn't at all welcoming, and the entertainment was outdated. I didn't go past any night to see the bar full.

On a positive note the staff worked very hard to keep the complex clean and tidy and were always smiling and friendly

Thompson this is the first time i've ever been disappointed with one of your holidays and we spoke to others that felt the same as us but may or may not bother to write a review. In my opinion Izaro Club could be so much better if they upgraded the the cafeteria to look more like a restaurant and upgraded the food. It may be three star but the food was not. It's basic stuff keeping food hot??
Upgrading the bar and the entertainment would keep people on the complex more,

Room Tip: We had a room below the pool area. Much more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fidelizaci0n, Director General at Gloria Izaro Club Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review here on tripadvisor.
We are really sorry that you were disappointed with our complex. Our aim is to create a relaxing atmosphere for our guests and appreciate that this did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.
We wish you all the best for future holidays.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland England
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Have just returned from a week staying at these apartments. We chose them based on price and tripadvisor recommendations and we weren't disappointed. We had room 501 and initially we were disappointed because it was on the same level as the pool and we had hoped for a higher floor away from the pool, but it was tucked in a corner and very private and sheltered from the ever present wind. We were half board but the apartment has a kettle, toaster, microwave and two induction rings as well as a normal sized fridge, pans, utensils, crockery and cutlery so you could if you wanted to self cater very easily. It was lovely to sit on our little patio in the afternoons with a cup of tea and our books gently frying in the sun. The beds were very, very comfortable and the curtains shut out all the light so we slept like logs. The breakfasts were very good with all the normal breakfst foods from cereals to cooked food to bread and always included fresh fruit. A special mention must go to the lady who cooked food to order at breakfast time and seemed to do everything else too. She made lovely omelettes and fried eggs. Even the coffee out of the machine was perfectly acceptable. If it is warm enough you can eat outside. Yes the tables in the restaurant were a little close together but no one seemed to mind. The evening meal was also very good with lots of salads, soup and different cooked dishes every night. I am mainly vegetarian but I do eat fish and am quite picky but I seemed to find something every night. A big plus is that the hot dishes are HOT! I have stayed in much more pretentious hotels where they struggled with that concept. There were plenty of freshly cooked vegetables including Canarian potatoes which surprisingly are often missing from the menu in Canarian hotels. The dinners were let down by the puddings which were usually cold rice pudding, custard, melting ice cream and bought cake cut into small squares which collapsed when the were picked up. However again there was always fresh fruit. Drinks have to be bought at dinner time and seemed very expensive 2.50 euros for a small bottle of water and cheap supermarket wine 12 euros and upwards. However we just went back to the apartment and drank our own coffee and wine from the supermarket. If you intend to do any self catering it might be a good idea to take a little washing up liquid, a sponge and a tea towel as these are not provided. The supermarket is down the hill towards the sea and is a bit of a struggle back up if you have a lot of shopping. If you go down the hill towards the sea near the bottom at the crossroads take the right fork and you have a very short walk into the harbour area. We found a very good market here on Friday afternoon selling local produce as well as normal market stalls. We bought some very good bread and cake here. The bus stops to Arrecife and Playa Blanca are just at the end of the road. There are very frequent buses to Arrecife which is a very nice little town. The bus to Playa Blanca is roughly once per hour and is often too full to pick up by the time it gets to this stop. If you want a beach or pool based holiday this hotel is an excellent base for Puerto Del Carmen. However it is a complete mystery to me why anyone would want to go to Puerto Del Carmen. The wind blows all the time, the much vaunted low rise buildings make it look like a shanty town and yes it does have a promenade which we are told can take you all the way to Arrecife but the other side of the road is mile after mile of tourist shops and restaurants and seems totally charmless.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bowdensrus_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fidelizaci0n, Director General at Gloria Izaro Club Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review which we are sure people will find helpful.
We are delighted to have played a part in making your holiday enjoyable and we do appreciate your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back should you choose to visit Lanzarote in the future.

Kindest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
659 reviews
2.0 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
718 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
#15 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,057 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,474 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Izaro Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Izaro Club Hotel

Property: Gloria Izaro Club Hotel
Address: Calle Salinas 9, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Izaro Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel was renovated in 2013, the village-style apartment complex with its white-washed architecture, is situated in the south of Lanzarote in the town of Puerto Del Carmen. Gloria Izaro Club Hotel is one of our smaller owned hotels; nevertheless it has astonishing sea views, top quality buffet and plenty of facilities to suit your needs. All of your dreams are within reach as there is an efficient 24 hour taxi service at reception or you could choose to use the public bus stop which is 300 meters away. The closest beach is Playa Chica which is 800 meters away. The closest shopping centre is Biosfera which is 800 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gloria Izaro Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing