We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel, but just short of 4 star quality”
Review of Hipotels La Geria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hipotels La Geria
Ranked #9 of 95 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good hotel, but just short of 4 star quality”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Location
The location of the hotel itself was excellent; just 10 minutes from the airport and directly opposite a fantastic beach. It's positioned just along from the main strip of Puerto Del Carmen (a 10-15 walk away). This is great if you want to be away from the crowds but close enough to head out to explore.

Reception
The staff on reception were extremely helpful and when I had a problem with a broken lock on my door they fixed it straight sway.

Pool
The pool area was large and there were plenty of palm trees to soften the overall look as well as provide some privacy & shade. The animation team worked hard and were friendly but not 'in your face' to encourage guests to take part in activities.

Bedroom
My room was a decent size for one person, although slightly small if two were sharing for a week. It appeared to have been recently refurbished with modern furniture, flat screen TV and modern paintings on the wall. The bathroom was clean and well maintained, although I would have expected to see a bidet for a 4 star hotel.

Restaurant
The food was great with a decent selection every day. However, the restaurant seemed under staffed for every sitting. I would have expected the maitre d to show all guests to their table but he seemed to be clearing tables as well! This led to there occasionally being a queue of people waiting to be shown to their table. This was a shame as it made the area feel a little unorganised. It by no means ruined the experience but for a 4 star hotel I would expect this to be much more efficient.

Another small niggle was that it was disappointing that tea/coffee was from a self-service
machine, rather than served to your table.

Gym
The area was unstaffed, which is fine. However, there seemed to be no daily check of the area by the hotel staff hence most of the machines were broken!

Overall
A good hotel, but it just falls short of being 4 star for me, particularly in comparison with the Hipotel's Natura Palace hotel (Playa Blanca, Lanzarote). If you have kids and need a quick get-away this is the place for you. If you're more interested in a quieter adults only holiday where the focus is more on service then head for the Natura Palace.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KittyK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    546
    147
    40
    17
See reviews for
359
872
68
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

In March 2012 we ( middle aged couple ) booked 1 week in this Hotel. I must say it was the best hotel we stayed in for a long time. Not the usual holiday package accommodation. We booked half board and the food was exellent, in particular the breakfast, 4star plus. The rooms were quiet and the few over the pool was great. the location of the La Geria is good and the walking distance to the shops and restaurants is about 15 min. The pool area is very nice and there is no "Run" for the sun beds ,which were comfortable. The Staff is very helpful and the cleaniness of the rooms is faultless. If you want to enjoy a holiday to relax ( there was no children ) than this spot is your destination. We will book again next year, for sure!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ralfdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Great hotel. On arrival reception staff very helpful. Our flight was delayed and we emailed the hotel to let them know we might be late for dinner and they said if we missed dinner they would organise a cold plate for us but we made it to the restaurant before it closed. Unfortunately my husband was told he could not dine unless he wore a long trousers (he didn't pack any only 3/4 length) in any case they let him dine the first night but we had to go and buy long trousers the next day. A bit old fashioned I think especially when you can dine in the same restaurant for breakfast and lunch in swimming trunks and t-shirts! The food in the restaurant is ok to good. There is a good variation of salads and the best food was at the show cooking area but you had to wait as there was normally a queue. There is only one coffee machine in the morning and again there is normally a queue. While we were there the hotel didn't seem to be heavily booked but it seemed to be under staffed. The staff were working extra hard and at times we felt sorry for them. Sometimes there was a queue outside the restaurant waiting to be seated. At dinner time you were waiting a while to order drinks - the same at the bar. Overall the staff were very nice - there were just a couple of unfriendly staff at the main bar usually during the day. The hotel is immaculate - from the rooms to the restaurant to the public toilets and pool area. Sunbeds are not meant to be pre-booked but they are even as early as 8.00 a.m. (we went walking early in the mornings) and if you did not book your bed early then you didn't get a bed in the sun only in the shade. The location is great. You literally step outside the gate of the hotel, cross the road and you are on the beach which is lovely. The general area is very clean, lovely walks left or right of the hotel. There were very few children staying at the hotel while we were there which suited us as they were no screaming children at the pool or restaurant. The animation staff were nice and not in your face - we all loved Dario - really nice guy! Overall a lovely hotel. Only 10 mins. from the airport. Will definitely go back - very relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: I think rooms on the 4th floor will probably have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carole o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

On arrival were given room with a suppossedly sea view (which we had paid for when booking). Between large palm trees and if you had very good eyesight you could just about make out the sea. We immediately and politely requested another room and were given one 3 doors along. Slightly better but not great either. Room itself was fine and so was the bathroom (minus a bidet though which u come to expect on holiday specially in a 4 star hotel.) Still i could live with that ok but the balconies were very public with no division at all which can be offputting for some people who like to have privacy when they're relaxing at night time. Satellite t.v. was useless as the only english speaking channels were news news and more news. Who wants to see repeated news coverage 24 hrs a day when ur on holiday. All the rest were spanish an german and even american and british films were in german. Come on is english not the 2nd most spoken language in the world (behind chinese) so even though we paid the same money as everyone else we did not get the same fair service. My partner and I are both young 60 year olds
but we dont go out much at night even on holiday so we like to have a wee drink and watch t.v.
in our room but we were denied that facility. We were even willing to pay to get english channels but it wasn't an option. Not what i would call very british friendly. I wonder what americans would think of this sort of service. I think they would demand better and why shouldn't they.
Only 1lift in the whole hotel and if like us ur room was at the far end u either had to walk quite a bit to the lift or use a spiral staircase to reach the lower floors. We were only bed and breakfast so we found it ok even though it was a bit on the cold side. There was 1 microwave available if u felt u had to heat it up which is really not good enough for a 4 star hotel. Pool was a good size but the surrounding area had far too many palm trees and they tended to shade quite a bit of the sunbathing area, and when we were there in May it was extremely windy which of course if no fault of the hotel but a little less plants would have been better. I was half waiting for one of them to uproot itself and land on some poor sunbathers. The location was directly facing the large sandy beach which was lovely but it was quite a walk into Carmen itself (about 20min) so we mostly got a bus round the corner for l euro 30. Needless to say we did enjoy our stay in Lanzarote but would not return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool veiw as the sea view is almost non existant. Larger rooms have slightly smaller balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineHamilton_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Great Hotel. Clean, good food and really friendly staff. We were all inclusive (my first time!!) and I must say I was very impressed with the quality of the food & drink at this Hipotels Hotel. I would certainly book this hotel chain again if all other hotels are to this standard. Rooms modern with mini fridge, comfortable beds, safe and good air con. Good size bathroom (always plenty of hot water). Went in a group of 7 (lively) over 50's and this hotel was just what we needed. Lovely, clean pool area (warm pool) and plenty of shade if needed thanks to the well established and maintained gardens. Our room (323) had a great aspect overlooking the pool and sea and was kept very clean and tidy by our friendly maid. Serving staff were always most polite and eager to ensure that you were happy at all times (as were all staff). Some great bars etc within 10 mins walk of hotel if you need them. This is NOT the best hotel for families (due to it's limited kiddies facilities) or for the young and lively (due to the hotel not really catering for this age group). It was a great pleasure to find this gem of a hotel which seems to enjoy catering to a more quiet, respectful but fun loving mature guest. I would definitly return and would highly recomend.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool/sea view on floors 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PapaLazarous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I was in the hotel in January and the service and food was exceptional.
The location is superb and next door to a busy promenade and a large beach. The rooms are good and clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Two weeks is too long for 'all inclusive' as Lanzerote has so much to offer, you don't want to be tied to the hotel all the time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alfib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Went to La Geria over Easter. The hotel just 10mins taxi from airport but far enough away not to be bothered by planes. Hotel is beautiful and spacious and spotless. The food well! we have stayed in many 4 star hotels but this was by far the best especially for freshness and choice. Cava available at breakfast should you fancy champagne breakfast. Chefs cooking fresh as you choose. Plenty of local fish ...one evening i tried 7 different fishes all of which were delicious.
One evening they had a chocolate fountain yum yum!

The pool area very spacious and well kept with plenty of shade. There is a gate that leads on to sea front. Riu the entertainment rep was so good and so funny ...we have never participated in so much...archery..rifle shooting..darts..boules...shuffle board...table football...tennis...stretching...mini golf...table tennis yet he does not pressure you into it ..it is your choice but beats lying by the pool.
Evening entertainment was varied and entertaining. Surounding area includes huge beautiful beach ...promenade to walk all the way to Puerto del Carmen (Bit toooo commercialised for us). Local buses run regularly to get out and about. There are a couple of supermarkets sovenier shops and bars. Would have liked more local tapas bars but one did open up a couple of days before we left and the owner was great..really friendly free tapas just wished he had been open at the beginning of our hols.
If there were any problems with your room the hotel dealt with them immediately. Overall fantastic stay many thanks La Geria.

Room Tip: forth floor overlooking pool and sea probably the best we were on second floor with side sea view an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hollyhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.2 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,566 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#21 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotels La Geria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels La Geria

Property: Hipotels La Geria
Address: Calle Jupiter 5, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hipotels La Geria 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hipotels La Geria Hotel is located in b>Puerto del Carmen, Lanzarote, and has 242 comfortable and spacious rooms distributed in four floors. It is ideal for your family holidays in Lanzarote. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hipotels La Geria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Geria Hotel
Hipotels La Geria Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing