We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for families or older crowd”
Review of Hipotels La Geria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hipotels La Geria
Ranked #11 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recommended for families or older crowd”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Good location (~3€ taxi to town or 15 mins walk), hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms clean. Extra: we asked for a cot bed for our baby and got a proper mattress, bed, toys (+++)
Very quiet hotel, no party party.
Wifi 20€ a week, veeeeery slow! (---)

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 0str
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    563
    157
    42
    17
See reviews for
373
920
70
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hotel is as good as you can reasonably expect for the money - it is modern, spacious, friendly, with a huge pool and facilities including crazy golf and pool. Nice place, whitewashed and simply but stylishly built. The rooms are fairly basic but sizeable and have good bathrooms with showers and a bath. Our ground floor room had a huge terrace. Exceptionally helpful staff and a massive selection of food for breakfast: the most variety I've ever seen. There is a chef who cooks potato cakes, pancakes and bacon as well as eggs and omelettes. Couldn't recommend the lunch or dinner as we were bed and breakfast only but can't imagine what they could improve on. For a reasonably-priced place it is up there with the best I've stayed in. They charge for the safe and wifi, which is slightly annoying. TV has Sky News and BBC World

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room - the terraces are huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from an excellent holiday at La Geria. We were half board and found that the meals in the restaurant were definitely 4 stars. Each evening meal there was a theme, Chinese, Canarian, Italian, Mediteranean etc., however there was always the usual grill where the chef was cooking chicken, pork, veal, steak, fresh fish and the like. There was also a great assortment of salads and sweets. The breakfast was the usual you would find in any 4 star and sparkling wine was available every day.
The reception area is very modern with white leather sofa's where you can access the free wifi which is unlimited. It is a little slow but does work and I was able to use FaceTime.
The room was very modern and overlooked the pool area and the sea as most rooms do. You either have a room that has sun in the morning or in an afternoon although a lot of rooms actually have the sun all day. We emailed the hotel and made a specific request for a type of room and it was granted. The rooms were spotlessly clean as was all the public areas. Even the sunbeds are hosed down.
The bar service is a little slow which clearly irritated other people who were all inclusive but for us on half board it was no real problem however there is room for improvement in respect of this. The evening entertainment is the only thing that lets the hotel down. It was very poor,however we rarely stayed in and ventured either into Pocillos or PDC where there was plenty going on. A taxi to the Old Town costs about 4 euro although there are a number of bars and restaurants within 5 to 10 minutes walking distance. If you go to The Old Town try the Island Bar which has very good live music.
The friendly staff is one of the hotels real strengths, always a smile, always helpful and nothing too much trouble.
The Manager has a visible presence every day and was very approachable and hands on.
One thing that we really liked about this hotel is their sunbed policy. When you hire your towels for 10 euros deposit which is refundable on return you receive clear instructions that sunbeds are not available before 9.00am. Consequently there was not the usual reserving of sunbeds. Each bed is numbered and towels will be removed if left for longer than 1 hour. We actually saw a member of staff making a note of a few beds that had been reserved, so be warned they will remove towels and belongings. A lot of hotels say they will do this but rarely if ever do, so congratulations to La Geria for sticking to their policy. As a consequence sunbeds were always available.
Safe hire is 2 euro each day and wifi in the room is 20 euros a week. We could access free wifi from the balcony but not in the room.
We would definitely return on a half board basis. I would be disappointed with the all inclusive option. Thank you La Geria for a wonderful holiday.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank eyorkstigersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Got a late deal to La Geria hotel for last week in January. On arrival reception staff very friendly and very helpful. Room was good with a balcony overlooking pool. Breakfast in restaurant was very good, lots of choice, lovely fresh orange juice, fresh fruit, tinned fruit, pastries, cheeses, ham, breads and ofcourse bacon, eggs etc etc. We were half board and found at dinner there was plenty of choice. Wines were reasonably priced in restaurant. Bar prices pretty good. The staff in the hotel from Reception, bar staff, restaurant staff, cleaners were all friendly and helpful. Everywhere was clean and tidy, maybe one or two areas needed slight decoration. Evening entertainment wasn't to our taste but have to say that Sabrina who organised daytime and evening activities put her heart and soul into her job and she was so pleasant and friendly. The hotel itself is in Los Pocillos about a 45 minute walk to P del Carmen. It was a lot quieter than PDC which suited us and it was a lovely walk to Matagorda along the beachfront. Weather was as we expected, a little windy, cloudy, chilly at night but we did have sun during the day between about noon and 4 o'clock most days. All in all we had a lovely restful week and would return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Hannah48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Myself and my husband have just returned from a week long stay at Hotel La Geria. It was our first time to stay here and I can honestly say that it is a fabulous and comfortable hotel. Each morning when I pulled the curtains on our balcony door I was greeted by a view of the beautiful beach and sea. It is approximately a 30 minute walk to the centre of Puerto del Carmen, a really nice walk and we got taxis each evening which cost roughly €4 each way. Every member of staff that we met and had any dealings with were very courteous and couldn't do enough to help us. There is an amazing big swimming pool with more than enough sunbeds and umbrellas. We stayed on a bed & breakfast basis and the breakfast was amazing every morning. There was so much food on display from cereals, breads, fruit, juices, yogurts, hot food and even champagne. It was totally delicious. We will definitely be back to this hotel and I would highly recommend it to anyone considering booking it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CatherineW1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was our second visit to La Geria and it was as good and better than the first time! From the moment we arrived until the day we left, all the staff were doing their very best to make our stay an enjoyable one. Our room on the fourth floor had a fantastic view of the pool, garden and the sea and had a balcony big enough to comfortably sit out on.We faced the sun all day and the fresh breeze coming from the mountains was at the back of us. Our room was spotless and was kept that way by excellent cleaning staff, reception staff couldn't do enough for us and any request was dealt with, professionally and swiftly and most courteously. The restaurant staff were brilliant and seated us quickly at all times. The chef and his team deserve a huge mention as the food was outstanding and couldn't be fresher with a good variety all the time. If you hadn't guessed by now, we loved the place and the way the staff treated us and we will be back in the not too distant future! Best wishes to Hotel La Geria**** and thanks again. Regards S&D P.

Room Tip: Email in advance to request 3rd or 4th floor pool facing room. The reception staff will do their bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lismore2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polegate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I first visited this hotel for Christmas and New Year in 1995/96 after my husband died, and (with my parents) we had such a super time that I've returned every year since then. Sadly I've lost both parents now, but I am happy to go back to La Geria on my own because the staff make everyone feel so welcome, that you never feel alone.
I've also made friends with other clients there, and every time I return it feels like it's my second home!
I won't add anything to what others have aleady written, except to say that the new Manager is really on the ball. There is a constant programme of improvement and updating, the pool was wonderful this winter, and above all the staff are so welcoming and helpful. Whenever I've had any problem with anything, I've reported it and it has always been fixed promptly. You can't ask for anything better than good food, good friends, and welcoming service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.5 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,674 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
718 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
530 reviews
12.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotels La Geria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels La Geria

Property: Hipotels La Geria
Address: Calle Jupiter 5, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hipotels La Geria 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hipotels La Geria Hotel is located in b>Puerto del Carmen, Lanzarote, and has 242 comfortable and spacious rooms distributed in four floors. It is ideal for your family holidays in Lanzarote. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hipotels La Geria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Geria Hotel
Hipotels La Geria Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing