We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”
Review of Hipotels La Geria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hipotels La Geria
Ranked #11 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Have been a regular visited to La Geria since 1999 and visited twice a year for the last 10 years so you get to notice the changes some for the better others not so.
As usual you can't fault the staff who go out of their way to be helpful, the accommodation is good and well maintained. The food has always been good and since our last visit in October 2013 we noticed a marked improvement to range and quality of items. The head chef was often in the restaurant and was happy to receive comments.
As a regular visitor the downsides we noticed was the introduction of two sittings for dinner at 1830 and 2000. You were obliged on your first evening to go to the 2000 sitting and then they would sort out a table for the earlier sitting if you required. This was all a bit of a pain and was obviously a result of the hotel being at capacity and not able to cope with single sittings. I object to being told what time I can eat, the last thing you want after a early start and and a long flight is to be told you can't eat till 2000.On a few occasions there was complete confusion when tables were double booked although to be fair to the staff they were doing the best with a difficult system.
On many occasions when we visit there are 3 of us so we have always booked a suite room which gives that bit more space but prior to our visit in March I was checking availability for the suites for September 2014 and found none available either on the hotel website or any of the UK travel companies. It appears that the rooms have been sold to a agent for their exclusive sale and are not available for other clients. This a real nuisance when you have been used to the extra space the suites gave.
I can understand the new management wanting to maximise profits and occupancy rates but they may find a long term downside to this.
Although I've mentioned a few downsides this is still a very nice hotel with good staff, clean accommodation and good food.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank LondonLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIPOTELScanarias, Quality Manager Canaries at Hipotels La Geria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for keep trusting us and for your nice words towards our staff.
We agree with you and with other customers about the improvements made. There is any new policy in Hipotels regarding room booking. We will improve our communication with clients so that we can understand and react to customer demands arising during your holiday.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon again,
best regards from your Team at Hipotels La Geria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

835 - 841 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just returned from a week at this hotel on an all inclusive package. My wife and I found the staff very friendly and helpful. We had a lovely room 311 which enjoyed the sun on the balcony throughout the day and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and this hotel would be our choice if we visit the island again in the future.We met several guests who were on repeat visits.There was an excellent selection of food nicely presented at all mealtimes and at no time did we have to queue to get a table in the restaurant despite the hotel being full. We felt the hotel was well managed and kept spotlessly clean throughout. The only slight negative comment we could find was with the air conditioning which only comes on when the outside temperature reaches a certain level. We found,even in March, the room got quite warm at night for sleeping and it was necessary to leave the doors of the bay window open to cool the room down.

Room Tip: We emailed in advance to request a room which enjoyed the best of the sun. The Hotel will do all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave64Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIPOTELScanarias, Quality Manager Canaries at Hipotels La Geria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear customer,
thank you very much for the nice comments after your stay with us.
The air conditioning is in perfect working order so you should not have had problems. Thank you for your comment. We shall check if there has been a failure in that particular room.
Furthermore all the staff and management from Hipotels La Geria thank you all for your comments, summarized in "A quality hotel" that help us to improve every day.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon back,
best regards from all the Team at Hipotels La Geria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Had a great holiday staying at this hotel. Spotlessly clean. Restaurant food was really good with plenty of choices. Staff very helpful and friendly. The only negative point is that I agree with a previous review and that if you went all inclusive, the waiters paid more attention to the paying than the AI guests around the bar, and the quality of drinks were definately different, the cocktails were a real let down. Will definately be returning but will opt for half board. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A pool facing room would be advisable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheJaxter99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIPOTELScanarias, Quality Manager Canaries at Hipotels La Geria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for your time writing a review on your feelings after your stay with us.
The quality of service is the same for all customers so if it has not been so, we send our apologies, we appreciate your opinion which take into account.
We also appreciate your positive comments summarized in: "Great Hotel" that motivates us to keep improving.
All the Team at Hipotels La Geria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

before I booked I researched the hotel on trip advisor. the write ups seemed to favour what i was looking for. firstly, it isn't a young persons type of place, the vast majority of holiday makers were over 50. the hotel itself is just across the road from the los pocillos beach, and is a 20 minute walk into puerta del Carmen. the walk is along a very nice promenade are, and is in itself very relaxing. the rooms are clean as is the rest of the hotel, the dining room, the pool area are all immaculate. the staff are wonderful. unlike most brits abroad, I try to speak Spanish wherever I go, and all the staff were most helpful and appreciative of my efforts, and I learnt more spanish in two weeks than I did in a month of listening to audio tapes. the poolside games are well organised by Sabrina, who works her socks off to keep people entertained. I read in previous write ups that the evening entertainment is nothing special, and to a degree I have to agree. some of the entertainers are no better than karaoke singers, but they do their best. some of the other acts are very good though, so its a matter of take it or leave it. the staff in the restaurant are always helpful and friendly. the selection of food is wonderful and could not fault the quality.one fault I would point out, is that in the pool area, there are rather tall trees, so you have to pick your spot when sunbathing otherwise you could find the sun blocked out for half an hour behind a tree. apart from that I cannot fault anything.

Room Tip: rooms on the north side of the hotel get the sun on the balconies all day, but rooms on the south si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thetravellingred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIPOTELScanarias, Quality Manager Canaries at Hipotels La Geria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for letting us know your impressions after your stay with us. We are happy to read you choosed us because of the comments on TripAdvisor. Regarding the shows, we take note of your comments and will try to addapt them to all tastes and clientele.
We hope having the chance to welcome you on a further occasion so you can see the changes made.
Best regards from all the Team at Hipotels La Geria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The new management this year have improved all aspects of this hotel, in particular the restaurant food.
The staff have always been very friendly and helpful.
This is an old hotel, but the advantage is excellent location with good sized bedrooms and surrounding gardens.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIPOTELScanarias, Quality Manager Canaries at Hipotels La Geria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for keep trusting us year after year. We are happy to know you appreciate the efforts made and like the changes done.
Looking forward to your next visit,
all your Team at Hipotels La Geria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I've just returned from a week here with my husband. We booked the hotel based on the reviews on here, and we were really happy with our choice. We wanted a relaxing week away in the sunshine, and that's exactly what we got.

The location is excellent. Right on the seafront across from Los Pocillos beach, so still in Puerto del Carmen but close to Matagorda area. You can walk along the front to the centre of PDC in about 15 minutes, and we also walked right along to the old down and down to the harbour which took about an hour.

There are various local restaurants at Matagorda, which is just a few minutes' walk away, and we had some great meals there, too. In fact, we didn't have a bad meal all week! The tapas at el Caballito del Mar were excellent.

We booked bed and breakfast which I think is the best way to go. We're in our 30s and really enjoy eating out, exploring and enjoying what the local area has to offer. The hotel was very quiet with not a lot going on, however I think that is owing to the majority of the clientele being over 60! It's a great place to go all inclusive if you don't want to go to the effort of finding places to eat out every evening. There was entertainment in the evenings but not really to our taste, so we went out of the hotel and found other bars with live music on, and also had a little trip to the casino (20 minute walk from the hotel).

The breakfast was of a high standard, with loads of variety and even an egg station where you could get a fresh omelette cooked to your liking.

We had a room on the 2nd floor, with a view over the pool and we could also see the sea. In the afternoon our balcony enjoyed the sun on it and I enjoyed sitting there reading a book and drinking delicious Rioja from Spar down the road! The supermarket is a couple of minutes' walk, and you can get a good bottle of wine for less than 2 Euro - bargain!

The front desk staff were super friendly and helpful, and Silvia did a great job of keeping our room spotless. The staff at breakfast were also really friendly and made us feel welcome.

I can't fault this place. It wasn't a cheap holiday, however I do think it was good value. The entertainment wasn't really our cup of team, and the drinks we bought from the pool bar during the day time weren't cheap (but probably standard price for this quality of hotel). I'd like to mark the hotel 4.5 out of 5, but that isn't an option!

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Email the hotel after you have booked, and ask for a room on a high floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorthernLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIPOTELScanarias, Quality Manager Canaries at Hipotels La Geria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking your time writing such a nice review about your stay with us. We are very pleased to know that you decided to visit us thanks to the comments made by other TripAdvisor users and so we hope yours encourage other customers to visit us.
We will be happy to forward to all the staff and specially Silvia, your chambermaid, your nice words.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,
all the Team at the Hipotels La Geria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We have just arrived back from a one weeks stay at this hotel. We are a couple in our late 30's and found this hotel to be a bit too quiet for our liking. The hotel itself is very clean and well laid out with a lovely pool area. The room we had looked onto the pool and we could see the sea also from the balcony which was nice. We got the sun in the morning but by mid afternoon it had gone. The week we stayed it was exceptionally windy so it felt a little chilly at night to sit out on the balcony. The rooms were serviced daily and clean towels received every 2 days. We chose the all inclusive option but wished we hadn't. The food was pretty average and although there was lots of options it all tasted a bit bland. The chefs who did the show cooking were good though so can't fault them. The dining room where you ate was pretty soulless and eating in it was a bit of a chore. We ended up eating out quite a bit during the week. The "snacks" for in between the dining hours were a bit of a joke to say the least. A small station outside at the pool bar had a selection of ham/cheese/tuna sandwiches in a pre packed container which you could toast. A small tray held some quiche type thing along with some cold pizza. Some ready made boxes filled with some salad were also available but everything just looked so un appealing. We often heard people complaining at the pool bar that the stock was low and needed filled up. Now onto the drinks... Being Scottish we do like a drink whilst on holiday and the drinks here were awful! I actually detoxed on this holiday due to this fact! The white wine was like vinegar, however, the Rose was acceptable. I can't comment on the red but I did see others drinking it so it must have passed the taste test. The cocktails they served should have carried a health & safety warning as they tasted like cleaning fluid (no I haven't tried this but I imagine this is what it tastes like) they were not made fresh and seemed to be poured from some packet! They all looked luminous! My partner said the beer was acceptable. The night time entertainment certainly wasn't for us and usually finished about 10.45 but most of the older guests seemed to enjoy it. We ended up going into town most evenings which was a 10-15 min taxi ride away. On another note we found most of the staff to be friendly and reception were very helpful with any questions we had. It may have just been the time of year we went but this hotel seemed to lack atmosphere it was all a little bland for our liking. No buzz by the pool, no background music anywhere and communal areas all lacked something. With a few improvements & an injection of life this could be a great place to stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank B0nnySc0tland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIPOTELScanarias, Quality Manager Canaries at Hipotels La Geria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Customer,
We appreciate the time taken to write your impressions of your stay with us. No doubt your comments will help us improve our service and hope that you visit us again to check the changes made.
Best regards from the Team at H. Hipotels La Geria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
0.5 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,865 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#6 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
776 reviews
0.5 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
2,208 reviews
12.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotels La Geria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels La Geria

Address: Calle Jupiter 5, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £71 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hipotels La Geria 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hipotels La Geria Hotel is located in b>Puerto del Carmen, Lanzarote, and has 242 comfortable and spacious rooms distributed in four floors. It is ideal for your family holidays in Lanzarote. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hipotels La Geria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Geria Hotel
Hipotels La Geria Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing