We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect week away in the sun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel around this time of year February/ march
We were upgraded as we had stayed before and had a great room with a view the staff are great the food is very good and the quiet pool area fab for couples
The hotel is kept in good condition and is very clean
Entertainment is varied as it is a club hotel so lots to do if you want it!
We had a fab week in the sun thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blusneakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,602)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,537 - 1,543 of 3,602 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

After staying here for a week in late February for my 50th birthday, I can say I enjoyed my time at the hotel and it lived up to my expectations. Everyone at the hotel was friendly, it was clean and modern, the room was nice and well looked after.
However, as a vegetarian staying in an all inclusive hotel, I expected a little more in the way of variety, I forced to chose similar food almost every night. Luckily there were themed restaurants which compensated for me. The Chinese & Mexican were outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that ISNT over the bridge.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0121westmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My boyfriend and i stayed here from the 2nd March to the 9th. After a fairly long day it did take a while for them to get our room ready for us which was a bit of a disappointment. But, that gave us time to get some food, they served dinner until 9.30 at night! Which was brilliant as we never had to rush to get some. I found the hotel superb! They had free litre bottles of water to take out if you were spending the day on a tour or to take back to your room. They were always helpful! The rooms were huge! We stayed in the annex part of the building although it was maybe a 5-10 minute walk to get back to the main areas it was so nice and warm that we really didn't mind. Plus with it being out of the way it was much quieter. I couldn't believe how clean the rooms were! I LITERALLY COULDN'T FIND ANY DIRT! i'm also quite fussy about things but for me it was perfect. The beds were two big singles pushed together and i suppose that was my only real complaint. The maids brought us fresh towels everyday and made up the room, even when we forgot to put the little door hanger out for them. We would often come back and find the towels had been folded and made to look like elephants and crabs, simple little extras that we loved. The balcony was lovely so if it was a bit windy down at the pool we could come back and sit out on it and it would be read hot!

The meals were quite nice, average i would say. A lot of reviews said repetitive and i would have to agree. But there was something for everyone and plenty of it so no one went without! At busy times it could be a struggle to find a table but, there was always someone to help you if that was the case. I ate until my heart and belly was content! It was just such a relaxing time. There was a minor disappointment about there not being any tea in the rooms and lack of british tea in the restaurant area but, you are in a different country after all!

Thomson's reps were brilliant. They were always around when they said they were going to be, helped us when we had questions for them. They helped us book tours and days out with them. Obviously there was certain days for certain trips, so if like us you missed it then you would probably have to find it on your own! The natural wonders tour IS A MUST for any sight seeing lovers! It was my first holiday abroad and i would gladly do it all again.

Thanks to Claire, Steve and Adam for their helpful and thoughtful service as reps. The Hotel staff for always being on hand and the maids who kept our room tidy! I hope this review helps someone decide they should go!

Room Tip: room 3345 annex is a quieter part set near the back of the hotel but still great sun and not a lon...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a great week at the Riu Paraiso and can support the vast majority of earlier reviewers of the hotel that it is a very pleasant place to stay and well deserving of 4 stars. We've been round the world 3 times and stayed in everything from zero to six stars. Anyone giving this hotel less than 4 stars is quite simply wrong or has some special axe to grind.
There are two main buildings and an assortment of bungalows all set in very neat, clean and tidy gardens. The 4 pools are really two big pools which each have a dividing wall with one half warmed and the other left to find it's own temperature. The bigger of the main buildings houses the reception, main dining room, speciality dining rooms and theatre/dance floor, as well as a large bar and semi-open seating area which is all undercover and with gas heaters. but is susceptible to wind blowing in through the open side which leads out to the first pool. Piped music plays in this pool area during the day and the entertainment team hold various activities there. There is also a separate children's paddling pool.
The other pool services the other main, but smaller building. It has it's own swim-up bar and lunch time snack bar with a good selection of light foods. The all inclusive offer covers a wide range of drinks including local brandy and cocktails as well as larger, red, white and rose wine. We were also provided with free litre bottles of refrigerated still water on demand from any of the bars or Reception.
The staff were all friendly and helpful and the food was plentiful and very varied. We tried the specialist restaurants and found, to our surprise, that contrary to other reviewers we preferred the Canarian version above the Asian. The Canarian and the Mexican variations both share the same premises so are each only available for part of each week. Check when you book a table via reception. We would have liked to see tea/coffee making facilities in our bedroom, but having been made aware of this lack by other reviewers we took our trusty travel kettle and the makings. We acquired a large glass of milk from the bar at the end of each evening and stored it in the fridge which was a welcome facility in all rooms. Our room was 3312 on the 3rd floor of the smaller and quieter building which also housed the hotel's main shop where I bought my daily newspaper, and a gym. There were 4 lifts We had a good sized balcony facing west, back towards the bigger main building but it also gave a view over some of the gardens and a side view of the sea to the south, just across the coast road.
A ten minute walk in either direction will take you to shopping/bar areas with Spar supermarkets at both locations. Turn right when you go out and you eventually come to the Bollywood Restaurant above which is the View Sports Bar which have large screens showing all the football and other sports you could wish for. As the hotel only provides old TVs with only 3 English speaking channels (BBC world news, Sky world news and Fox) I went to the 'View' to watch England smash Italy in their last Six Nation Rugby Union match. This lack of modern TV is one of the reasons I cannot give the 5th star. Another is the lack of extensive free Wi-Fi coverage. It has to be paid for and is only available in the Reception area. Riu should upgrade this as soon as possible.
The entertainment tem were enthusiastic dancers who mimed to songs as they danced. They did a good version of 'Grease' one evening. Whilst not brilliant they were never bad, and mostly worth watching.
There were plenty of sunbeds around both pool area so unless you had a very favourite spot you need not make the dawn towel trip. Large towels are available from the pool attendant so don't waste suitcase space or weight taking any.
This is a great place a quiet stay out of the school holidays and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wyyuyinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hotel is big,catering for 476 people at mealtimes. This was a first visit to this hotel and as we did not know the layout (other than reading reviews) we emailed our requirements and the hotel complied. This is an ideal hotel for young families but not if you want the personal touch. The walkway adjoining the hotel to the complex is long. If you have any mobility problems then you definitely need to be in the main building. Also on this point the access to our shower was quite small and not easily navigated. Meal times were on a par with a refined canteen, the food was good but the wine on tap was an acquired taste. Tables were very close together and do not expect any 'meet and greet' when you first arrive, although if you had young children high chairs were provided. On the plus side the white linen was changed for every diner and the dishes cleared away very speedily. The entertainment was poor only one professional act all the week although the Riu staff did their very best to fill the gaps. The large pool outside the main building is really really cold, maybe this changes later in the year but the smaller pool behind this is heated so everyone is in the one pool. The themed restaurants are excellent especially the Asian

Room Tip: Email the hotel with your requirements. There are lifts so a top floor room is quieter Ask for a s...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Musicman957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We booked a weeks all inclusive returning on 17 March 2014. The hotel is absolutely huge taking about 5 to 10 minutes to walk from reception to the far pool which is the nicer, but quieter end. Beautiful setting and well landscaped. The hotel is exceptionally clean possibly the cleanest hotel I have ever seen and the staff are so friendly, efficient and genuinely nice. In fact this seems to transcend to the guests who are also very polite and courteous. Most people were English, Spanish or French origin. The rooms are well appointed very clean and well designed. Room service also of the highest standards. Good facilities including a small gym and a couple of shops. Liked the fact there was self service for the beer, wine and soft drinks. There is even a swim up bar although not always staffed. The only downside for us is that the food and drink did not match the standards expected of a four star hotel. Breakfast lunch and dinner all blended into one and there was little to wet the appetite. The snacks at dinner seemed to be the breakfast left overs on cheap pizza, cold beefburgers and hotdogs. I am surprised that previous reviewers can complement the food. We skipped breakfast three days and we ate out from day four because we simply could not bring ourselves to eat in the hotel food. The Canary, Mexican and Asian were not much better from what we saw and were still buffet service. The drinks seemed very weak and I ended up wanted to drink outside of the hotel. One day we saw a few fresh bottles opened and I felt a little tipsy at the poolside. Special mention to the pool bar staff Pedro and a young lady who did not wear a name badge but was very attentive and efficient. In summary if they could sort the food out then this hotek would be perfect.

Room Tip: Far pool is quieter and high rooms have good sea views looking over the pool. Bit of a walk for brea...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rc5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Arrived on a THOMSON holiday, on the Sunday,but had to miss the first coach to the hotel due to loss of my suitcase. That arrived over 25 hours later! Have got to say that the young Thomson rep in the hotel was very good over this, and he is to be commended.
Got to the hotel very late due to form-filling due to luggage loss, and deskman told us that we would be 'upgraded' to compensate. What a joke! We had to take the 150m long walkway to the annexe, where we entered our room, 3337, to find a single 5' (or maybe less) bed, and a postage-stamp balcony without any view. It was dark, but there was absolutely no view of the pool or sea that we had paid extra to have. We complained, and we were moved to another room, 3344, this time with double beds, and a larger balcony, the end of which, by craning over the edge, you could just see the pool, but no sea! The main view from this balcony was to other balconies. We tried top contact the desk, but our in-room phone did not work. However, after asking the occupants, the phone in an adjacent room did, but we were told that no other room was available, but we would be moved after lunch on Tuesday. In the meantime, my suitcase arrived over 25 hours late, at 10pm on the Monday night.
We got room 313 in the main block, and this did have a pool and sea view, albeit over plenty of flat roof areas! It was noisy at night, but otherwise ok.
It has to be said that this hotel is bursting at the seams with guests. Due to the problems that we had encountered on beginning this 'holiday'. I asked if we could have the room a bit longer than the 11am chuck-out time, on our day of departure, and the very nice young lady on the desk had to ask her day manager. He was not sympathetic, and brusquely interrupted me every time I tried to explain our earlier problems. We could not have a room, but a courtesy room would be available for a short period. This, in effect, meant that our 7 day holiday was reduced to 5 days due to the room problems on arrival, and the last day waiting in a hotel public area until the time to leave for the airport.
We found the food in the hotel quite good, although repetitive. Other Riu hotels we have stayed in offer greater variety and choice.
I think that parts of this hotel need some improvement. Walking the grounds around the excellent gardens you see a lot of broken floor tiles. Very dangerous for children's feet especially.
The staff in the hotel are generally good to excellent, and up to Riu standard, but certainly one or two let their colleagues down.
We'd not stayed all-inclusive before, and their was no finesse when we arrived and told to leave our luggage in the main entrance and our wrists literally grabbed and a wrist band placed around them. 'You do nor remove', we were told!
Hotel location is very good with access to a long, but very windy (when we were there) sandy beach, but the area is somewhat run-down with not very good shopping.

Room Tip: Main hotel rooms very noisy at night due to entertainment room being beneath. Annexe very quiet, but...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plantandplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
1.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,654 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,803 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#20 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,712 reviews
12.0 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Address: Suiza, 4 | Playa de los Pocillos, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £128 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing