We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for couples. Only Germans.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Ranked #19 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not for couples. Only Germans.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My parter and I made very clear when booking that we were looking for something relaxing and peaceful as I was in recovery after a leg operation. This was obviously overlooked as arrived and were given a room so far away from everything that you felt like part of a different hotel, which was situated beside the hotels "nightclub" along with another 9 or 10 rooms in a line on their own, there were bugs and bird droppings everywhere all over our balcony, which we had to clean ourselves everyday. Our rooms obviously just extra space and more money to be made.
When going to the main resteraunt you were put at a table for 2, with another table for 2... So you are realistically having 3 meals a day at a table with other couples. We didn't go during peak times for food as it was like feeding time at the zoo, people with no manners pushing and shoving past to get everything they want. Eating in was a horrible experience. The food alone was not worth this, not much for Brits, most of it was catered for German and Spanish people, unless you want to eat rice and stale chips every night then take a trip into Porto del Carmen. We had dinner in the hotel a few times at 9.00 because the manic had died down by this time, but even then it wasn't worth it.
We had similar problem with sunbeds, trying to get one was almost impossible, even when you did you were almost sunbathing on strangers, far too cramped.
We didn't see the female rep at all on our entire stay but we did see Dean, who was kind and helpful when we had questions.
The waiting staff tried very hard and found them all to be all so kind and helpful, they all look so tired and worn down yet they treat you like royalty, I am aware they work extremely long and gruelling hours, maybe a few extra days off or shorter shifts may be in order there, as for entertainers, they often didn't speak English mostly in German and Spanish, we were often left guessing what was being said over microphones, even things like bingo where the numbers were only called out in German... Not great...
As for a relaxing break, that was not had, it was just far too manic, overcrowded and over sold.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Littletravaeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,438
    1,189
    480
    119
    71
See reviews for
957
1,825
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (985)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Have just spent 11 days at this hotel. Food was good, always plenty of choice. Snack bars at lunch are a good alternative. The hotel was so clean and our room was excellent. We had the family suite which gave us 2 bedrooms. During the day there are plenty of activities to keep all entertained. Pools were very nice however they were a little cold!!! Sunbeds always available so no need to get up early!! A hotel well worth a visit. Would definitely go back.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Tanya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I sadly are just home from Hotel Riu Paraiso. We stayed for 1 week all inclusive. It was amazing. The food was to die for. The staff were so friendly. They were so helpful. Nothing was a problem for them. The entertainment was excellent. We really don't have a bad word to say. Puerto Del Carmen/Los Picollos is a beautiful area full of great shops, bars, restaurants etc. We have stayed there 3 times over the years. Fantastic place.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank rogersbobby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Main courses weren't the greatest, but as a veggie I always go to Spain expecting to eat basic stuff. Puddings made up for it though. Wrote to the hotel asking for quiet room, and got one by the snack bar. Was the quietest room I've ever had and was close for putting out towels and going back to get stuff from the room. Always lots of sunbeds available at 10am and weren't close together, although they were around the other pool. Were able to change towels right by the pool up to midday - never been that easy at any other 4* I've stayed at. Walkable to shops and bars and close to a great beach with big waves. Really close to airport, so short transfer but no plane noise.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RachaelM2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London - UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was just ideal - they seemed to get the balance just right.

I have to mention that the in house entertainment team was just fantastic and not only do they work hard I think they provided the best holiday entertainment ever - if anyone visits and watches the 'best show' and videos the part of the entertainer doing the crazy frog, please let me know as I still have not stopped laughing - best ever and I would just love to show my friends.

On a final note, the food was good but by the end of the week it was just a little boring....but if that's all I can come up with you can guess the holiday was really very good.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Tizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here recently and had a great holiday. We had two rooms in the main part of the hotel (which I would definitely recommend - the walk to the other part is quite long and feels a bit disconnected from the rest of the hotel). We had a problem with one of our rooms which smelt dreadfully of sewage - the rep was helpful as were the reception staff however the hotel manager was outstanding. When a new room had been located (we arrived late Sunday evening and moved to the new room on Tuesday morning) we were told by the rep that we would need to check out of the faulty room at 11 and then check into the new room at 2pm. The hotel manager stepped in, spoke to us and arranged for the new room to be cleaned immediately after check out at 11 - we then moved straight from one room to another at 12. I have never seen such a hands on manager - he was always visible around the hotel, constantly checking everything and interacting with his guests (walking with the children to their club, joining in the impromptu lunchtime entertainment etc). The Riu Group are lucky to have him! The head receptionist is also incredibly helpful.

The food was all buffet style but was of a good quality (breakfast was my favourite meal) - plenty of meat and fish to choose from at lunch and dinner - I'm not sure how much choice vegetarians had. There was also a snack option for lunch which was good if you just wanted something light/quick - pizza, salad etc. We tried the Asian restaurant (which you have to book) and it was very good. It was lovely to eat in a smaller setting and have drinks served to your table rather than self service. If you want the later sitting book early in your holiday.

All Inclusive package is good. Self service drinks available from 10.30 (hot drinks and soft drinks appeared to be available before this time). Complimentary bottles of water are available from Reception 24 hours a day and pool towels can be changed daily (but only in the morning). No deposit required for towels unlike some other hotels.

There are plenty of sunbeds but they are quite close together - there are piles of spare sunbeds but not much space in which to put them.

The entertainment was great and the animation team worked incredibly hard - during the day entertaining both adults and children and again in the evening. Pepi is not to be missed - he is simply fabulous!!

Overall a good hotel (possibly not platinum), very clean (especially all the public areas) with friendly, helpful staff. Good location - within easy walking distance of main town but with a short transfer and although you are close to the airport the planes are not a problem. Excellent for families.

Room Tip: Main hotel is, in my opinion, best. We asked for room with evening sun but in August this made the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 14thealbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Just returned from a 10 day holiday with my family, husband and 2 teenagers. Had a fantastic holiday,the location of the hotel is fantastic, just across the road from the beach. If you turn left outside the hotel there are shops and a nice walk on the sea front, if you turn right its the main strip that takes you into to Puerto Del Carmen about 1.5 miles into the centre, again a lovely walk, lots of shops. The whole area around the hotel and outside is very clean and well kept. Make sure you visit the Sunday market, don't book through Thomson, ask at reception, there is a bus just outside the hotel. Make sure you take a trip to the Volcano and have a camel ride, again don't book through Thomson, walk into Puerto Del Carmen and book in one of the local tour operators, we saved over 20 euros per person. The hotel entertainment team are fantastic, the evening shows are the best Iv seen in a hotel,well worth watching. The room view and the lack of the equipment in the gym are the only negatives that I have. Over all a good family hotel in Lanzarote.

Room Tip: You have to pay extra if you want a pool/sea room which is not what I was told by Thomson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millie1england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#10 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#20 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.4 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#21 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Property: ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Address: Suiza, 4 | Playa de los Pocillos, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Lastminute, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing