We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - credit to Riu chain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Ranked #18 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We stayed here for a week in October half term with my mother in law and 12 year old son. The Hotel is spacious light and clean. Check in was smooth and food was available for us to eat in the main restaurant even though we checked in at 10.30 pm. We were upgraded to suites (become a Riu member its so worth it!) and stayed on the other side of the bridge. This suited me and my husband fine, but worth beaing in mind if you have any walking difficulties or not keen to walk too far - ask for rooms in the main reception side of the hotel. The food is lovely, freshly prepared and plenty of it. The Asian restaurant is lovely and provides a really nice change to to main buffet - there is a Canarian and Mexican but we never made it that far! The staff are really helpful and friendly . There is none of this "only 2 drinks at a time " rubbish we have come across in other all inclusive hotels . There are plenty of sunbeds and opportunities to seek quiet places as well as being near the main pool. There are 2 pools, the noisy entertainment one (where the animation team are) and the quiet chilling pool, where everyone is so quiet!! We had a teenager so we stayed at the main one - however activites take place across the whole of the hotel site - so you can dip in and out as you please. A big 5 star thanks goes to Sema and Emmie from the animation team who were fantastic with the teens group and made our sons holiday. Would definately go back again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banner65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,525 - 2,531 of 3,693 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2010

I travelled here on the first of november with my mother and sister and her family which included a young baby. When we first arrived my sister informed them that there had been a mix up in the rooms as my mother and i had been given the room ment for my sister and her family. They were very accomodating and gave my sister and her family a family room and let my mother and i keep our room too. The only downside was the rooms were up a flight of stairs.Not very good with a thirteen month old baby with a buggy to carry up and down every day. So my sister rang reception and got moved to a room just below us. The food was lovely every day, freshly cooked and loads of fresh fruit too. We went to the mexican restaurant one night and the aisan restaurant twice they were lovely! And Made a big fuss over my nephew! The Pools were Lovely,We spent most of the time by the baby pool and it was warm as was the pool straight up from it! The larger of the 2 pools was freezing so we didn't go in that one. The Rooms were Big and spacious and cleaned every day!! The Riu entertainment staff were very good but the only bad thing i would have to say about them is that they seemed to only speak two languages spanish and german,they had a little bit of english but not enough to tell us what was happening the next day so you had to get the gist of it and wait and see what happened the next day!The "nightclub" was a room with a dj box a bar and a small dancefloor.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank groovylinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

From beginning to end the experience at this hotel was second to none. The staff at reception welcomed us. A few minutes after being allocated our room we got a call to check it was satisfactory which was a lovely touch. Every member of staff from reception to cleaners & gardeners said 'Hola' when they passed you. The hotel is supberbly clean and all the grounds were clean & well tended.
The room was lovely and again very clean. The food in all restaurants was excellent especially given they are catering for such numbers. Everything was always really fresh, there was an amazing choice and everything was freshly cooked continuously. It was a food lovers paradise! Drinks are available all day if you wanted so no shortage for the drink lover either. This is truly an 'all inclusive' hotel.
The only small negative points were that the cabaret some evenings was rather amature and the lighting in the restaurants could have been slightly more ambient in the evenings. Also, it was a shame that there wasn't a smoking area in the general bar/outdoor eating area.
Overall a superb hotel which I would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JewellsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

This was our first experience of all inclusive although we do stay at Riu hotels half board. The whole holiday was brilliant in every way! We went with Thomas Cook - the rep Jonny was really pleasant and helpful.
Check in was easy and fast, reception staff are brilliant. The room we stayed in was in the quieter block which was a bit of a walk across the "board walk" but it helped burn a few calories off from the excellent food and drink! I am vegetarian and very fussy but I had no problem finding something I liked to eat. Our room was very comfortable,spotless and well furnished, the bed was great, bathroom super clean and a great shower. We had a pool and sea view and a lovely sunny balcony. The area is fairly quiet but it is an easy walk into Puerto del Carmen where there are lots of shops and bars. We watched most of the entertainment and found it fine, especially after a few glasses of wine! There was nothing I disliked about the Riu Paraiso and we are hoping to go again in 2011. You can book to stay here with confidence!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Travelled wife wife and friends for a quiet relaxing week at this Riu hotel, and that is exactly what we got. The hotel is immaculate, grounds well manicured, swimming pools excellent (But cold!) food superb and good quality drinks.

Stayed at several riu's in and around the carribean and this certainly lives upto the 'Riu' expectation, there are two speciality restaurants - Asian and Mexican and both serve excellent food with service to match, the mexican also serves traditional 'Canarian' food every friday - these restaurants need to be booked at reception and it's no hassle whatsoever. Water is supplied through reception and you can get as many bottles as you need. The main restaurant serves excellent quality meals from breakfast through to dinner with a varied menu throughout. Soft drinks, wine and beer are self service and available in abundance. The main bar serves excellent cocktails and the waiters and staff are superb - they really can't do enough for you! There is a fitness and well being centre centre on site and this can be booked direct, also on site are tennis courts and a disco.

The bedrooms are exceptionally clean and cannot be faulted at all, there is a fridge in the room and a hairdryer for the ladies. The showers are great and the bath deep although a bit on the short side. From our balcony we looked out over the beach and had a great view (237).

The hotel and resort is spotlessly clean and a credit to all, the hotel looks after all the children and the kids club looked busy all the time and it even had it's own entertainment at night with awards being presented, this always took place before the adults entertainment.

The only drawback as in all 'Riu' hotels is the entertaiment which was quite appalling and non descript - come on 'Riu' sort this out - give the customer some decent entertainment!!

This is a fantastic resort and complex and can't wait to go back - Get it booked!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colbyco21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Myself and wife traveled to the riu for my wifes birthday and our wedding aniversary first impressions were good a nice clean modern hotel arrived at 9 30pm left our cases in reception and went for somthing to eat food was average,As other people have said the hotel used to be two but has been converted into one our room was on the older palace side which is around a 7 min walk from reception the room was nice very clean large with air con fridge and large bathroom.Now for the bad points we travelled to a 3 star in july which had tea and coffee making facilities in the room the riu didnt It had iron and board the riu didnt it had robes and slippers the riu didnt,the entertainment was very poor held in a cinema style venue with very few tables and people pushing past every time they wanted to get a drink.The drink were poor tasted watered down the cocktails were pre made and we could not taste the alcohol in them the review that said they use branded spirits must come from poland or somewere cos believe me they were not,. as for the food for a 4 star it was very average unless you went into the asian which u booked at reception which was very good If you wanted to just sit outside the entertainment and have a quiet drink forget it people every were smoke everywere and just manic.i am not into going to hotels just because it caters just for english but this one did seem to prefer to cater to the germans more bare in mind 70% were german and this is not surprising .all the daytime entertainment was over the new side we stopped over the palace more quiet side unfortunatley the bar closed at 6 over this side and if u want a drink u have to walk the 7 mins over the other side, speaking of the pools they were freezing the, once your in its ok type but believe me it was still cold.At the end of our week we asked to keep our room on as our coach pick up was not till 7pm we asked two days prior to our deparchure and were told to come back the evening before,we were told we could not keep our room on but could move to another room which ment getting up packing and moving to this new room for 5 hours at a cost of ,wait for it £45.
so in summing up a large clean hotel with average food poor entertainment and for what u get far too expensive we have stayed at worse but have also stayed at a lot better oh and by the way this is the first hotel abroad you have to be out of your room by 11am not 12 however i can see why cos as we were checking out of our room at 10 45 it seemed half of germany were checking in

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northenersHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We arrived in the evening to be given our wristbands, so we could get a meal and drink whilst the paperwork was done-nice touch as the last thing you want on arrival is 30mins standing in a queue.
The Hotel was excellent,and our room spotlessly clean, though the bed was a little on the hard side.All staff were friendly, even including pool and gardeners, the Entertainment staff worked long and hard but were never pushy.
There was never a day where we struggled to find something good to eat, quite something as the Hotel caters for at least 7 nationalities. The specialist restaurants,had to be booked in advance but were never crowded and the food was excellent. One bonus was the beer,wine and fizzy drinks being self-service, it cut out the queueing after dinner and the evening Shows.
We never had to hunt for a sunbed and the courtesy beach towels were a bonus as could be exchanged every day. Our one complaint was about the Pools, they were very cold, even the daily Acqua Aerobics sessions only had about 20 participants,maybe the heating should be put on from the end of September.
Reading other reviews complaining about smokers surprised us, as were never found it a problem,especially as I am a non-smoker, my husband,a reformed smoker-usually the most critical!
The Hotel is in a great position,surrounded by beautifully kept gardens and just across the road from the beach, with several local shops nearby, I would say that the walk into Puerto Del Carmen was nearer to an hours walk than 10minutes, but plenty of Bars and Cafes on the way. We would happily go back there, it was excellent value for money.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SusieBaby_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
1.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,829 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,906 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#11 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#19 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,604 reviews
12.0 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Address: Suiza, 4 | Playa de los Pocillos, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £135 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing