We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 3rd visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartamentos THe Morromar
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our 3rd visit”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We have just returned from our third time to these apartments and once again we were very pleased with our experience. The whole complex is kept very clean, as are the spacious apartments. Yes, they could do with a lick of gloss paint but we certainly think this is a good value for money holiday. The hot water never runs out as in some places, so you don't have to rush back to shower before it all runs out. The food is fairly ordinary and at times could do with being a bit hotter but we find there is always something we like. A lovely salad bar and some tasty soups with gorgeous bread at every meal. We certainly found that we enjoyed our food - where ever you go some people are not happy but you need to pay more if you want elaborate cuisine.
Matagorda itself is very flat - althere is a very small hill up to the complex - and the resort itself is also kept very clean. There are a few shops and restaurants in the area and a short walk along the promenade is the area of Los Piccolas which has more shops and restaurants. Puerto del Carmen is a bit too far to walk in our opinion but can easily be reached by bus or taxi.
Entertainment isn't lively but if you like a quiet holiday it is fine. There is some entertainment for the children.
Definitely would recommend this place- a lovely peaceful area with beautiful sandy beaches - great for families with young children. Also a lovely pool at the apartments (a bit chilly this time of the year!) Not suitable if you want lots of night life. We will be returning again this time next year.

Room Tip: The complex is all two storey and all the rooms are in quiet areas as there is not noisey entertainm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for publishing your impressions about your recent stay in Morromar.
Thank you for your loyalty, we are glad to know you enjoyed your holidays with us one more year.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, I will be pleased to transmit them personally. We are looking forward to welcome you back next year.

Receive our best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    981
    539
    214
    119
See reviews for
982
960
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Just returned from Sol Morromar after a weeks stay AI. The rooms are basic/functional but clean, as are the communal area's. The drinks have a good choice and unless you really want a specified beverage will suffice, but now we come to the food. . . not very nice at all, we tried everyday to at least have something for our money but alas most times we were sat with either cobs or meatballs and pasta, and found ourselves just using the hotel as a bed, Now I'm not saying the choice was bad (it was limited). . but the quality was awful, which is where the title of this review may make sense, we spoke on the last but one day to a girl who'd been there in august with her boyfriend and liked it so much she had returned with her sister, and was amazed and disappointed to find the hotel offering such low standard food etc. So maybe this is one to avoid in low season? The entertainment was as in most 3* a bit of a joke but I suppose you get what you pay for. So apart from some broke-teeth bacon on occasion in a morning we ate out for the entire holiday. which obviously put the cost up from the expected outgoings due to choosing all inclusive. The other issue for us, travelling as a group of four with adjacent rooms was the fact that at 9am the cleaners would be knocking and trying their keys in the door to have a sweep around and MAYBE change towels, at no point did we see the bed linen changed, now before you all cry, "well you should've put the do not disturb signs on the door" at 8am EVERY morning the cleaners would congregate right outside the doors of our rooms to access a cleaning stores cupboard (we think) and generally bang about and chat very loudly and the proceed to push noisy trollies up and down the paths, so we didn't have a lie in once, in fact on some occasions the cleaners would still come in if you were half dressed or even asleep, and backing on the the Tennis courts is a no no too. . . .So don't expect a lie in it won;t happen. As friends, we go away at least twice a year to various different locations and were not expecting the ritz by any means, but come on, edible food and a lie in would've been nice, isn't that what we all go away for? we enjoyed the holiday for a lot of different reasons but none of them will be down to the Morromar. Friendly staff do not maketh a holiday. Also the hotel is so far away from the strip/old town if you want to branch out it will cost on average €5 each way in a taxi. I have visited Lanzarote before and will again, but its just a shame that this seems to be run down so much in the low seasons that it doesn't come up to standard (yes we know its a 3*) We will visit Lanza again but I am not giving this hotel any more of my money. Beware when you go.

Room Tip: Don't get rooms on the ground floor or backing onto the tennis courts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monsta45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for publishing your impressions about our Apartments.
Opinions like yours help us to improve our day to day efforts to offer a better service.

Regarding your comments about the food, I am very surprised about your review of the quality. We have recently changed our Chef and the variety, quality and presentations are improving day by day. I personally eat in Morromar everyday and can appreciate the changes. We do not change our standard in the low season and we are working very hard in this department to reach our desired standards.
I have already spoken with the housekeeping department regarding your comments in order they are more quiet when they start working to avoid disturbing our guests. Towels are changed every 2 days and linen every 3 days.
Our complex is located in Morromar not in Puerto del Carmen. We are 7 min. by taxi but you can get a bus for 1,10€ or rent a bike.
I insist that we do not run down our complex in the low season.

Thank you,
Best Regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We holidayed at the Morromar for 11 days at the beginning of November with our 7 year old son. We were very impressed with the apartment, it was very clean and had everything we needed as we were self-catering. We were in apartment 607 and had a sea view from the balcony as well as limited views of both the pools. We eat out a fair bit, but also used the restaurant frequently for breakfast, and dinner which was very reasonably priced. Our son loved the kids club and misses the animation team and the entertainment was good fun. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. The two pools were excellent and there were always plenty of sunbeds. The location is great, from getting off the plane to getting to the apartments by taxi (always plenty outside the airport), took about 15 minutes. It is about a 5 minute walk to the beach and the new promenade into to Puerto Del Carmen is great. We would definitely recommend these apartments and we hope to be back again soon.

Room Tip: 1st Floor rooms have a good view, many with pool and/or sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for publishing your impressions about your recent stay in THe Morromar.
We would like to thank you for your comments and we are glad to know you enjoyed your holidays with us.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, I will be pleased to transmit them personally.
We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We were at these apartments for 2 weeks up to the 17th November 2012. These apartments were excellent, very clean, could do with a few more drawers in the bedroom to put your clothes in but that is the only negative thing. food was great, the entertainment at night and during the day was excellent, roberto got everyone involved with the activities, Cannot say anything bad about the staff as they were always cheerful and very helpful, plenty of sunbeds around the two pools so did not have to reserve one. All in all a very good place to stay and would recommend these apartments.

Room Tip: We were in room 336 which was close to the bars, restaurant and pools and the sun shone all day on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for publishing your impressions about your recent stay in THe Morromar.
We would like to thank you for your comments and we are glad to know you enjoyed your holidays with us.

Opinions like your help us to improve our day to day efforts to offer a better service.
We hope to welcome you once again very soon.

Receive our best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Helens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

my wife and our 2 friends went for a week all inclusive on the 4th november on arrival carlos was very helpful and polite he gave us to lovely rooms with a beautifull sea view the location was very good 5 mins walk to the sea front ,from the food to the staff and the entertainment staff the holiday was perfect a good balance of fun and relaxation. I would recomend the morromar for a great holiday will go back again thanks for a fab holiday.

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs appartment the sea views are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaveLindaSt_Helens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for publishing your impressions about your recent stay in THe Morromar.
We would like to thank you for your comments and we are glad to know you enjoyed your holidays with us.
Thank you for your kind words regarding Carlos, which I have already transmit him personally.

We hope to welcome you once again very soon.
Receive our best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Food

The food was very basic, not a great selection. If you love fish and pork then you will love the food. If you want something more varied and something with a little flavour to it then this is not the place for you. Also if you have a sweet tooth there is not much to choose from.

Drinks

Personally I found the drinks quite good there were lots to choose from. But then again I don’t drink alcohol! My sister’s opinion was that the cocktails were crap. However if you’re a beer drinker you won’t have any problems. For children there are plenty of soft drinks so no problem there.

Staff

The majority of the staff were great . The animation team specifically Ola and Roberto were good fun and work hard to make everyone join in on the games and when you take part you will have fun. So make their job a little easier and make yourself have a great time and join in. Also the kids club is good and kept my little niece entertained. Initially the waiters and bar staff came across as not very friendly because they are not all smiley and talkative but once you take the time to talk to them this soon changes and they make your holiday experience better.
The only staff that could use some improvement is the Reception staff my whole family experienced the problem that they leave you waiting for a long time whilst they talk amongst themselves in the back room. They then do not apologise for their slow response and this does not give a good impression. However they resolve problems very quickly and efficiently.

Rooms

Very basic. The living room/ kitchen area is nice. The television had some English channels ( had Disney channel which my niece and nephew appreciated). No complaints about the bathroom. But the bedrooms let it down for me the beds were very uncomfortable and there was no air conditioning which means it was very hot and stuffy and the perfect place for MOSQUITOS TO ATTACK.

Location/Weather

Location is great just a 5 minute walk to the beach and shopping centre. Beautiful beach and the sea water is lovely and warm (warmer than the swimming pool). The weather was also amazing, was so sad to go from 30 degrees back to 10 degrees here at home.

Overall it was a good holiday the only let downs were the lack of air conditioning, the mosquitos and the uncomfortable beds.

It was the perfect place to chill by the pool and soak up the sun and do some fun activities or go down to the beach and take a walk.

But at the end of the day your holiday is what you make it. Good luck guys :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for publishing your impressions about your recent stay in Morromar.
Your comments are really valuable for us in order to improve our efforts to offer a better service to all our guests.
Regarding your comments about the food, I am pleased to inform you we have made important changes during the last weeks which will improve the variety and taste of our dishes.
We do hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back in order to prove these changes.
We will take good note about your comments regarding the air conditioning to asses this issue in a near future.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, I will be pleased to transmit them personally.

Receive our best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

for the price we payed i thought it was amazing the pool could have bein better cleaned around the edges of the smaller pool... our apartment was very clean and had really nice view of the sea... food was simple, iv heard people moaning about the food but i found it fine and the meat lovely , staff are very friendly will do anything to help, If your looking for things to do go to RANCHO TEXAS it cost 40 euros to swim with the sea lions there and was an amazing experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for publishing your impressions about our Apartments.
Our main aim is the satisfaction of our guests and we are really glad to know you enjoyed your holidays with us.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, I will be pleased to transmit them personally.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Receive our best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
3.2 mi away
BelleVue Aquarius
BelleVue Aquarius
#72 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,202 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#33 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos The Las Gaviotas
Apartamentos The Las Gaviotas
#18 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beatriz Playa & Spa
Beatriz Playa & Spa
#44 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
2,761 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#32 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
282 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Sea Los Fiscos
Blue Sea Los Fiscos
#80 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos THe Morromar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos THe Morromar

Property: Apartamentos THe Morromar
Address: Calle Mato, 13 | Urbanizacion Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Sol Morromar Apartamentos)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#24 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos THe Morromar 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax vacations in dreamy surroundings. Apartamentos THe Morromar is a modern three-star-complex offering you an incredible experience in the island of the volcanoes, Lanzarote. Apartamentos THe Morromar is located a few kilometers from the capital, Arrecife, and just five minutes walking from the Playa de Matagorda, a familiar beach of golden sand to go for a pleasant stroll. Lanzarote is also the ideal place for the practice of water sports thanks to its optimum climatological conditions. The complex, inspired in its design by the typical architecture of Lanzarote, features a total of 221 spacious and luminous apartments distributed over independent buildings. Furthermore, it disposes of two pools, a restaurant-buffet, a pool-bar, a lobby-bar, several multifunctional sport courts and a gym. Apartamentos THe Morromar offers entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxation activities for all family members to enjoy an incredible experience in unique surroundings. Dear guests, we are working on the optimization of our facilities to make your stay more comfortable. Herewith, we inform you that our secondary pool will be closed due to refurbishment works. The expected closing dates will from 17.04.17 till 30.06.17. We put at the disposal of all our clients the main pool, which includes the children´s pool. We apologize for the inconveniences. Apartamentos THe Morromar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apartamentos THe Morromar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Morromar Apartamentos Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Sol Melia Matagorda
Sol Morromar Lanzarote
Sol Morromar Apartamentos Matagorda
Apartamentos THe Morromar Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing