We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steve & Corina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartamentos THe Morromar
Ranked #39 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We spent 11 nights at Morromar, and chose it after checking against reviews of other hotels. And we were not disappointed.

The apartments are 2 storey high and the area is like a little village, which gives the complex a friendly aura, and helps to mingle with other people. We prefer this to a high rise hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean but could have done with air conditioning. We slept with our windows open as some nights it was too hot .

The staff were all very helpful and friendly at all levels, and nothing was too much trouble for them. We were very impressed that the manager made herself known to the guest and was very accessible if the need ever arose. She clearly cares about the hotel, the staff and the guests.

We stayed all inclusive, the food quality was very good , with plenty of choice including for those guests with special dietary needs, (like celiac, or low fat etc),

There was entertainment almost every night, but not enough sitting space for everyone as the hotel was running on full capacity when we were there. This however is a known problem and management are currently working to improve the situation.

All in all we had a great time there and would most certainly recommend Morromar Apartments to anyone. We'd like to thank all the staff for making our stay pleasurable and memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorinaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Corina and Steve!

Thank you for your comment. It was a real pleasure having you here and we are glad that you have also enjoyed your stay!!! I will pass your greetings to the staff!

Untill next time,
Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,346 - 1,352 of 2,700 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Morramar apartments and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The apartments themselves were basic but clean and for what we paid as a late deal represented value for money. The lack of air conditioning did not present a problem at this time of the year although it undoubtedly would in the summer months.
The grounds were maintained beautifully and the staff were friendly.
The food offering was adequate and and there was always something my more than fussy little girl could eat.
The lower pool was lovely.
Go with an open mind and enjoy the sunshine.

Room Tip: Remember these are apartments and take your own beach towels for use at the pool area or be prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting a comment about us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate it and are pleased that you have had a lovely holiday with us.

Regarding the aircon, we do plan a future investment, so that in the very warm months you could enjoy your stay also.

We hope you will visit us again.

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

arrived 13th October for two weeks eight senior citizens with a few health issues we were in rooms 204-207 it was great view overlooking the sea and by the pool so we did,nt have far to walk.the rooms were clean as was all the hotel I have coeliac (no gluten) so they show you what you can eat above the food .I found this great thanks to all in restaurant.all the staff were great. and the manager was exceptional .thanks for a great holiday.hope to see you all next year

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us! I will pass your words with pleasure to the rest of our staff- thay are our biggest asset!

See you next year.

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent two weeks at Morromar and found very little to complain about. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful but none more so than Pedro the head waiter who went out of his way to ensure all guests were well looked after in the dining room. There were two excellent swimming pools to choose from, one more sedate whilst the other one was were all the poolside games and entertainments were held.
If I were nit picking I would say the beds could be improved upon as they were rather basic, and also the bar area and dining room could do with updating and designed better as it seemed a strange mish mash of colours and styles. But putting that aside I would recommend this complex to anyone wanting a relaxing stay in Puerto Del Carmen with enough entertainments to prevent it being boring.

Room Tip: rooms away from the dining room are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gnhCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comment and sharing your experience with other possible guests.
We are glad that you have had such a great xperience with us. Regarding the beds and the decoration, I will note that so we could plan for the future.

We would love to get the opportunity to host you again.

Best Regard,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Myself and a friend stopped her for a week at the end of September. I'll start with the negatives: Apartment was a good size and well equipped but in dire need of re-decorating and the beds are rock hard. No air con and fans available but expensive. Pool side beds are hard plastic (get a cheap lilo) and sometimes a bit crowded and the brolly's are falling to pieces. All that said..... nice clean pools with a quieter option near the bottom, without screaming kids. Plenty of choice with regards to food (it's not great, but certainly adequate). For just a Euro, you can have a premium drink, eg, Bombay Sapphire and good measures to boot. Huge balcony in our apt. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. We had a very relaxed holiday, which is just what we wanted. If you want a lively stay, I would say you need to stop somewhere further near the centre of PDC.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pimjegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you have had a good holiday with us!
Regarding the points mentioned, we have them noted and will try to improve.
Thank you!

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We arrived on the 13th of October in the evening and checked in at reception. The room(422) could not have been in a better location, near to the restaurant,bar and pools.We had a fantastic time here. The staff were all pleasant and very helpful. I would recommend the morromar to anyone who was looking to have a good holiday.My only gripe was that the pool was absolutely freezing.We will definately return.Thankyou to all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad that you have had a fabulous holiday with us.
Regarding the pools, they are being heated during the winter. Nonetheless, I will see with the technical department if we should start with it now. Thank you for informing us.

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Booked this hotel on a last minute decision and have not regretted it!
The kids had a blast and the Animation team worked hard for the kids and the adults.
The food was buffet style for all meals but don't let this put you off, some of the choices we would have been happy paying for in a posh restaurant in the UK and the rest were good. With two kids who can be a bit picky they managed to have a good meal at every sitting.
The apartment was clean and well proportioned, all the staff said hello as you passed. They were very friendly and went out of their way to ensure your stay was a good one.
Our kids preferred to play in the smaller of the two pools and this was fine with us as the main pool was mainly a deep end with a small kids paddling pool, whereas the small was half and half.
The only negatives were when our transfer driver dropped us at the side of the hotel beside a locked gate and no signs telling which way to go to reception, perhaps a sign on the gate pointing the way would be helpful for future. Saying that we just happened to meet Betty of the animation team as we were discussing where to go and she helped us with our bags and introduced herself to the kids as we made our way to reception. Big thank you Betty.
And the last negative was the WiFi, it was expensive and only available at reception and the pool bar, but connection at the pool bar was poor at best. When you get free WiFi will doing your weekly shop or stopping for a coffee at home I feel free WiFi should be provided in reception areas, by all means make it available in the rooms and charge for it there.

All in all we had a great time and are already planning to go back next year, I wont be surprised if the Morromar moves up a rating soon.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank DarrenGIbson72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schrave, Director General at Apartamentos THe Morromar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. It is a pleasure to read that you have had a good holiday with us.
I will pass your comment to the kitchen and our staff with pleasure. We have some staff also regurarly following the comments, and Betti is one of them. So she wanted to thank you personally and say many greetings!
Regarding the WiFi, we have now made a new contract that should be implemented within the next season, which would include free WiFi in the reception area and WiFi in the rooms that would be charged.

We hope you will give us another visit!
Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,997 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Floresta
Hotel Floresta
#17 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas
Apartamentos THe Las Gaviotas
#21 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Blue Sea Los Fiscos
Blue Sea Los Fiscos
#79 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
2,306 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#31 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos THe Morromar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos THe Morromar

Address: Calle Mato, 13 | Urbanizacion Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Sol Morromar Apartamentos)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#22 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: £73 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos THe Morromar 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax vacations in dreamy surroundings. Apartamentos THe Morromar is a modern three-star-complex offering you an incredible experience in the island of the volcanoes, Lanzarote. Apartamentos THe Morromar is located a few kilometers from the capital, Arrecife, and just five minutes walking from the Playa de Matagorda, a familiar beach of golden sand to go for a pleasant stroll. Lanzarote is also the ideal place for the practice of water sports thanks to its optimum climatological conditions. The complex, inspired in its design by the typical architecture of Lanzarote, features a total of 221 spacious and luminous apartments distributed over independent buildings. Furthermore, it disposes of two pools, a restaurant-buffet, a pool-bar, a lobby-bar, several multifunctional sport courts and a gym. Apartamentos THe Morromar offers entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxation activities for all family members to enjoy an incredible experience in unique surroundings. Dear guests, we are working on the optimization of our facilities to make your stay more comfortable. Herewith, we inform you that our secondary pool will be closed due to refurbishment works. The expected closing dates will from 17.04.17 till 30.06.17. We put at the disposal of all our clients the main pool, which includes the children´s pool. We apologize for the inconveniences. Apartamentos THe Morromar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L., Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apartamentos THe Morromar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Morromar Apartamentos Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Sol Melia Matagorda
Sol Morromar Lanzarote
Sol Morromar Apartamentos Matagorda
Apartamentos THe Morromar Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing